Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:53 am

xteejx wrote:Best option here is to ignore those people that spout crap thinking they know what things are.
Trust those with proper signatures and/or post counts.

If you create a road from nowhere to the dead end, then delete the new road, it should result in a terminated end (junction node). The reason this is needed is for navigation as waze gets confused if it thinks it's facing towards the dead end, and will give the "proceed to highlighted route" thing. Have also seen it play with TTS (maybe another issue), and starts a route far from your location (again, maybe a local issue).


I'm pretty sure there was previous hot discussions that created this kind of finger pointing, but from what I've read here I would prefer people being more calm and just explaining the things like happened on the last posts, because not everyone knows everything. As I said, even I after one year and 200K map edits had no idea about these unterminated roads - I always wondered why the option on the highlights script - and even after reading this conversation I first assumed it would be a limited number of buggy cases - like the u-turn and reverse stuff - and not for every single road I see on my map.

In other words, if this is not properly communicated to the editors (meaning I'll update our local wiki asap), all existing dead-end basemap or newly created roads will be unterminated unless the editor explicitly does an action that is quite hard to explain (create a road and delete it just for the sake of having a dot at the end).

I now know why a friend of mine was always complaining that his route would always start from a nearby road, or even force him to go up a stairway (the stairway all red arrows, just stopped routing there when we fully disconnected this stairway) - his home road is unterminated!
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:42 am

xtago wrote:
wine4sure wrote:Dead ends need to be terminated in a node otherwise if you start a journey on them you get "proceed to highlighted route". Not sure what happens if you attempt to navigate to an unterminated dead end.


I don't see a problem with that myself, you have to go to the intersection anyway, I don't see what the point is of trying top start the navigation half way through the segment of a dead end road when you need top head towards the junction anyway.


Here is the problem: link.

If my friend leaves home at the rightmost end of "Rua da Portela", which is unterminated, waze always started him from "Rua 18" above, nearby the fake cross with "Rua da Quinta da Fonte". And this is not a case of bad GPS, as we've tried waiting and checking with other apps that he was at the right place and with a low gps error.

I think going back home would take him to his street though, so it may only affect the start point.

So now we know why it failed! thank you!
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:46 pm

dgtlrift wrote:Not sure if this is the right spot, but I believe I have found a bug with the map editor. -DG

permalink?
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:09 pm

and the intl editor is down right now, can't even login :(

update: temporary glitch only, working now!
Last edited by davipt on Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:29 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:and the intl editor is down right now, can't even login :(

It's supposed to be isn't it?


Was it announced anywhere? Status mentions 5-6am, it's been working at least since 10am and it's 2pm now ;)
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:30 pm

new WME keyboard shortcuts, "[None] Select entire street" WTH is a none?
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:58 pm

mike-bronner wrote:
davipt wrote:new WME keyboard shortcuts, "[None] Select entire street" WTH is a none?

It's the invisible button between ESC and F1 :)


I hope it's not some windows key I haven't on my Mac :lol:
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:12 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:new WME keyboard shortcuts, "[None] Select entire street" WTH is a none?

It means there is no shortcut assigned. (Or were you asking this jokingly?) What other word do you think would make more sense here and be less confusing?

The default is Ctrl+a, per the keyboard shortcuts list in the editor manual which I'm sure you've referenced already. You must have Ctrl+a assigned to something else?


It was a short bug report stating that the new WME "?" help dialogue is not consistent with its own key shortcuts, as it states "ctrl-a" to enable area managers - which is really "shift-a" (*), and "ctrl-a" is indeed used to select all segments, but funnily stated as none.

(*) which is a shame, as we're certainly already hardcoded to use the shift-a to toggle the connectivity arrows, which is now shift-z. I'm still constantly looking at the map and thinking "where are my arrows? and why is everything purple? oh right, z, not a!"

PS: suggestion: could we instead use shift-m to enable "area *M*anagers" and leave the A/shift-A/S keys as before?
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:22 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:
davipt wrote:PS: suggestion: could we instead use shift-m to enable "area *M*anagers" and leave the A/shift-A/S keys as before?

You can redefine them. Click on what you want to change in the help list, then press the key stroke you want. I have shift-m = managers and shift-a = arrows myself :)


blim you just saved my life! who would have guessed it was possible to change the shortcuts? Haven't seen that anywhere yet.

Now I just need to *change* the shortcut key to *open* the shortcut keys dialogue on firefox to be able to *change my shortcuts* :oops: (in several european keyboard, the "?" is already shift-something, so shift-? does works on safari and opera but not firefox)
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:00 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:blim you just saved my life! who would have guessed it was possible to change the shortcuts? Haven't seen that anywhere yet.

I'm going to be a pest and say, "It's been in the keyboard shortcuts documentation for quite some time."


I can't know, I have no shortcuts documentation access with my main waze editing browser :P:P:P:P

(is it also on the wiki?)
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 609 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users