Roundabout flags disapearing

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, Unholy

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby davipt » Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:32 am

crazycomputingdotnet wrote:Yup, first thing I got. My sloppy editing in old I suppose.

I wonder if it is related to an issue we stumbled upon where roads were changing direction. There is a 2 mile segment near my house that I am the only one I drive on, and I only drive on it one way. I made it a 2 way way back in march, and it has since changed to a one way, switched it back and same. This happened three times. I have gone ahead and killed the entire stretch and rebuilt it, and am testing to see if it does it again. So far it hasn't, however every few days or so when I drive on it I get the pac man.


Getting the pacman back I think it's ok, the pacman will be there until there's enough people passing by. We have a segment where even with three different guys it always reverts back to pacman as nobody else probably passes by and as it's a tight road (parallel parking both sides) the average is low.

But if you manually change from one-way to two-way the system should *never* switch it back to one-way. If it were one-way and people would drive mostly the other way, it would be ok to switch to two ways or even to the opposite way, but two-way back to one-way seems to be wrong, and fortunately never saw that happening on "my roads".

From what I'm seeing on two-segment-parallel freeways with one-way each way and locked and still with average speed values for forward and reverse, maybe it could be the same case for you: do you have any parallel street to that one that cars could pass on the opposite direction, and more often than you, and then the backend would decide between one guy one way and a lot of guys the other way and reverse it?

I'd suggest making it two-way, enabling all relevant turns at the edges, and locking it out. Not that it's helping on my roundabouts, but worth the try.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 547 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby thefatveganchef » Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:49 am

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=24954

It has been reported to Waze devs and they are looking into it.
(Formerly crazycomputingdotnet / ccdn)
http://crazycomputing.net
http://thefatveganchef.com
Image
thefatveganchef
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:44 pm

davipt wrote:Continuing on this subject, I really think I'm doing something quite wrong (...)

(...)I'm now discovering a lot other roundabouts that kind of have the directions inverted. What I mean is that when one creates a new roundabout, the edit pane shows "one way ->" and "level 0". The roundabouts in question are still showing the arrows correctly, counter-clockwise, but the edit pane shows nothing, and if I manually select the "one way ->", some of the segments become clockwise.


Damn damn damn it was really my fault and is something probably documented somewhere.

It basically goes like this:
- create two separate segments, connected to each other, like A----BA----B
- select both and click on bridge
- if you picked the left one first and then the right one, you'll get A------B
- if you picked the right one first and then the left one, you'll get B------A <-- the inverted ones!

So what happened on the roundabouts is that I'd be picking the front segment first, then the previous one, and then bridge them, and get the new segment inverted. This way, because if I'd pick the previous segment first, the green arrow would be covering the next segment.

Gotta be more careful with this.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 547 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:10 am

Why are you bridging segments of a roundabout?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.2.1 | Waze v4.2b
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23422
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 4513 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby davipt » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:15 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Why are you bridging segments of a roundabout?


Either the basemap or some newbie users are creating the roundabouts with the Y/triangle split at enter/exit, and these are just creating problems because unless they are locked, one of those segments will eventually turn two-way and then the instructions will become "keep right and then at the roundabout something", or will tell to exit at the wrong exit number.

So I delete the two Y segments connected to the roundabout, then join together the three segments of the roundabout, then reconnect the main segment to the right point in the middle of the roundabout.

Issue one was bridging those segments at the wrong order and no longer getting the whole roundabout A-->B. But that may not be a problem for the routing, just ugly.

The second issue is that the bridging increases the level, and it may happen that a roundabout with different levels per segment may confuse the routing and give wrong instructions.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 547 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby Daknife » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:24 am

Draw in the connecting roads first and then make the roundabout. I'm not the expert, (That's Alan) I only have a couple roundabouts in my entire state, but looking around your links I'm seeing some pretty poor looking circles. Even ones that shouldn't need anything but the basic connect the cross streets, draw the roundabout and name it.

The prime example of this is the Fonte Luminosa Rotary just up the road a bit (to the north west) from the bad circle you linked to us. Why did a basic circle need all the manual adjustments to the point that it's not really a circle anymore? Me thinks you are making the process harder than it needs to be.

