Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CrackedLCD » Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:10 am

I didn't realize Waze had a price limit it would accept. A while back I submitted a station selling ethanol free for $4.549 a gallon when the same station had regular for $3.339... It didn't balk. And I'm pretty sure I accidentally put a price in at six dollars and it took that as well.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk 4
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CrackedLCD » Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:04 pm

Would it work to leave the existing landmark but change the category from gas to something else?

I had a Shell station nearby close, but they left the prices on the sign so people kept updating the station. It also generated several user requests to delete the landmark, which I did.

Now it's slated to reopen and I'll have to redraw it and re enter all the address info and hope that the automated system doesn't add it in the wrong location (again).

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk 4
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CrackedLCD » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:52 am

In the US, they ask us to post the cash price.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CrackedLCD » Sun Mar 02, 2014 8:55 pm

Had there been a database reset in the United States? On my travels today I'm seeing a few stations that were deleted a long time ago showing up again. Edit: in the client, not the editor. I haven't been near a computer today to see what's going on there.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk 4
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby dahanas » Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:43 pm

Hi, I hope this is the right place to ask help for my problem:
at first, it happened only sometimes, now each time I try to uptdate gas prices, it shows me the message " oh-oh you dont' t have gps signal" which is absolutely non true, also beacuse everything else in the app form navigating to accidents signaling works nicely. can ypu help me ? I checked my gps and it 's fine.
dahanas
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby davidg666 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:52 am

deeggo wrote:
clferraz wrote:In Brazil, we use the comma as decimal delimiter instead of the point.

Doesn't the whole world, except USA/Canada/UK?

No - Ireland, Australia and (I think) New Zealand too. Maybe parts/most of Asia, but I'm less familiar with that part of the world.

++David \ davidg666
Country manager for Ireland
AM for Dublin, Wicklow, Kilkenny, Wexford, Graiguenamanagh and Enniscorthy

Image
davidg666
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:58 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby deeggo » Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:09 pm

clferraz wrote:In Brazil, we use the comma as decimal delimiter instead of the point.

Doesn't the whole world, except USA/Canada/UK?
Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One X | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 352 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby deeggo » Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:21 pm

LOL isn't USA the capital of France :lol:
Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One X | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 352 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby deeggo » Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:05 pm

I would like to propose a smaller number of points for just confirming prices already put in. I fear people will just confirm prices of every station they pass, for gaining points.
Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One X | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 352 times

Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby deeggo » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:47 pm

mapcat wrote:That's not fair to the person who pulls into the station to add prices, and then sees that someone else got them first.

They're only worth 8 points anyway. Hardly an incentive to cheat.

I disagree. That person only has to hit confirm. The first person had to fill in the numbers, so did more work. It's not unfair that there'd be a difference in points.

There have been people chit chating 'hi' to the whole world, reporting speed cams every x meters on long stretches of roads, closing URs in large numbers. So yes, people do weird things for points. This will just be another way.
Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One X | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 312 times
Been thanked: 352 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JFX9, radman82