Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:20 pm

I submitted a report to support along with a link to our conversation.
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:52 pm

That makes sense. THANKS for the info!
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:54 am

Problem: Permalinks fail to select the 'selected' segment(s).

Recently, I have been noticing that often the posted permalink in a posting on the board fails to select the 'selected' segments. I even tried creating a permalink and found that it failed to select the 'selected' segment.

I tried removing ALL extensions. No joy.
I tried running a 'clean version' of google chrome inside a sandboxie sandbox. No joy.

I started 'trimming stuff' out of the permalink. JOY!

THIS PERMALINK WORKS:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat=36.5861&lon=-87.39253&layers=BFTFFTTTTTTTTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=68716037"

THIS ONE fails:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#?zoom=5&lat=36.5861&lon=-87.39253&layers=BFTFFTTTTTTTTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=68716037"

The difference? the "#" seems to be causing a problem, preventing actually selecting the segments but NOT preventing the other parameters from being used.

So, if you are having the same problem I have been having, try deleting the #.

I am NOT sure why this problem just started recently!

EDIT: Unfortunately, I just tried with another permalink and have the same problem but no # sign in the permalink and no solution so far!.
EDIT2: further experimentation: I got it to work:
This permalink I just generated by right clicking on permalink and copying link address:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lat=39.60382&lon=-75.95991&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=69086000,69086005,69086004,69086003,68347766,68214716"
Does NOT work.
This one:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/?&zoom=7&lat=39.60382&lon=-75.95991&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=69086000,69086005,69086004,69086003,68347766,68214716"
Does.
FURTHER TESTING shows it seems to be very intermittent and I don't know what works and what doesn't!!!!
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:03 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The # should not be in the permalink. Are you always getting the permalink from context-click/copy link the permalink? I've not seen it appear before.


Not sure. I just started noticing the fact that many of the 'unlock request' and 'update request' permalinks were NOT selecting the included segments, so I have been trying to figure out why.

Looking back at 'saved permalinks', I see three different 'styles' I have saved over the months.
"/#?%23%3F=&zoom=4&"
"/?zoom=8&"
"/#?zoom=4&"
ALL had been working until recently when I noticed that supplied permalinks were showing me the area but not the segments.
I am currently unable to tell if the failure to display the selected segments is something with the editor or with database failures to fetch.
From the fact that I have observed the problem with a 'clean copy' of chrome (no extensions) and the fact that the error seems to be intermittent, I am now suspecting database fetch problems.
Next step is going to be to 1) reboot my router (that fixed a problem earlier) and 2) look at error messages in the java console.

EDIT:
For example, the link in this message viewtopic.php?f=265&t=33174&p=304102#p303696
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#?%23%3F=&zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT&segments=68692666"
did not select the segment.
but, after trimming a couple of times,"https://www.waze.com/editor/?&zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT&segments=68692666"
did select the segment.
My first try: "https://www.waze.com/editor/#?&zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT&segments=68692666" did not select the segment.
(this just happened and I am NOT at home right now so my router is NOT guilty, in this case)
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:25 am

Timbones wrote:Technical explanation: Any parameters after a # symbol will not be sent to the server when requesting a URL. The '#name' concept is for the browser only, and is so that you can have links within a document. It's part of the HTML specification, not the HTTP protocol.

The permalink button simply adds the parameters on the end of the URL in the address bar. If there happens to be a # on the end of the address (for whatever reason), you end up with a link that won't work.

Also, the last example that had '?&' at the start of the parameters probably won't work either.

via mobile

The thing that puzzles me was that ALL the parameters EXCEPT the segments seemed to be accepted.
I get the right coordinates and zoom etc. Just not the 'selected segments' actually selected.
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:38 am

maantje76 wrote:What happens if you change the zoomlevel in the not working permalink?

I did see this happen with some permalinks also. Changing the zoomlevel in the link let the segments apear for me...I can't remember the exact levels that gave this problem, but think I can find it back...

changing the zoomlevel (or removing that parameter entirely so that F5/ctrl-R refresh will re-fetch the view) does NOT 'fix' the problem. The 'selected segment' is still not selected.
In fact, I can remove ALL the parameters except the 'segment=' and pan and zoom around, hitting 'refresh' without the segment(s) showing as selected UNLESS I 'fix' the 'problem' in the permalink by changing the 'style' (removing the '#' and other 'non essential' "junk") from the URL.

