Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:11 pm

Mike-1323 wrote:Something that I've come across that I consider a bug (I'm aware others may disagree). When there's a road with the same name that crosses a city boundary. With everything named correctly and both segments selected WME returns 'No common street, No common city.' While I agree that there is not a common city, the street name is the same on each segment; there IS a common street. It's as if once there's not a common city then street name comparison doesn't even occur because there's no way to have the same street cross city borders.


I personally would consider it a regression because the previous WME would tell us the match on city and/or street.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:17 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:Clear UR (either Solved or Not Identified), zoom all the way out, and the pin disappears... The pins always used to stay until the page was refreshed (F5/Permalink/Refresh/etc)... The pins continue the old behavior in the Beta...

If you have JNF or URO installed, verify this behavior with them disabled. I know JNF hides the "show all connectivity arrows" when they are modified, so perhaps something like URO is also forcing the "closed" URs to be hidden right away too. (In fact, URO has checkboxes for this specifically.)


I have URO disabled (it doesn't work for me, but also doesn't crash WME like the extended tools) and I see the same behaviour. For me this is a feature I'm quite liking, not a bug. A bug is letting the green/white icon around and sometimes with panning or zooming it becomes temporarily yellow, one clicks on solved again, change some stuff and then the save fails because once solved it can't be reopened. So I'm glad they go away without the need of a restart or the URO scripts.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:02 pm

skbun wrote:At this point, it'd surely be less taxing on the database server than having to scroll around, zooming in and out, querying thousands of segments with the highlighting script -- and even then not finding it. ;)


And after all that work, six months later the city area layer haven't yet been updated and people still complain about a damn city name on the wrong segment on the wrong place that makes that small city become more prominent than, and even over, Lisbon, the capital of Portugal ;) we all hate that city these days, it's everywhere we drive.

At a certain point I just gave up and drawn "other" landmarks over the cities, first to use the extensions scripts to do a mass city set, but just kept them around.

Maybe it's better to forget the automatically city-areas and just let the editors draw them out, with a special landmark with a different colour than most other landmarks - the only disadvantage right now, every landmark not park/green or gas mostly blends with the city area :(
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:00 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:blim you just saved my life! who would have guessed it was possible to change the shortcuts? Haven't seen that anywhere yet.

I'm going to be a pest and say, "It's been in the keyboard shortcuts documentation for quite some time."


I can't know, I have no shortcuts documentation access with my main waze editing browser :P:P:P:P

(is it also on the wiki?)
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:22 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:
davipt wrote:PS: suggestion: could we instead use shift-m to enable "area *M*anagers" and leave the A/shift-A/S keys as before?

You can redefine them. Click on what you want to change in the help list, then press the key stroke you want. I have shift-m = managers and shift-a = arrows myself :)


blim you just saved my life! who would have guessed it was possible to change the shortcuts? Haven't seen that anywhere yet.

Now I just need to *change* the shortcut key to *open* the shortcut keys dialogue on firefox to be able to *change my shortcuts* :oops: (in several european keyboard, the "?" is already shift-something, so shift-? does works on safari and opera but not firefox)
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:12 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:new WME keyboard shortcuts, "[None] Select entire street" WTH is a none?

It means there is no shortcut assigned. (Or were you asking this jokingly?) What other word do you think would make more sense here and be less confusing?

The default is Ctrl+a, per the keyboard shortcuts list in the editor manual which I'm sure you've referenced already. You must have Ctrl+a assigned to something else?


It was a short bug report stating that the new WME "?" help dialogue is not consistent with its own key shortcuts, as it states "ctrl-a" to enable area managers - which is really "shift-a" (*), and "ctrl-a" is indeed used to select all segments, but funnily stated as none.

(*) which is a shame, as we're certainly already hardcoded to use the shift-a to toggle the connectivity arrows, which is now shift-z. I'm still constantly looking at the map and thinking "where are my arrows? and why is everything purple? oh right, z, not a!"

PS: suggestion: could we instead use shift-m to enable "area *M*anagers" and leave the A/shift-A/S keys as before?
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:58 pm

mike-bronner wrote:
davipt wrote:new WME keyboard shortcuts, "[None] Select entire street" WTH is a none?

It's the invisible button between ESC and F1 :)


I hope it's not some windows key I haven't on my Mac :lol:
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:30 pm

new WME keyboard shortcuts, "[None] Select entire street" WTH is a none?
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:29 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:and the intl editor is down right now, can't even login :(

It's supposed to be isn't it?


Was it announced anywhere? Status mentions 5-6am, it's been working at least since 10am and it's 2pm now ;)
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:09 pm

and the intl editor is down right now, can't even login :(

update: temporary glitch only, working now!
Last edited by davipt on Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 288 times
Been thanked: 611 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FHDumont