Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gordonski » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:15 am

+2
No stop signs, speed limitImageNobody's gonna slow me down!Image
Area Manager in DN/BM/AC (NRW)
Wiki | Liste aller Gemeinden/Städte
gordonski
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 1974
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Elsdorf, NW, Germany
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 345 times

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gordonski » Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:21 pm

bgodette wrote:Nice hyperbole, except there's a difference, those are things you cannot see "from a distance" that AFFECT ROUTING. Speed limits are not.


Then I wonder, why waze collects speed information and calculates average speeds for roads, when they are not needed IN ANY WAY? (Hooray for caps :roll: )
Just because you don't want speed information it doesn't mean that they must be useless for anybody else on the planet.
As suggested before, it would be possible to implement a toggle in the settings menu to enable and disable speed information, for those who obviously don't give a Image .
If this is such a crappy, useless, disturbing feature, then why does every navigation software I have seen so far offer it? And why can't you just accept that some people actually do use this feature because they do think it's useful?

Nothing on waze has official appearance, we all know it's purely user driven. Why does that make any bit of information wrong in your eyes? Why on earth do use waze, when you consider all user-provided data to be wrong?

That's all i have to say about that,
Gordonski
No stop signs, speed limitImageNobody's gonna slow me down!Image
Area Manager in DN/BM/AC (NRW)
Wiki | Liste aller Gemeinden/Städte
gordonski
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 1974
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Elsdorf, NW, Germany
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 345 times

Re: Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gordonski » Mon Feb 13, 2012 7:10 am

bgodette wrote:There really is no gain from adding this, and a long list of downsides, chief amongst them the liability exposure and additional work needed to maintain that data. Get your speed limit information from where your attention should be, the road.


And get your information about dangers from there, too? Restricted turns? Watch the signs! Traffic jams? Keep a look ahead! ...seriously?

I could do my daily commute completely without the assistance of waze. But it's meant to maker things easier for you. I never drove myself in the US, so I'm not sure what it looks like over there. Here in Europe we have roads where speed limits vary a lot. Outside of cities Germany has a general speed limit of 100km/h (~60mph). But these streets could also be limited to any lower value. Furthermore streets with two lanes per direction or where lanes have constructional separations, the limit is 130km/h (~80mph). In cities the general limit is 50km/h (~30mph) except for multilane roads or seprated lanes where it can be up to 70km/h (~45mph). On highways there's no general limit. However there are many sections which are limited. We also have dynamic limits, which are set automatically or manually when traffic increases, or visibility decreases. Sometimes with individual limits for each lane. On 10 miles of highway the speed limit may vary from 60km/h (~40mph) (road construction) to "whatever your car can do". But few hours later the maximum limit could be only boring 120km/h (~75mph).
If waze offered a feature to inform you about the current speed limit, I'm convinced that over here many wazer would use this feature. I definitely would!

Everyone knows, that waze doesn't offer any official information. When you drive too fast because waze told you so and you get caught, it's still your own fault, just like it's your own fault when you take a disallowed turn or go the wrong way in a oneway street. Waze is an assistant, not an autopilot or a controller you must obey in any situation. I guess this is clear to all of us.

Gordonski
No stop signs, speed limitImageNobody's gonna slow me down!Image
Area Manager in DN/BM/AC (NRW)
Wiki | Liste aller Gemeinden/Städte
gordonski
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 1974
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Elsdorf, NW, Germany
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 345 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gordonski » Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:34 pm

Hi,

I also think that it would be a very useful feature to be able to set a speed limit for raods in the map editor so that the client can display warnings when you're going too fast. Most navigation softwares do this and I like that. The user could set the level of warnings to recieve e.g. "voice alert", "visual information" like a red speed indication or "no warnings".
Living in a country with highways without speed limit (don't forget to implement the "infinite speed" option in the map editor ;)) I enjoy fast driving, but there a high penalties for speeding and not all speed traps are reported by other users. Plus, we have the lovely ProViDa (Proof Video Data System): police measuring your speed from civil cars. You can't report these on Waze. :roll:
So in case I missed the speed limit sign and I don't know wether I may go 100km/h, 130km/h or whatever I please, it would be really cool if Waze could remind me!

Gordonski
No stop signs, speed limitImageNobody's gonna slow me down!Image
Area Manager in DN/BM/AC (NRW)
Wiki | Liste aller Gemeinden/Städte
gordonski
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 1974
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Elsdorf, NW, Germany
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 345 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:10 pm

So if you are sitting at home with WME editor open and the built in functions how are you to determine what a speed limit is for a road segment, where is begins and where it ends? Remember the example where the sigh is knocked down (ie Street View and similar of no value).

Does your area have some government published speed limit data that can be referenced?
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:19 pm

Another big issue here is that Waze would likely base this info on a per road segment basis. The speed limits are not necessarily going to change at the location of a segment on the Waze map. So segments will have to be inserted all over the map and there is no insert segment function in WME. Yes, you can create a temporary road, junction, and remove - but it's not intuitive. What happens when newbie editors forget to set the turn restrictions as these new junctions? The routing is going to break.

Then what will happen when an editor who does not realize a junction is on the map for a speed limit change? When the junction is deleted which speed limit will Waze keep of the two that were split at the junction? Oops, there you go more bad data.

If Waze implements this in their usual way it's going to be a complete mess.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:10 pm

lchamp423 wrote:When I see a police patrol, I quickly check the Garmin to confirm my speed limit in case I missed the last sign. Yeah, it would be nice if the Waze software included this. It seems that the thought of this causes a lot of resentment among the old hands here, so I'll keep using the Garmin for now...and the Waze, too...


So when you get pulled over for speeding, good luck convincing the police officer that you were following the speed limit on your Garmin and not the signs posted on the road :P
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:31 am

Sorry, I don't agree with using anything other than the actual speed limit data. You absolutely can not present an estimated speed limit as the 'speed limit'. That is wrong.

So you are going to tell the police that pulls you over for speeding: 'I am using Waze and it says the speed limit is 52 mph.' The police will respond: 'oh really, isn't that the free gps software that lets you report our speed traps, distract you when driving, and now makes up the speed limit? Well since you are so smart and the speed limit is actually 25 mph on that last curve I'm going to write you up for speeding, wreckless driving, and texting too. How about that!'
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:59 pm

iahim wrote:If I understand correctly, for each road, Waze keeps a record of the the average hourly speed. They could use the maximum hourly average to estimate the speed limit. Based on that, like somebody suggested a few weeks ago in a post, change the color of the speedometer to let you know that you may be above the speed limit (green if you're at or bellow the speed limit, yellow for 10% above, etc.) That's less likely to create problems than displaying an incorrect speed limit on the screen.


We've been through this discussion before in another thread.

Waze's average speed has absolutely no direct relationship to a speed limit. Waze does not need to be presenting this data as speed limits.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Show speed limits om roads you drive.

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:02 pm

fvwazing wrote:BIG NO! I disabled this on every gps I used so far - not because I speed all the time, but because the continuous false alarms this feature gave. Of every map, speed seems to be the first part that is outdated. Housenumbers is less work than this - housenumbers tend to stay over the years. Speeds tend not to.

Given that all the big map-providers have a lot of problems doing this right I am very sceptic that Waze can do this by means of importing, regulary, of updated speeds from a mystical, all-knowing source of speeds. Waze may get some data from some source and then rely on the crowd to set and keep it right.


I agree that this is a major undertaking to keep updated with minimal benefit. But Waze seems to think otherwise.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 208 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users