Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby anonymous0816 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:00 pm

davipt wrote:6. ... some say shift-? gives you a screen with the keyboard commands, but I can only see it on safari and not on firefox, as the ? in the Portuguese keyboard is already a shift-key-right-to-0 so I can't do a double-shift ;)


Well. German keyboard layout would also require a double-shift.
Please fix this. Either make it "?"-only or "Shift+h" for example for "help".

2nd: This function is not mentioned in the wiki.
anonymous0816
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:20 pm

mssusa wrote:A middle meeting point is to keep the old behavior: when clicking on a link its properties should be opened without changing the focus.


What was the old behavior I forgot already? :D Oh, the city and street were already visible, and the apply/cancel would appear only if the data was changed, right? I see your point and agree that a middle point would then be perfect:

- select a segment would show the properties pane (like now, just show it without animation, keep it simple), including the country/city/street fields visible right away, no edit button.
- like before, changing one of those value enables the apply/cancel button
- the 'e' shortcut would then become a focus on city/street so one could quickly select-segment, 'e', city name, tab tab, street name, enter.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 593 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:12 pm

davipt wrote:
3. I don't agree. I personally seldom need to change the city or street name (it should be a one time operation) so I'd hate if every time I'd select a segment the editor would focus on a input box and I'd no longer be able to do anything else as no other key shortcut would work. I like the 'e' shortcut a lot, just miss the auto-focus on city/street to be even faster.


Well.. I think they should cater to me first ;)
Seriously, that's hard to solve. I and, I believe, many many others, are editing on virgin countries where there is no map at all. Most of our work involve creating and naming streets as opposed to fixing geometry, connectivity and/or turn restrictions.

A middle meeting point is to keep the old behavior: when clicking on a link its properties should be opened without changing the focus.

I wish this can be customizable, or someone would add it to the user scripts.
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:52 am

mssusa wrote:
davipt wrote:
mssusa wrote:3. There does need to be a faster way to access street names by just selecting the street without the need for "e" or clicking on "edit".
6. I sometimes get transparent turn restrictions that I can't change.

3. having the "e" to edit is already an advance from the previous version. I'd just suggest that pressing 'e' and opening the editing would pre-focus the city input field right away (or the street if city=none, or no focus if both=none of course)

6. isn't that the transparent arrow feature? just press "a" to make them transparent or opaque, and shift-z to switch between the arrows from the selected segment to the red arrows on the map. some say shift-? gives you a screen with the keyboard commands, but I can only see it on safari and not on firefox, as the ? in the Portuguese keyboard is already a shift-key-right-to-0 so I can't do a double-shift ;)


3. It'd even be better if selecting a segment automatically opens its properties and focuses on city or name as you suggest. Why click to select the segment then click or press "e"? why not just click to select the segment?

6. No it is not, or at least it should not be as I have not asked for it. "a" produces the same behavior, but I did not touch it. It happened when I QWed a node while editing and saved before picking individual turns to restrict. It also happened with the previous version once or twice.


3. I don't agree. I personally seldom need to change the city or street name (it should be a one time operation) so I'd hate if every time I'd select a segment the editor would focus on a input box and I'd no longer be able to do anything else as no other key shortcut would work. I like the 'e' shortcut a lot, just miss the auto-focus on city/street to be even faster.

6. I think I know what you mean. It's probably related to the "bug" where one selects the red arrows (shift-z now), then qw a node and the arrows won't go away most of the time, one needs to shift-z twice or some other refresh.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 593 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:48 am

davipt wrote:
mssusa wrote:Issues: (On Chrome, Chrome zoom %100, Windows 7 64bit, World server, All helper tools disabled except the live map navigation list).

1. I got road object/image mismatch after I played with it for some time. (...)
2. Geometry nodes are hard to spot.
3. There does need to be a faster way to access street names by just selecting the street without the need for "e" or clicking on "edit".
4. Hitting "Enter" on street name does not update it. I have to click on "Apply".
5. When naming segments of the same street by choosing from the nearby street name drop down list clicking on a names does not select it.
6. I sometimes get transparent turn restrictions that I can't change.


1 was already happening on the previous version. It works on my firefox, but my colleague on chrome was always seeing the roads besides the satellite images, so it's not a new bug (it may happen more now, I don't know)

2. +1, the new drag nodes and the new arrows when a segment is selected are hard to distinguish.

3. having the "e" to edit is already an advance from the previous version. I'd just suggest that pressing 'e' and opening the editing would pre-focus the city input field right away (or the street if city=none, or no focus if both=none of course)

4. works on firefox and safari, it may be a simple javascript fix. which browser?

5. also works on firefox. both clicking on the street with the mouse, as well as arrow down + enter. I do have a issue though. Let's assume there is a road named "N8" and a "N8-1". If I try to edit the street name and write "N" the drop down shows the two suggestions. Then I write 8 because I want N8, but because the first suggestion is N8-1, the input box changes automatically to N8-1. I basically need to write N8+ESC+Enter to dismiss the suggestion box and avoid saving the wrong name.

