[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5

Postby skbun » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:50 pm

Timbones wrote:
Timbones wrote:I've put in a minor tweak to only show cities that are actually being used on streets: Beta v1.5.6
Might give unexpected results if zoomed out. Please provide feedback...

Anyone tried this yet? Any cities appearing in the list that shouldn't, or vica versa? Hoping to push this to a public release soon...

via mobile


Slightly unrelated note, but I do wonder how much of a pain in the butt this would be...do you suppose, if the landmarks layer is visible, that we can add in the 'highlight landmarks' that stuff with a given city gets yellow, or striped, bold border, or...something? Since this is already clearly becoming a pain and many editors don't realize landmarks influence the dropdowns if that layer is on.

I'm guessing that that code would only have to run if 'highlight landmarks' is checked, AND a city is checked. I don't know as much about that section of code to know if it's viable, though.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby skbun » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:57 pm

As to the 'show only...' cities part, it looks like it's working. It's possible to select lower class segments here and there at zoom level 3 (even though highlighter won't list them or their cities), but that's just because of how WME renders streets. You can just tell people this:

'No cities will be scanned for at zoom 0 or 1.'
'Freeways and highways will have their cities checked at zoom 2 and 3.'
'All segments in view will have their cities shown at zoom 4 and above.'
'Landmarks are not checked for their city regardless of zoom level'.

But I don't seem to be able to crash it by zooming in and out, anyway.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.0

Postby Spil » Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:40 am

I've been testing this script for a couple of weeks now, and it's revealing a lot of things that need fixing in areas that I thought looked pretty good on the surface. Kudos to Tim (and Brian & Alan also) for creating this method of showing what WME would be capable of doing if it had been programmed by people who knew what it needed to do. :P "Don't edit Rome (or anywhere else!) without it!"
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.0

Postby Spil » Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:53 am

Laurentwb wrote:One of the feature that can be very useful is the possibility to highlight unterminated roads because it allows to highlight connection problems.
However, it is currently not fully operational as it not really the original purpose (which is to highlight unterminated roads olny).

A suggestion would be to have an additional option to highlight roads which are connected on one side only or on no side at all?

If I'm reading you correctly, this is exactly what the "highlight unterminated roads" option does. If there is a road segment that is not connected to a junction at one or both of its ends, then it gets colored a lovely lime green by this function. :)

If you're talking about road segments that are connected to a junction that has no other road segments attached to it ... well, that's a different story. It probably could be done, but I'm not sure how valuable that would be as an editing guide (since it would flag all properly-represented dead-end streets as potential problems :o).
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.0

Postby Spil » Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:13 am

foxitrot wrote:
Laurentwb wrote:Here is a permalink pointing to a place where there are 4 roads with connection on only one side. Three are highlighted, one is not. https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lon=4.39773&lat=50.80443&layers=BFTFTTTFTTTTTTTFTTTTFT I understand why these dead-end roads don't show up the same way.

Because this one is terminated with a junction, whereas these three are not.

Exactly. In other words, the northernmost one of those four segments is (in my words from above) a "properly-represented dead-end street", so it would be pointless to highlight it as a potential problem.

The other three segments that did get colored have a problem: because there is no junction node at the ends of these segments, the routing server has trouble interpreting and using them correctly. That's why they're highlighted -- because they have a problem that needs to be addressed (by adding a junction node at the end -- the easiest way to do so is to draw a new road from one's end to another one's end, then delete the new road).
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.0

Postby stevecody » Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:31 pm

Timbones wrote:Here's my latest script, which adds color highlighting to segments and landmarks according to their status and type. The highlighting of segments is likely to be most useful, for it shows locked and un-named roads.


This looks awesome! I can't wait to try it.
Steve Cody
iPhone 4 - Verizon - iOS 6.0.1
AM: Columbia, SC and Sumter, SC
Image
stevecody
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:18 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.0

Postby stevecody » Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:32 pm

McCracken808 wrote:Great script! Works well so far!

Now I can see all the locked roads that I can't edit. :roll:


I agree. It is great. I tried it as soon as I got home. It is great! Thanks!
Steve Cody
iPhone 4 - Verizon - iOS 6.0.1
AM: Columbia, SC and Sumter, SC
Image
stevecody
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:18 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby stevecody » Tue Oct 09, 2012 6:59 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Waze is still looking at 3-month+ old GPS tracks for the map problem detection, which has been reported to Waze for over a year and they haven't done anything about it.


I had a similar issue about 2 weeks ago where a new road construction completely changed the geometry of a road. I updated the new road so it is very accurate and a few weeks after, I got a "too far apart" road error with GPS tracks following the original road path, which no longer physically exists.
Steve Cody
iPhone 4 - Verizon - iOS 6.0.1
AM: Columbia, SC and Sumter, SC
Image
stevecody
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:18 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby stevecody » Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:26 pm

stevecody wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Waze is still looking at 3-month+ old GPS tracks for the map problem detection, which has been reported to Waze for over a year and they haven't done anything about it.


I had a similar issue about 2 weeks ago where a new road construction completely changed the geometry of a road. I updated the new road so it is very accurate and a few weeks after, I got a "too far apart" road error with GPS tracks following the original road path, which no longer physically exists.


Quoting myself above... I just found out that a well meaning editor "fixed" the problem I just described in the post above by redrawing those roads based on the outdated satellite imagery. The road doesn't match the imagery any more and I had to drive it and "pave" it originally to get it right. I had to re-do it all again yesterday. Well, I guess this is one of the reasons locking is used for...
Steve Cody
iPhone 4 - Verizon - iOS 6.0.1
AM: Columbia, SC and Sumter, SC
Image
stevecody
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:18 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby Superfraggle » Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:35 am

Tim,

Can I suggest/Request a feature.

Specifically around roundabouts, an option or a default setting to NOT highlight roundabouts, and maybe a new colour for roundabout.

I keep spotting unnamed segments, only to zoom in and see they are roundabouts, if you add a colour for roundabouts, it will help identify roundabouts that not marked correctly as roundabouts..
ImageImage
Superfraggle
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:21 pm
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 59 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher