Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

If you think you've found a bug on the website which isn't specifically an App or Map Editor problem, or have a request for new or modified feature of the Community, Forums, or Waze website, use this forum.

Moderator: Unholy

Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby ASW20C » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:23 pm

For those of us who spend a lot of time driving in the mountains, this would be a really useful feature. I know the GPS data supports it, as I can get it from other apps on my iPhone, and my Garmin will display elevation.

Elevation (altitude) could be either an added data field on the map, or it could be an option that replaces an existing field, like speed.
ASW20C
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby harling » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:19 pm

This idea has been discussed before. IMO elevation data would be a big help in placing the vehicle on the proper road, in areas where there are overpasses, underpasses & ramps crossing each other & running in parallel at various levels. It would also allow for some neat 3-D client rendering when the time comes. My only question is, what to do about elevation when the geometry of a road is changed in WME: interpolate the elevations of the new geometry nodes based on existing elevations, until we have actual data from GPS tracks?
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby TahoeMac01 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 2:13 am

Hello all... new Wazer here.

I would love to see elevation! Not having that information available is a major disappointment. The data to calculate elevation is already available, assuming the GPS sees 4 satellites, and could be a user accessed field similar to speed.

The 3D rendering and overpass issues are much more advanced problems. Having elevation available is a very quick software update and would distinguish Waze from the rest who have decided to bury that valuable information.
TahoeMac01
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby ASW20C » Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:22 pm

Harling,

Your 3D map idea is great, but I fear it would be a major undertaking, and could be months or years away.

If Tahoe Mac is correct that the altitude data is readily available from the GPS (as I think he is), it would seem to be simple to make it a display option.

Then the data would be available to be collected in the future for building the 3D map.

My two cents,

ASW20C
ASW20C
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:15 pm

I'm certain Waze could display this data, or make it available to display. But, since Waze is not currently focused on the general navigation market, but on the commuter market only (read the About/general info in the app stores), I doubt they see this as a value-add for their (current) core market. Not that I don't like it, but they likely feel they need to stick to their business plan to be successful.

Down the road, when they expand into general navigation, there are MANY features which need to be added.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23439
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1080 times
Been thanked: 4553 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby ASW20C » Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:48 pm

Hi AlanOTB,

Waze is great for commuters. Last night it took me on a totally awesome route to avoid tunnel backup caused by the World Series, saving probably 15 minutes (or two innings of the pitchers dual).

But, I also use Waze for weekend commuting to the mountains. Many of the Waze features seem more focused to long distance trips. I already know the cheap gas stations, Starbucks, and fast food locations are for my commute, but they are still available. Going to the mountains it is a totally different story, as I travel through 200 miles of territory that I have never left the freeway. That is where I need (and use) the help finding cheap gas and dinner.

BTW, bicycling commuters also would use altitude... In this case for route planning. I guess this argues for the 3D model...

20C
ASW20C
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby weeezer14 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 7:47 pm

ASW20C wrote:BTW, bicycling commuters also would use altitude... In this case for route planning. I guess this argues for the 3D model...

Waze should not be used on a bicycle, so it is a moot point.

Also, there may be some concern on Waze's side in providing elevation/altitude data and people using Waze in a plane. We know people already do. The last thing we want is someone suing because Waze wasn't reporting a correct value. :roll:
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
weeezer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby harling » Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:23 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I'm certain Waze could display this data, or make it available to display. But, since Waze is not currently focused on the general navigation market, but on the commuter market only...

Actually, the problem areas that I have in mind in Boston--multiple levels of overlapping, often nearly-parallel ramps--become a major difficulty for Waze when the Log/Lat is within the margin of error of three roads at different levels, each of which leads to a very different destination. And they carry a lot of commuter traffic, and generate their share of URs to the effect that Waze put them on the wrong road, and of course the directions to get them "back" are completely wrong.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby weeezer14 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:05 pm

harling wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I'm certain Waze could display this data, or make it available to display. But, since Waze is not currently focused on the general navigation market, but on the commuter market only...

Actually, the problem areas that I have in mind in Boston--multiple levels of overlapping, often nearly-parallel ramps--become a major difficulty for Waze when the Log/Lat is within the margin of error of three roads at different levels, each of which leads to a very different destination. And they carry a lot of commuter traffic, and generate their share of URs to the effect that Waze put them on the wrong road, and of course the directions to get them "back" are completely wrong.

I was just in Boston a few weeks ago and I was there before the Big Dig as well. Chicago also has similar stacked roads (as does most cities in at least one place). To me the problem is that those situations are where a feature like this would be most useful, BUT at the same time, those situations are where such a feature would have the most trouble due to lack of a clear signal.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
weeezer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby harling » Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:02 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:I was just in Boston a few weeks ago and I was there before the Big Dig as well. Chicago also has similar stacked roads (as does most cities in at least one place). To me the problem is that those situations are where a feature like this would be most useful, BUT at the same time, those situations are where such a feature would have the most trouble due to lack of a clear signal.

Exactly! The Long/Lat precision goes way down--which is why a third dimension (altitude) would be so helpful in distinguishing among stacked roads.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Next

Return to Website & Community Issues and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users