Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby gerben » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:27 pm

His problem is the other way around ;)
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4778
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:27 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:"currently highlighted item." <-- this is the problem, the first item is auto-highlighted all the time and it shouldn't. I've given my example before - N8 and N8-1, I can't write N8 anymore because it always changes to N8-1 unless I write N8 and escape and enter really quickly.

Hmm. In Chrome, as soon as I enter characters beyond or not matching any items nearby, the auto-fill menu disappears.

For example, I just created a segment and went to name it "US Hwy 26 W" Now, nearby is "US Hwy 26" but without any cardinal direction. As soon as I hit spacebar after "26" the auto-fill of "US Hwy 26" disappeared and didn't interfere.


Sure, the problem is the other way around. Try to set a segment to "US Hwy 26" without the editor saving it as "US Hwy 26 W" by mistake and without using the escape key :P
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 547 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:34 pm

gerben wrote:His problem is the other way around ;)

Time for me to take a nap.

Yeah, so I just tap escape. Not sure about the "quickly" part as it just stays there once I hit Esc. Or I just click Apply. But, Esc then tab 4 times gets you to Apply if we're staying close to the keys.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.2.1 | Waze v4.2b
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23422
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 4512 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby wifeypoo » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:37 pm

One issue I have come across thus far is when I have clicked on a problem/request to update, the zoom in plus on the left is disabled. I have to close the drop down at the top of the screen to use the zoom in function. I'm using Chrome

Another thing that would be AMAZING (and I'm secretly hoping I can already do this and just don't know it yet...) is select an entire street and be able to click w to enable all turns at the junctions. I am in the process of dang near re-doing an entire city due to the unknown/one way roads that are in reality two way roads enabling all junctions in-between. If there is a way to enable these junctions without having to click on each one individually and then hitting w, PLEASE let me know :)

I'm not sure if this was due to the new editor or not, I got this sometimes with the old editor but never for all four streets at the junction. But I added a road and had to completely disconnect all roads (before I drew the road there were three connecting fine) then re-connect one by one to have them snap together. Before i would just have to move one and then try again and it would work. But i had to completely get rid of the junction then reconnect then reassign the turns to get it to work.

other than that the new editor is beautiful :)
wifeypoo
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:05 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:48 pm

wifeypoo wrote:One issue I have come across thus far is when I have clicked on a problem/request to update, the zoom in plus on the left is disabled. I have to close the drop down at the top of the screen to use the zoom in function. I'm using Chrome

That one is known, reported during the beta. We were told it would be fixed. It wasn't. It's not just the zoom+ button, but there is a band all the way across the map below the Map Problem or Update Request banner which is unclickable.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.2.1 | Waze v4.2b
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23422
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 4512 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby wifeypoo » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:54 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:That one is known, reported during the beta. We were told it would be fixed. It wasn't. It's not just the zoom+ button, but there is a band all the way across the map below the Map Problem or Update Request banner which is unclickable.

Yes I have noticed the patchy Bing aerials as well :(
wifeypoo
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:05 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:57 pm

wifeypoo wrote:Another thing (...) to click w to enable all turns at the junctions. (...)


Please always do "q" then "w". "w" will only turn reds into greens, but won't turn any possible existing soft greens into hard greens, nor clear up any u-turn old flags. The highlights extension is great to detect the softs and u-turns. I've patched it myself to show *all* u-turns (magenta and red segments) and optionally all soft turns (yellow segments), and honestly I'm not sharing the fix with anyone because the view is scary as hell. It made me already more convinced that drawing whatever is on the satellite images is *bad bad* idea, so no more Y/triangles on roundabouts, no more two parallel segments if less than 10m or there isn't a major reason for that (like a left turn lane in the middle), no more complicated stuff. And lock the roundabouts. I'm going crazy with them. How can a locked roundabout stop being a roundabout, or change a segment from a-b to b-a and stop giving the right instructions. </rant> ;)
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 547 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby invented » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:01 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
gerben wrote:His problem is the other way around ;)

Time for me to take a nap.

Yeah, so I just tap escape. Not sure about the "quickly" part as it just stays there once I hit Esc. Or I just click Apply. But, Esc then tab 4 times gets you to Apply if we're staying close to the keys.

Whereas before, it was 2 keystrokes, now it's 5.
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby invented » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:02 am

wifeypoo wrote:
Another thing that would be AMAZING (and I'm secretly hoping I can already do this and just don't know it yet...) is select an entire street and be able to click w to enable all turns at the junctions. I am in the process of dang near re-doing an entire city due to the unknown/one way roads that are in reality two way roads enabling all junctions in-between. If there is a way to enable these junctions without having to click on each one individually and then hitting w, PLEASE let me know :)


"Suppress turn restrictions" (or whatever it was called) on the last WME script would have worked, but of course that's broken now.
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bgodette » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:32 am

skbun wrote:http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Map_Editor_Interface_and_Controls#Segment_Edit_Detail:

An alternate name street must also have the same city as the primary segment. (My emphasis added)
So there's no Street anywhere in the world that belongs to two cities or a city with two official names. Somehow I doubt that.

The automatic default for an alternate street's city *should* be the same as the primary street ID, but there definitely should be the ability to change it.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3343
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 457 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alig2605