[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Re: Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v

Postby rob7mgte » Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:24 pm

Timbones wrote:This is a deliberate (and undocumented) feature. If a segment has zero nodes, then it needs attending to, and either connecting or deleting.

If you really do need to keep an unconnected segment on the map, add nodes to each end. Generally, non-drivable roads don't need to be mapped.


Ok, got it. Well it is effective at drawing attention! :D
rob7mgte
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:17 pm
Location: Washington, USA
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby RodNav » Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:33 pm

GizmoGuy411 wrote:
iainhouse wrote:.....

The only reason I don't think it should be part of WME, is that we get better support & response time from you! ;)



Good point!

Agreed!
Country Manager for South Africa.
Samsung GT-I9300 (Galaxy S3), Android 4.1.2
Image
RodNav
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Somerset West (40km from Cape Town), South Africa
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby RodNav » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:23 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
Kuhlkatz wrote:Maybe Tim should add another checkbox for
[ ] Reading Glasses?

;)

I wouldn't see that either! :x

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Country Manager for South Africa.
Samsung GT-I9300 (Galaxy S3), Android 4.1.2
Image
RodNav
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Somerset West (40km from Cape Town), South Africa
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby rottielover » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:18 pm

I didn't see any video's on youtube about how to fix U-Turn and RevCon nodes (using the highlight script to find them).

I tried my hand at creating one : http://youtu.be/IFNXGQjA4kc

I had some trouble with the volume. Let me know what you think.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby rottielover » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:57 pm

BlazeTool wrote:Only criticism is that you should tell users to check existing turn restrictions before doing a QW or disconnect/reconnect. You mention double checking when you are finished, but they might not know what restrictions they need to put back in without checking existing restrictions before modifying.


I felt it was a bit redundant to keep saying "check, check, check". Plus I've found plenty of nodes that had incorrect turn restrictions already set (by fixing the revcon or uturn you end up fixing improper turn restrictions sometimes). Remember this video is targeted to more "advanced" map editor's (AM's and above).

However, I'll add some overlay text via YouTube to put a reminder in .
Last edited by rottielover on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby rottielover » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:00 pm

fvwazing wrote:As for reconnecting segments: I made it a habit to move the node a bit, then deselect, then select it again and drag it back. Didn't know it can be done in one move ;-)

And please - configure your PC to show a extra-BIG mousecursor next time. And move it slower.


I've found you can usually do it all in one move, but I have run into some segments and nodes on a "case by case" basis that required "fiddling" with the editor to get them right. I had a loop road just a min ago that I ended up having to completely disconnect all segments, save, then reconnect to get this thing to save properly. Most of the time you can do it all in a few steps then save.

Good point on the mouse cursor, the speed is slightly increased due to the video encoding. I'll make it giant size next time ;)
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.2

Postby rotus8 » Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:07 pm

Thank you, thank you for this script. I don't know why I never read this thread before, but I installed the script and it is fantastic. I have been going back over some areas I thought were in good shape, and keep finding unterminated roads, unknown direction, and one-way cul-de-sacs I missed, and have been able to find some city xxx(2) I have been looking for. Excellent.
rotus8
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:01 am
Location: La Honda, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.2

Postby rotus8 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:23 pm

How about highlighting unnecessary nodes: a node between only two segments, with the same street and city name.

Loving this script! Thanks.

Edit: Oops, just went back and read all posts in the thread and this suggestion has already been requested (and rejected).
rotus8
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:01 am
Location: La Honda, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby rotus8 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:18 pm

Works for me in Firefox/Greasemonkey.
rotus8
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:01 am
Location: La Honda, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.0

Postby shawndoc » Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:04 am

Now if only the road layer worked so this script had something to highlight. :D
Image
shawndoc
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1701
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 340 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: akpolarbee, Google [Bot], hypem, kelemvor33