Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Too little error checking on cities

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:44 pm

skbun wrote:* The Javascript console tells me when a new city has to be created. Can the user be alerted to it too, so they can be sure that they wanted to do that?

Cartouche used to do this when you were creating a new street/city combination (a segment inherits the properties of objects in the street database). I found it both slowed me down sometimes, but also saved me from entering a misspelled city or segment name.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:54 pm

olestas wrote:Editor messes up numbers by itself, when there is unusual numbering.
If one side is e.g. 2-12, but other side has no numbers.. empty space should be accepted. If I do not enter any numbers, number from other part of the road is taken automatically, which brakes all numbering further.

Similar problem is with big streets, which are drawn as two one way roads and are separated in real life. Numbering must go on one side of street only... not taken from the other side..

Did you try entering zeroes (0)?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:29 am

AndyPoms wrote:Ok, maybe calling it a "bug" was wrong... It's still counter-intuitive though...

We totally agreed. Here's the feedback given in the beta testing which was either ignored or not seen. Either way, it wasn't responded to and remains as it was then:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
WeeeZer14 wrote:... and that layer re-order seems counter intuitive. When the Roads layer is above the GPS point layer in the menu, the GPS points appear on top of the Roads.

Thanks for the tip on those being a handle. And I agree that the ordering is bottom-up which is counter-intuitive.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:57 pm

bgodette wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:I think I found another bug... In the layers menu, you can move a few of the layers around, so they are on top of each other in a specific order... The layer at the top of the list is actually below the other layers and the layer at the bottom of the list is on the top of all the layers.
Design, and it is consistent with the rest of the layers menu. It isn't first glance logical however.

Always check that awesome documentation. http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Map_ ... ols#Layers.

One clear indication of the expected order is that the Bing Aerials layer appears at the top of the layers menu.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 13, 2012 10:08 pm

davipt wrote:
davipt wrote:(...)I think it's happening only on Firefox(...)

[18:52:28.697] TypeError: wazeModel.cities.get(cityID) is undefined @ https://world.waze.com/editor/:105
--
[18:52:34.415] TypeError: e is undefined @ https://world.waze.com/editor/js/WME.min.js?v=785:1
[18:52:34.420] Empty string passed to getElementById(). @ https://world.waze.com/editor/js/libs.min.js?v=785:2
[18:52:34.696] TypeError: wazeModel.cities.get(cityID) is undefined @ https://world.waze.com/editor/:105


Just happened on Safari:



2wmech.js:134TypeError: 'undefined' is not an object (evaluating 'wazeModel.cities.get(cityID).isEmpty')
51The page at https://world.waze.com/editor/ displayed insecure content from http://www.bing.com/maps/i/spacer.gif.
6wmech.js:134TypeError: 'undefined' is not an object (evaluating 'wazeModel.cities.get(cityID).isEmpty')

Ok, that's very interesting and aligns with what I see when this happens from this angle:

I add a landmark and then, to set the landmark to the right city, I try clicking on a segment nearby to get the city name. But it just highlights blue but doesn't actually select it. So, I decide to go with my gut. I click on the landmark again and go to edit the city name, but I am shown an empty Country, State and city control. The select control for Country should have United States and State should show at least my local state, but they are both empty.

For some reason, the browser data seems to be getting corrupted and it can't figure out where the view on the map is located? :? Weird.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:31 pm

davipt wrote:I've been trying to nail down whether it's a userscript or not, too. Or related to the landmarks layer issues. A permalink usually fixes things a while, but it comes back. Turn off extensions seemed to clear it up, but then after 30 minutes of having the same extensions enabled, I haven't had the issue again.

Very elusive...


I've said before, for me it has nothing to do with scripts, only see it on Firefox not on Safari (yet), and happens when zooming in and the road reload happens, and I've seen it only today (which means it may be a couple of days, didn't spend much time editing yesterday)[/quote]
It's happening to me on Chrome/Win7.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:19 pm

Mike-1323 wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:It's also possible that this new behavior is unique Int'l editor then. We've had the new infrastructure in place for several months. iainhouse, are you also using Firefox, or something else?

It's not unique to the int'l editor. I've seen this behavior for a couple days on the NA server.

I've been trying to nail down whether it's a userscript or not, too. Or related to the landmarks layer issues. A permalink usually fixes things a while, but it comes back. Turn off extensions seemed to clear it up, but then after 30 minutes of having the same extensions enabled, I haven't had the issue again.

Very elusive...
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:57 am

invented wrote:the app doesn't even update a tile until you route over it so it's pretty moot.

1/2 true. There is also a date associated with tiles and the app is supposed to download nearby tiles even when not routing if they have "expired."
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:15 am

mike-bronner wrote:If we're speaking of graphically drawing things out, the browser is already doing this. The server just sends the raw data about the objects (coordinates, basically), then the browser renders everything through SVG data. The selectable road object is actually separate from the road that you see. It is an invisible vector object that gets manipulated as you select it or hover over it.
Because all objects are essentially data, and not graphics, we can create nifty add-ons, like timbones' color hightlights script, that can manipulate segments. :)
The only graphics that the server servers up is the Bing imagery, which comes from Bing servers, so it doesn't present an additional load on the Waze servers.

We are saying the same thing I think. What we see visually for the road layer, is a png, aligned with the actual SVG layer. What I'd like to see is the SVG layer only to be loaded, and have the browser draw the actual visible layer too.

In terms of the browser save causing a tile refresh, that is a capability of the current infrastructure and was one of the major features of the upgrade the US got a few months ago, and the World got this past week.

However, we do not want it to happen this quickly, at least, not so the app can download it right away or by default. Can you imagine a tile being saved 20 times in 5 minutes and the app downloading the tile 20 times? That would crush both the infrastrucutre network bandwidth and kill our data plan limits. :) It may be able to do that, but before we do, we need better, more restrictive default app tile download behavior.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:47 am

davipt wrote:
bz2012 wrote:
davipt wrote:...
"mouse-over shows the roads" data is vectorial data retrieved as json from waze.com/descartes/features. If this fails, you'll get roads images but none will be selectable. And no radars, no problems, none of those.
...


Hm... interesting point that I didn't bring up is that the WME color highlight extension DOES work.

That implies to me that WME could be made more efficient by dispensing entirely with the ROAD images and just using a method similar to the way the WME color highlight extension works.

That could dispense with the need for a LOT network traffic.


It would be quite heavy on the browser to draw all segments, including the direction arrows, and more importantly the road names and their position on the segment and the angle in vectorial mode. Not impossible though. It's still easier and cheaper to do it once on the server side.

The browser essentially does this now, though it doesn't actually produce the images for the visible road layer. But every road object is loaded from the server which allows us to manipulate that object. The browser is tracking it, panning it, zooming it, etc., with every movement of the map.

I would think we are closer to having the visible road layer rendered completely in the browser that we think. At least, I hope so! :)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users