Heck it would be slightly too large but you could fix the Luminosa circle in a couple clicks by just drawing a new roundabout over it and then naming the segments. I did it, but of course not being on the ROTW server, I couldn't save the change.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 227 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:26 am

No need to bridge it, just select the extra nodes after you've cleaned the roundabout up, and press delete.
Best practice is to redraw from scratch though.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby davipt » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:51 am

daknife wrote:Draw in the connecting roads first and then make the roundabout. (...)

The prime example of this is the Fonte Luminosa Rotary


Yes at this point in time and with all the question I have and all the attempts and the delay to get the update to test the possibilities, it has been easier and safer to just delete the whole roundabout and all the Y segments, connect the roads as aligned as possible, and redraw the roundabout. I always do that when they are perpendicular 4 street crosses, as that way I'll then get the "straight ahead/turn left/turn right" instructions instead of "take the 1st/2nd/3rd".

Now this roundabout is a good example of how one learns and tries different things over almost a year. As far as I've understood the sistem, waze does moves segments and nodes around based on the gps tracks. This means that roundabouts will move away from the center of the circle on the satellite, and in certain cases where GPS coverage is less good, will even become slightly oval or completely dead like the first link I sent. And when this happens, the dozens of nodes of the original roundabout becomes much less, like you can see on this one. It was created round, then after some time it was completely fupped up like this but not round, we moved the nodes back to the circle, and that was around the time I learned that roundabouts *SHALL* always be locked, so it stayed like this for some months now thanks to the lock.

As I don't want to redo every single roundabout until I'm sure the redoing is worth the trouble and won't get screwed again, I'm concentrating only on the ones with the wrong instructions, or the ones with the Y segments. This one is working correctly, gives me the right nth exit instructions, and is better to get the nth instructions than the ahead/left/right (the roundabout is not plane, the NE side is higher than the SW, hence the water pound in the middle), so I'm not touching it - besides having double checked the latest stuff I've been worried about, namely ensuring the whole roundabout is A-->B and all with the same level and, just in case, q-w all nodes again.

In other words, it's not not being round that screws the roundabouts, that one I know for sure. It's being unlocked, that I also know for sure. It's the screwed after this that I'm curious about.
And because the less nodes the less traffic to the client, I don't really mind having a nthagon, it still looks round on the client.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 547 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby davipt » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:10 am

xteejx wrote:No need to bridge it, just select the extra nodes after you've cleaned the roundabout up, and press delete.
Best practice is to redraw from scratch though.


Oh, always learning. I knew about the node deletion, but thought it was exactly the same behavior as the bridge. Just tried now that deleting the node does NOT increase the level. GOOOOOOD to know.

(note: I guess I never cared much about the node deletion because it's the delete key, which on a mac is... well, on a laptop is fn-backspace, but in theory the key shouldn't exist, like the second mouse button ;) )

About redrawing, it's been a year where most of my time is redrawing roundabouts that gets screwed differently every mapdate. As the average update has been one month, when the map goes live and a wrong instruction is detected, it's a pain to try to understand what was changed weeks before, what went wrong, or just give up and redraw it again.

There are plenty of documentation, but most is scattered over the wiki and comments on the forums, so one has to learns from own and other's experience.
I've had to fix or redraw roundabouts every time I discovered a new thing, from how to bridge segments (having a empty node would screw the nth exit), then the U-turn bug that at the time was only visible on cartouche_old (I'm so great for the highlights script!), then the discovery that unlocked segments will drift into madness, then the discovery of soft-hard turns and reverse connectivity and the q-w procedure, and then most of the roundabouts have been stable for several months.

Except the ones that don't, like the first link.

That's why I'm trying yet again to understand what went wrong and try to redo only the ones that are really broken or in need of removing the Y stuff, and leaving the ones that "works", to see the result after the next update.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 547 times

Re: Roundabout flags disapearing

Postby Timbones » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:21 am

davipt wrote:Issue one was bridging those segments at the wrong order and no longer getting the whole roundabout A-->B. But that may not be a problem for the routing, just ugly.

The second issue is that the bridging increases the level, and it may happen that a roundabout with different levels per segment may confuse the routing and give wrong instructions.

I don't believe that having 'backwards' segments on a roundabout will necessarily cause problems. I've been looking at a few, and found them appearing on roundabouts that otherwise route just fine. I'm still investigating it some more though.

Levels have no consequence on routing at all.
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 771 times
Been thanked: 2220 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: epurvee, MarcosDSCI