Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

If you think you've found a bug on the website which isn't specifically an App or Map Editor problem, or have a request for new or modified feature of the Community, Forums, or Waze website, use this forum.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby ASW20C » Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:48 pm

Hi AlanOTB,

Waze is great for commuters. Last night it took me on a totally awesome route to avoid tunnel backup caused by the World Series, saving probably 15 minutes (or two innings of the pitchers dual).

But, I also use Waze for weekend commuting to the mountains. Many of the Waze features seem more focused to long distance trips. I already know the cheap gas stations, Starbucks, and fast food locations are for my commute, but they are still available. Going to the mountains it is a totally different story, as I travel through 200 miles of territory that I have never left the freeway. That is where I need (and use) the help finding cheap gas and dinner.

BTW, bicycling commuters also would use altitude... In this case for route planning. I guess this argues for the 3D model...

20C
ASW20C
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby ASW20C » Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:22 pm

Harling,

Your 3D map idea is great, but I fear it would be a major undertaking, and could be months or years away.

If Tahoe Mac is correct that the altitude data is readily available from the GPS (as I think he is), it would seem to be simple to make it a display option.

Then the data would be available to be collected in the future for building the 3D map.

My two cents,

ASW20C
ASW20C
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby ASW20C » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:23 pm

For those of us who spend a lot of time driving in the mountains, this would be a really useful feature. I know the GPS data supports it, as I can get it from other apps on my iPhone, and my Garmin will display elevation.

Elevation (altitude) could be either an added data field on the map, or it could be an option that replaces an existing field, like speed.
ASW20C
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:29 pm

harling wrote:Under any signal conditions, no matter how poor, even a rough estimate in the third dimension will be an improvement over NO estimate in the third dimension, when it comes to discriminating between two roads at different altitudes.

I disagree here. If the best case scenario is off by 20m (60ft+), that would have Waze estimating you on the bottom level of a 3-level stack instead of the top. I don't see how that is any better than providing no information at all and just using what we have. Most people do not start navigating in the middle of a stack. That and Waze deciding to re-route are about the only time when Waze should get confused about where you are in the stack. It knows how you got there, and most of these don't allow you to switch between levels in the middle, so I don't really understand why elevation is needed. The road you are on is the road Waze guided you in on, most of the time.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:59 pm

harling wrote:Exactly! The Long/Lat precision goes way down--which is why a third dimension (altitude) would be so helpful in distinguishing among stacked roads.

Except the altitude value, which is, IMO, highly suspect in smartphones today anyway, would be off by just as much margin of error as lat/lon thereby rendering just as useable/useless.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:15 pm

I'm certain Waze could display this data, or make it available to display. But, since Waze is not currently focused on the general navigation market, but on the commuter market only (read the About/general info in the app stores), I doubt they see this as a value-add for their (current) core market. Not that I don't like it, but they likely feel they need to stick to their business plan to be successful.

Down the road, when they expand into general navigation, there are MANY features which need to be added.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Previous

Return to Website & Community Issues and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users