6. isn't that the transparent arrow feature? just press "a" to make them transparent or opaque, and shift-z to switch between the arrows from the selected segment to the red arrows on the map. some say shift-? gives you a screen with the keyboard commands, but I can only see it on safari and not on firefox, as the ? in the Portuguese keyboard is already a shift-key-right-to-0 so I can't do a double-shift ;)


3. It'd even be better if selecting a segment automatically opens its properties and focuses on city or name as you suggest. Why click to select the segment then click or press "e"? why not just click to select the segment?

4. Chrome 19.0.1084.56.

5. Same problem you describe + earlier problem I described on Chrome.

6. No it is not, or at least it should not be as I have not asked for it. "a" produces the same behavior, but I did not touch it. It happened when I QWed a node while editing and saved before picking individual turns to restrict. It also happened with the previous version once or twice.
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:30 am

Just adding a note to the UR mail as to why it was not identified and to contact someone on the forum for a better solution would not be any different from the current canned response they get anyway.
The receiver already knows who closed the UR.

Knowing who created the UR would help editors to PM the user, and encourage forum participation.
No email address or other contact/personal info is made visible. It's as good as sending a forum PM.

The biggest problem is that a lot of PMs goes nowhere but your outbox.
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby CrackedLCD » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:13 am

Holy crap, it works in Opera now. :shock:

And in keeping with a theme from a few posts ago, I'm at a paltry 1280x960 on my trusty old 4:3 monitor, and it looks just fine. The left info pane is definitely bigger but not a deal breaker. My only real complaint so far is the geo nodes need to be black. And square. ;)
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby fotrik » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:04 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:So waze please tell me the nickname of the reporter!!!

This is being looked into by management. Right now, the TOS/Privacy Policy doesn't allow it. It may be as easy as modifying that, but we're not sure.

There is no need to see the reporter name if there is a way how to communicate with the reporter directly in the editor at least as it was done in Cartouche.
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:57 am

mssusa wrote:Issues: (On Chrome, Chrome zoom %100, Windows 7 64bit, World server, All helper tools disabled except the live map navigation list).

1. I got road object/image mismatch after I played with it for some time. (...)
2. Geometry nodes are hard to spot.
3. There does need to be a faster way to access street names by just selecting the street without the need for "e" or clicking on "edit".
4. Hitting "Enter" on street name does not update it. I have to click on "Apply".
5. When naming segments of the same street by choosing from the nearby street name drop down list clicking on a names does not select it.
6. I sometimes get transparent turn restrictions that I can't change.


1 was already happening on the previous version. It works on my firefox, but my colleague on chrome was always seeing the roads besides the satellite images, so it's not a new bug (it may happen more now, I don't know)

2. +1, the new drag nodes and the new arrows when a segment is selected are hard to distinguish.

3. having the "e" to edit is already an advance from the previous version. I'd just suggest that pressing 'e' and opening the editing would pre-focus the city input field right away (or the street if city=none, or no focus if both=none of course)

4. works on firefox and safari, it may be a simple javascript fix. which browser?

5. also works on firefox. both clicking on the street with the mouse, as well as arrow down + enter. I do have a issue though. Let's assume there is a road named "N8" and a "N8-1". If I try to edit the street name and write "N" the drop down shows the two suggestions. Then I write 8 because I want N8, but because the first suggestion is N8-1, the input box changes automatically to N8-1. I basically need to write N8+ESC+Enter to dismiss the suggestion box and avoid saving the wrong name.

6. isn't that the transparent arrow feature? just press "a" to make them transparent or opaque, and shift-z to switch between the arrows from the selected segment to the red arrows on the map. some say shift-? gives you a screen with the keyboard commands, but I can only see it on safari and not on firefox, as the ? in the Portuguese keyboard is already a shift-key-right-to-0 so I can't do a double-shift ;)
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 593 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:00 am

davipt wrote:...
So I'd switch back my request from getting the UR's username visible to getting back some of the cartouche_old functionality, namely the two input boxes, one where the reporter can edit the text of the report (easier to write on the web than the client), and one where the editor can write back some text to the reporter, both inputs visible, so other editors can see the status of the report fix. No users need to be visible. A change on the editor box should generate an email to the reporter, similar to the "closed" email of today, so the reporter can go back to the report and add more data or whatever is needed to fix it.

I'd also like a feature to set reports to be visible only by owner, probably solving the privacy issue for some users. This because I use and abuse the reports to take notes, while driving, of each potential fix and relevant information. Then when I drive a new route it may happen that the route itself becomes drawn just with the reports. I believe this can be frustrating for other editors as most reports are cryptic (hard to write while driving) but enough for me to know what to fix.

PS: Also on the subject of notes, but it would be nice to have a "notes" field for each segments and landmarks where editors could leave notes to other editors stating why some change was done some way.


+1

The communication with the reporter can also be using the client. This way, editors can get in touch with reporters who report an ambiguous issue many times. If they keep reporting then they are still using Waze and this is the best chance to invite them to explain the issue. Just show correspondence from the editors in the client's inbox.

Another +1 for the segment note field. A simple short text field to store notes on why something is done this way or that. I have many issues to address and can't fix all the area surrounding a report. I'm in a starting community with no active editors and no base map. So, I sometimes just fix the issue at hand and lay the base for future work and move on. I'd like to leave a note to myself or any other editor who might pass by.
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users