It appears to me that some change in WME's code "broke" the 'segment selector' for URLs that used to work fine. Those URLs still work for all the other parameters (zoom, lat, lon, layers.)
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:26 pm

Kuhlkatz wrote:
bz2012 wrote:It appears to me that some change in WME's code "broke" the 'segment selector' for URLs that used to work fine. Those URLs still work for all the other parameters (zoom, lat, lon, layers.)


It's simply because the URL is broken.
The editor URL only accepts parameters for supported WME objects, and in the standard format for URLs :
Code: Select all
 http://site/pages/?param_1=value_1&param_2=value_2{&param_n=value_n}

The "...#?%23%3F=&zoom=6..." translates to "...#?#?=&zoom=6..." when the URL is 'decoded' which does not look good. The browser will attempt to find a local anchor tag on the page named according to what follows the "#" sign , which it cannot as it does not exist.

but it decodes all but "segment=xxxxxxx,xxxxxxx".
Does it fail to decode 'the LAST' &parameter='?
Does this mean it has ALWAYS done this? From the fact that I have been saving various permalinks for quite some time and only noticed that they fail to select the segments NOW indicate that I have been oblivious to something that has been happening for a long time or that something has changed with the way the scripting handles the URL?
Has google chrome changed the way it passes parameters?
Don't all scripting languages have a way of fetching the whole URL line? Remember, WME is NOT written in HTML, most of it seems to be javascript.
Do a control-U to view the code.
WME keeps changing, sometimes without notice, so that is what I first suspected.
I have not 'dug into the code' to see what might be the problem with the parameter passing, but that would be where I would start troubleshooting if I wanted to spend time playing with the code rather than fixing the roads.


Has anybody actually bothered asking Rftyree, the OP that provided the permalink what browser and 'addons' he/she is using? Surely all users will have permalinks like this on the NA server if WME is broken.

I notice that when I grab a permalink (and I almost always do it the same way, by right clicking on the words and copying the link and then pasting it into a text editor so I can save it for later double checking) that the format varies from time to time. I have not found a pattern to the variations yet.
It is likely not WME that screws up the permalink, but something that either overwrites the original WME permalink or provides a 'Permalink' option of it's own, where the code screws it up.

It could even be a screwed browser shortcut :
If I start a blank page and type in the URL "https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#", WME opens up fine and my Permalink is then :
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#?zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTTFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT"
which is also screwed, and obviously not WME's fault. It simply uses the main URL for the page, which it rightfully expects to end in /editor/.

Good information but I don't usually type the url that way.
You should rather ask why this boardwalk is connected to the road ?

I find railroad and walking trails connected to roads all the time. Many were created by 'admin' long ago and have never been edited. Just like I find 'single node loops' created by admin, long ago and 'wrong state roads' created by admin. Stuff like that happens. When I find them, I fix them.
Sometimes I miss something or make a mistake, but from the number of mistakes I find, I think I am 'improving things more than messing them up.' I hope so.
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:22 pm

Possible fix for:
"Highlighted segment has been extended beyond the allowed distance"

I was putting in a rail line (people insist on riding with waze turned on and that generates 'missing road' errors).
I had dragged one end of the new segment for a long distance and saved.
Went back and dragged the other end.
Tried to save.
Got the dreaded error message.
Decided, rather than undo until it would accept, to try something else.
I joined a temporary segment to the segment I had been extending.
WME allowed me to save!
Delete the temp segment and node and saved some work!
May be a 'one time thing' and it may never work again, on the other hand, try it, it doesn't cost anything.
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby calli84 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:05 pm

stijnley wrote:Since the new update I'm experiencing some problems when I want to edit. When zoomed in, I select a street that I want to edit. Unfortunately the left editor area doesn't say "one segment selected" (including all editable information) like it should be. It keeps saying "hello stijnley, you are level 1 editor......."

When I zoom out and select the same street, I can edit a few minutes after zooming back in. But the problem keeps coming back when selecting a nearby street.


I have the same problem. So I have to zoom in and out serveral times and then I can select some streets.
Image
Area Manager: Germany / North RP • client on phone: waze 3.5.1.0 on iOS 6.0.1
calli84
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby calli84 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:43 pm

Okay, so than we could hope that the servers are stabilizing in the next time. And I thought that's only on the INTL. :oops:

But: What do you mean about the Chrome scripts? I use the Chronium browser on Ubuntu but I don't have any addons or something like that (at least I'm not aware of that)

Greetings
Calli
Image
Area Manager: Germany / North RP • client on phone: waze 3.5.1.0 on iOS 6.0.1
calli84
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, MsDizzie, texaspetey1