Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:30 pm

anonymous0816 wrote:Well. German keyboard layout would also require a double-shift.
Please fix this. Either make it "?"-only or "Shift+h" for example for "help".

2nd: This function is not mentioned in the wiki.

Which function isn't mentioned in the wiki? German keyboard layout activator for the help window?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby anonymous0816 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:19 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
anonymous0816 wrote:Well. German keyboard layout would also require a double-shift.
Please fix this. Either make it "?"-only or "Shift+h" for example for "help".

2nd: This function is not mentioned in the wiki.

Which function isn't mentioned in the wiki? German keyboard layout activator for the help window?


I searched the Questionmark full text in http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Map_ ... d_Controls which was not successful.

EDIT: Found it in http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Waze ... _Shortcuts!
Doesn't work in FF16 on Windows.
Last edited by anonymous0816 on Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
anonymous0816
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby anonymous0816 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:23 pm

wimdelange wrote:
anonymous0816 wrote:
davipt wrote:6. ... some say shift-? gives you a screen with the keyboard commands, but I can only see it on safari and not on firefox, as the ? in the Portuguese keyboard is already a shift-key-right-to-0 so I can't do a double-shift ;)


Well. German keyboard layout would also require a double-shift.
Please fix this. Either make it "?"-only or "Shift+h" for example for "help".

Did you try it, the ?? For me the ? is already shifted, so shift-? sounds a little stupid, but it works when I type a ? (shift needed). I use the American keyboard where the ? is the shifted / key. Working with Chrome on windows.


You are right - I just wanted to show the dilemma. I use Firefox on Windows.
anonymous0816
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby maantje76 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:32 pm

Just logged out, and edits are gone....I thought this has been fixed?
Image
maantje76
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: BeNeLux
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 314 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:34 pm

maantje76 wrote:Just logged out, and edits are gone....I thought this has been fixed?


They are probably not gone (I hope). Here it's just slow (again) updating the tiles. Need to zoom in/out a lot to get them up to date. And be very careful to not get into the ghost segments war again. Or just stop editing and go for a coffee ;)
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2731
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 553 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:41 pm

Quick question on keyboard shortcuts: is there a way to insert a junction on an existing segment? The shortcut help screen doesn't seem to think so.
Image
mike-bronner
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:42 pm

mike-bronner wrote:Quick question on keyboard shortcuts: is there a way to insert a junction on an existing segment? The shortcut help screen doesn't seem to think so.


"yes". "i", draw a new segment ending at the point you want to split the other one, then delete the new segment ;)
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2731
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 553 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:56 pm

That's what I've been doing as well ... didn't Cartouche used to have a shortcut though? Just curious if they brought it back. :)
Image
mike-bronner
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby maantje76 » Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:02 pm

davipt wrote:They are probably not gone (I hope). Here it's just slow (again) updating the tiles. Need to zoom in/out a lot to get them up to date. And be very careful to not get into the ghost segments war again. Or just stop editing and go for a coffee ;)

Not meaning the sync problem ;)

The not saved edits are gone....Waze stated this was fixed, so after an automatic logout you're should be able to login again, without lose your unsaved edits.....It worked...but now it doesn't ...
Image
maantje76
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: BeNeLux
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 314 times

Re: WME major version released to production

Postby sjthespian » Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:29 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
sjthespian wrote:If I select an problem report that has a route and GPS trace then zoom the map, the directional arrows go away on the route and trace. The only way I have found to get them back is to close and reopen the report.

If you zoom out to a certain level, they have always disappeared (zoom level 4). But they do reappear for me when zooming back in (Chrome/Win7). If you can confirm they positively do not appear when zoomed in to level 5 or higher?


Odd, today they reappear when I zoom back in, yesterday they wouldn't reappear until I closed and reopened the report.
sjthespian
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DWTooker, Yahoo [Bot]