Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

If you think you've found a bug on the website which isn't specifically an App or Map Editor problem, or have a request for new or modified feature of the Community, Forums, or Waze website, use this forum.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby TahoeMac01 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 2:13 am

Hello all... new Wazer here.

I would love to see elevation! Not having that information available is a major disappointment. The data to calculate elevation is already available, assuming the GPS sees 4 satellites, and could be a user accessed field similar to speed.

The 3D rendering and overpass issues are much more advanced problems. Having elevation available is a very quick software update and would distinguish Waze from the rest who have decided to bury that valuable information.
TahoeMac01
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby WeeeZer14 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 7:47 pm

ASW20C wrote:BTW, bicycling commuters also would use altitude... In this case for route planning. I guess this argues for the 3D model...

Waze should not be used on a bicycle, so it is a moot point.

Also, there may be some concern on Waze's side in providing elevation/altitude data and people using Waze in a plane. We know people already do. The last thing we want is someone suing because Waze wasn't reporting a correct value. :roll:
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:05 pm

harling wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I'm certain Waze could display this data, or make it available to display. But, since Waze is not currently focused on the general navigation market, but on the commuter market only...

Actually, the problem areas that I have in mind in Boston--multiple levels of overlapping, often nearly-parallel ramps--become a major difficulty for Waze when the Log/Lat is within the margin of error of three roads at different levels, each of which leads to a very different destination. And they carry a lot of commuter traffic, and generate their share of URs to the effect that Waze put them on the wrong road, and of course the directions to get them "back" are completely wrong.

I was just in Boston a few weeks ago and I was there before the Big Dig as well. Chicago also has similar stacked roads (as does most cities in at least one place). To me the problem is that those situations are where a feature like this would be most useful, BUT at the same time, those situations are where such a feature would have the most trouble due to lack of a clear signal.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:29 pm

Some info from the USGS:

* Survey grade GPS receivers typically have horizontal accuracies around 1cm. Vertical accuracy is twice that (2cm).

* Differential grade GPS receivers from 0.3 to 1.0 meter horizontal. Vertical accuracy is 2 to 3 times that.

* Consumer grade GPS receivers are between 3 and 10 meters horizontal. "This type of GPS handheld unit provides elevation data with poor accuracy."

So figure at best a consumer grade GPS is going to have 20 to 30 meter vertical accuracy. Cell phone GPS is probably also at the low end of consumer devices. And if we have stacked roads, we also are going to have signal multi-path issues. So that will make that number even larger.

Plus, GPS signals will tell us how far we are from the satellite. It will not directly tell us how high off the ground we are. There are mathematical models to estimate the surface of the earth and that is used to give an indication of where you are in relation to the ground. Different devices may use a different model or at least interpret the same model differently.

I am by no means saying this is a bad idea, I'm just saying there is a big signal to noise ratio so it isn't going to be easy.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby xteejx » Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:32 pm

I still see some merit in this tbh. Would help a long way towards a "eco mode" for routing. Besides, GPS traces from many users can be averaged on the altitude anyway to give a decent indication of the real height in the same way it's done currently for lat/long.
xteejx
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Please add an ELEVATION/ALTITUDE field...

Postby xteejx » Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:16 am

The only reason I would see altitude data as useful is for an economical mode, less hilly terrain being more fuel friendly.
The errors we are talking about are for a single point in time by one gps device. Surely, if you have 3 or 100 at that one position, you could cut away the really high ones, the really low ones, and take the average of the rest to get a pretty accurate reading?
It could be stored in the gps trace part of the database (might even already be there), and routes calculated using that data for the economy mode as I explained above.
No one think this is a good idea, both as an idea, and technically?

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
xteejx
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Previous

Return to Website & Community Issues and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users