Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby beffl » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:20 am

mssusa wrote:BTW, is the speed data retained when you split a segment? In one or both segments? How about when you join an old segment to a newly created one and remove the junction to make a longer segment? This is important when mapping freeways out of scattered client paved roads.

If not, then the best option is to extend a little, save then extended a little more and so on.


That's point I'm interested in, too. I read in a post that if you shorten (in terms of compress not to cut) a segment the speed rises e.g. the average speed of the segment is 50kmh. After shortenig the segment to the half the average speed rises to 100kmh. Can this happen?

THX, Stefan
Cheers,
Beffl - CM AT + DE
Image
Wiki Portal Österreich: Image | Waze Austria auf: Image Image Image
Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert | KISS | Der richtige Start beim Editieren
Waze iOS 3.7 | iPhone4s | iPad4
beffl
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2458
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: Perchtoldsdorf (bei Wien), Austria
Has thanked: 342 times
Been thanked: 577 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:32 am

skbun wrote:http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Map_Editor_Interface_and_Controls#Segment_Edit_Detail:

An alternate name street must also have the same city as the primary segment. (My emphasis added)
So there's no Street anywhere in the world that belongs to two cities or a city with two official names. Somehow I doubt that.

The automatic default for an alternate street's city *should* be the same as the primary street ID, but there definitely should be the ability to change it.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Sun Nov 11, 2012 7:38 am

There does seem to be a bug in updateModel in the current 771 public version on NA. It will, for causes yet to be determined, decide not to request segment data from the features server.

It's all my phone's fault for using Tapatalk.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:30 am

viewtopic.php?p=287986#p287986

Been there since they released to public. 781 fixed the turn problems leak but not the general bug introduced into loading features on zoom/pan. Basically the url args aren't being built right (going to server with...).

It's all my phone's fault for using Tapatalk.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:28 pm

AndyPoms wrote:I think I found another bug... In the layers menu, you can move a few of the layers around, so they are on top of each other in a specific order... The layer at the top of the list is actually below the other layers and the layer at the bottom of the list is on the top of all the layers.
Design, and it is consistent with the rest of the layers menu. It isn't first glance logical however.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 am

mssusa wrote:I'm finding many segments with no level set. I'm not 100% sure but I believe all were old unedited client paved segments. When I edit a segment to fix its geometry points and give it a name then select it together with another completed segment to create junctions at intersections the cross sign "+" does not appear. When I check the newer segment I always find its level property empty. New editor? or the move to the new infrastructure?
Cause a wazeModel update and that clears. It's indeterminate data from modified segments that's cleared by refreshing the wazeModel (F5/Permalink/Panning far enough/zooming far enough).
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:09 pm

cristianfraser wrote:It'd be nice if we could add house numbers to more than one segment of a street.
How do you propose it distributes the numbers, especially if the segments are different lengths, or cover different lengths of ranges?
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:00 pm

mssusa wrote:
bgodette wrote:
cristianfraser wrote:It'd be nice if we could add house numbers to more than one segment of a street.
How do you propose it distributes the numbers, especially if the segments are different lengths, or cover different lengths of ranges?

You can because you have each segment's length. However, it is too much of a bother.
No, you can't. Say you've got 5 segments selected that cover the ranges 100-400, but they're all different lengths. Do you distribute based on length, segments, or ???
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:06 am

beffl wrote:
mssusa wrote:BTW, is the speed data retained when you split a segment? In one or both segments? How about when you join an old segment to a newly created one and remove the junction to make a longer segment? This is important when mapping freeways out of scattered client paved roads.

If not, then the best option is to extend a little, save then extended a little more and so on.


That's point I'm interested in, too. I read in a post that if you shorten (in terms of compress not to cut) a segment the speed rises e.g. the average speed of the segment is 50kmh. After shortenig the segment to the half the average speed rises to 100kmh. Can this happen?

THX, Stefan
Only in Cartouche, which isn't available any more. Papyrus/WME has always handled speed data correctly in the backend.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:07 am

mssusa wrote:BTW, is the speed data retained when you split a segment? In one or both segments? How about when you join an old segment to a newly created one and remove the junction to make a longer segment?
Yes, both, averaged.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2937
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users