Client "PAVE" not clearing

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby Trakr » Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:44 pm

1) I Paved a new road which worked fine.
2) I edited the new road (2 way street) and made all the junctions correct and named it.
3) How long does it stay a RED line with black arrows pointing the direction I drove on the Client? It has been about 4 weeks since I Paved the road.
4) I drove the road and it shows on the Client under the Red Pave line so I verified the road.
5) Do I need to pave it the other direction?
6) Do I need to drive it the direction I paved it as I drove it the opposite direction?
7) I have 'Refreshed map of my area' under Settings>Advanced>Data transfer>Refresh map of my area, with that road showing on the screen.
7) I want to 'Pave' a new apartment complex that is just woods now and there is a Map Issue showing in the Editor to fix. I just don't want RED Pave lines all over in the Client if they don't clear. It has been over a month since I did the Pave.
8) I am using a Iphone 4.

Anything about the time frame to clear the client or how to clear the pave lines would be appreciated?
Last edited by Trakr on Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tampa, FL area, AM Level 4
Trakr
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby mwburn » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:13 pm

When you edit the road (like changing it to two way), your also need to edit the "address" and fill in that data. If either the name or city are empty and the "no" check box isn't checked, it will remain red.
I'd be ranked higher if I drove more than 5 miles to work. :-(
But I only have to drive 5 miles to work. :-)

Image
mwburn
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:05 pm
Location: Utah, USA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby Trakr » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:29 pm

It is not red in the WME. It has been updated and is fine there and on the Client as I can see the new named road under the pave line. On the Client the "Pave" line is still there in red if you follow what I mean.
Tampa, FL area, AM Level 4
Trakr
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby DanD36 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:00 pm

I am also having this issue. Paved road, edited (actually, created the NEW road) in the Editor. This was all more than three weeks ago. The road I paved is still red and annoying. The other road is showing up correctly underneath it. (I even pac manned my own road I created.)
Thanks,
Dan
DanD36
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby Trakr » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:40 pm

Dan I did the same thing as you did. I updated Waze today Oct 10, 12 to 3.5.0.0 and the annoying RED lines are FINALLY gone!!

Now is the problem fixed or it just cleared the pave? Am not real excited to go pave a MAP Problem (new apt. complex with all new roads).
Tampa, FL area, AM Level 4
Trakr
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby CBenson » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:02 pm

I don't pave, but I have read reports here before that reinstalling does clear the pave. So I'm guessing that the upgrade just cleared the pave.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.3.0.2
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10229
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 2310 times

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby DanD36 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:05 pm

Thanks for the info.

But from what I gather here, I need to either update WAZE client (if there IS an update), or uninstall, then reinstall WAZE on my phone to get the paved road to finally clear out?

If this is true, then this is an issue that needs fixed. Once the paved part is deleted using the map editor online, then that updated needs to be pushed out to the clients.

Thanks.
Dan
DanD36
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby TheDane » Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:21 pm

I have found that the issue as far as i can tell appears when paving a road that has not yet made it to the client (and therefore seems to not exist) but actually does exist in WME.

I have also heard reinstalling works - but on a Android device there is also the option to simply clear Waze's application cache. From the Phones (not Wazes) "homescreen" go to application mangement (tap Menu, Manage Apps i believe - my UI is in Danish :) ), find the Waze app, Tap the Clear Cache button. That worked for me.

The next time you start Waze it will initialize like on the first use and of you will need to enter your username and password to log in again plus reset any options from default values.
This method is simply quicker and saves you having to find Waze again in the store and possibly download over a slow connection that you may even be paying to use.

Sorry to say I have no clue if iPhones have a similar option.

PS May I suggest waiting a while after the last drive (exit and restart Waze), especially if the last drive was done in bad network conditions, before performing the action - just to make sure that any locally stored data has been sent to the Waze servers...

Regards
TheDane
TheDane
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:35 am
Location: Denmark / World server
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:26 pm

The paves eventually go away without a reinstall, but it can take a very long time

I would advise against using the pace function at all. Lately, paved roads haven't been showing up on the client, even after they've been in the editor for several update cycles. Support is looking at the issu but there has been no resolution as of yet.

If you want to get a road into the editor that you've driven, pull up your drives in the editor and trace your route manually.


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7560
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 399 times
Been thanked: 967 times

Re: Client "PAVE" not clearing

Postby DanD36 » Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:02 pm

Since I've discovered the WME, I have no need to "pave" anymore. So, no more paving for me.

Thanks everyone for the information on the issue. I think I've finally got it fixed now. (The clearing of the cache and map data on the client fixed it.)
DanD36
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]