Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Fabione72 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:34 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
Fabione72 wrote:Hi,

I've got a boring editing problem.

I noticed a map error while driving on a road, and I'd like to fix it.

When I enter into the editing screen, I verified that, even if the whole road area is available for editing (that's very close to my last drives), the system says I'm not enable to edit it...

I checked the tutorial, I should be able to do it...

any suggestion? is that my problem or some kind of bug?

I'm using Chrome 22.0.1229.94 m

Ciao


Is the segment you're trying to edit locked by a higher level user? If you're trying to edit a major highway or complicated junction, it's common practice to lock these at a high level to prevent inexperienced editors from making changes.

Either way, you may want to post a permalink in the update requests forum along with the general location and a brief description and someone can try to help you out.


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.


No, that's a primary road (not a major highway)
I'm trying to deny the possibility to turn south, into a secondary road (recently blocked to non-residential traffic).

Here it is the permalink:
https://it.waze.com/editor/?lon=9.57452 ... s=83328752

Attached a screenshot. The green road with arrow is the one I'm driving on.
Even if it is into my driving area (confirmed by the tool), you can see on the left that I'm not enabled to edit :\

thanks for hints
Attachments
Screenshot_2.jpg
Screenshot_2.jpg (37.13 KiB) Viewed 507 times
Fabione72
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

No way to correct segments on editable areas

Postby Fabione72 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:58 pm

Hi,

I've got a boring editing problem.

I noticed a map error while driving on a road, and I'd like to fix it.

When I enter into the editing screen, I verified that, even if the whole road area is available for editing (that's very close to my last drives), the system says I'm not enable to edit it...

I checked the tutorial, I should be able to do it...

any suggestion? is that my problem or some kind of bug?

I'm using Chrome 22.0.1229.94 m

Ciao
Fabione72
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby enhket » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:29 pm

looks promising!! kinda slow, but i guess it will get better :ugeek:

ps: the old editor should still be available for new editors, im afraid this one may be hard to understand for newcomers
Image
Christopher C. Enhket
Languages: Español, English, Français, Português.
Coordinator, Beta editor/Editing expert, Campeón.
Communities established: 8
enhket
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 7658
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 1064 times
Been thanked: 2277 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby eerik46 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:35 am

@Dave2084

Just tried. I get Lincoln, UK & Lincoln, NZ.
eerik46
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby dmcconachie » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:34 am

mssusa wrote:F11 is even much better

I don't want my window full screen though.

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 7193
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby dmcconachie » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:19 am

wimdelange wrote:In the design of the UI there is not much consideration for the smaller screens. When I use my laptop with a screen of 1366x768 there is not much room for the map. All goes to the information on the streets and when I click on a issue on the map, it uses way too much space:
Image 1_1.jpg

I have the same size resolution and get by just fine. Hit Shift + F for a little more headroom

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 7193
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:36 pm

enhket wrote:looks promising!! kinda slow, but i guess it will get better :ugeek:

ps: the old editor should still be available for new editors, im afraid this one may be hard to understand for newcomers

Why? Then they have to learn twice. Best just learn on the new version which is fairly intuitive.

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 7193
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:28 pm

therubinator wrote:
dmcconachie wrote:You're confusing (understandably) editor rank with cones. As an Area Manager you would have been rank 2 (which would have shown as 4 cones in the editor.


Okay, got it. This Editing Ranks page needs an update from somebody perhaps.

Waze were due to harmonize the ranks, we were waiting to see how. I'm still not convinced its done yet!

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 7193
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:20 pm

You're confusing (understandably) editor rank with cones. As an Area Manager you would have been rank 2 (which would have shown as 4 cones in the editor.

As a Country Manager I am rank 4 in the editor, 6 cones under the old system, 5 cones in the new system.

Confusing indeed but rest assured nothing has really changed.

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 7193
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 310 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:12 pm

therubinator wrote:Hoping this isn't just me, but I've just found that (amusingly) the AM layer shows me watermarked in my area but the cones/editor-level have now demoted me to Level 3 from a Level 4.

Read the very first post in this thread!

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 7193
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 310 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: theasm, Tigamoro