Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby dmcconachie » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:34 am

mssusa wrote:F11 is even much better

I don't want my window full screen though.

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6019
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby doomedtx » Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:09 am

Apologies if this is a double-post. I didn't see this addressed earlier. Alternate street names have some minor annoyances for me: 1) They can't be edited, so to correct a spelling error or add a city I have to delete the existing name and then retype it. 2) If I select multiple segments and one segment has an alt name, there's no way to apply that to all the segments. If I want the name applied, I have to delete it and retype it. Then it will apply to all segments.

I'm mostly in the habit of not using alt names since we haven't been able to for a while, but I think it's really useful. For example, when more than one highway shares the same stretch of road or when a US Hwy enters a town and becomes Main St for a while.
ImageImage
AM for Arkansas
doomedtx
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:33 pm

I'm glad I'm not the only one who has problems with selecting road segments on the WME. The only way to "fix" it is to deselect the road segment, zoom all of the out, and zoom all of the way back in to the section you're editing and hope the segment can be changed when you select it again.

Also, I thought it was a conflict with WME Color Highlights script but it's definitely the server causing these issues.
Image
Area manager: SWFL (Ft. Myers, North Fort Myers, Cape Coral, North Naples)
Waze 3.5 | LG Motion 4G | Android 4.0.4
douglasr007
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:13 pm

I use Firefox and Chrome and the editor seems more picky on Firefox than Chrome when choosing road segments.
Image
Area manager: SWFL (Ft. Myers, North Fort Myers, Cape Coral, North Naples)
Waze 3.5 | LG Motion 4G | Android 4.0.4
douglasr007
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby eerik46 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:35 am

@Dave2084

Just tried. I get Lincoln, UK & Lincoln, NZ.
eerik46
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby enhket » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:29 pm

looks promising!! kinda slow, but i guess it will get better :ugeek:

ps: the old editor should still be available for new editors, im afraid this one may be hard to understand for newcomers
Image
Christopher Enhket
Languages: Español, English, Français, Português.
Coordinator, Beta editor/Editing expert, Campeón.
Communities established: 8
enhket
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2906
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: RN: Dominican Republic
Has thanked: 563 times
Been thanked: 1035 times

No way to correct segments on editable areas

Postby Fabione72 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:58 pm

Hi,

I've got a boring editing problem.

I noticed a map error while driving on a road, and I'd like to fix it.

When I enter into the editing screen, I verified that, even if the whole road area is available for editing (that's very close to my last drives), the system says I'm not enable to edit it...

I checked the tutorial, I should be able to do it...

any suggestion? is that my problem or some kind of bug?

I'm using Chrome 22.0.1229.94 m

Ciao
Fabione72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Fabione72 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:34 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
Fabione72 wrote:Hi,

I've got a boring editing problem.

I noticed a map error while driving on a road, and I'd like to fix it.

When I enter into the editing screen, I verified that, even if the whole road area is available for editing (that's very close to my last drives), the system says I'm not enable to edit it...

I checked the tutorial, I should be able to do it...

any suggestion? is that my problem or some kind of bug?

I'm using Chrome 22.0.1229.94 m

Ciao


Is the segment you're trying to edit locked by a higher level user? If you're trying to edit a major highway or complicated junction, it's common practice to lock these at a high level to prevent inexperienced editors from making changes.

Either way, you may want to post a permalink in the update requests forum along with the general location and a brief description and someone can try to help you out.


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.


No, that's a primary road (not a major highway)
I'm trying to deny the possibility to turn south, into a secondary road (recently blocked to non-residential traffic).

Here it is the permalink:
https://it.waze.com/editor/?lon=9.57452 ... s=83328752

Attached a screenshot. The green road with arrow is the one I'm driving on.
Even if it is into my driving area (confirmed by the tool), you can see on the left that I'm not enabled to edit :\

thanks for hints
Attachments
Screenshot_2.jpg
Screenshot_2.jpg (37.13 KiB) Viewed 246 times
Fabione72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Fabione72 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:28 pm

Fabione72 wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:
Fabione72 wrote:Hi,

I've got a boring editing problem.

I noticed a map error while driving on a road, and I'd like to fix it.

When I enter into the editing screen, I verified that, even if the whole road area is available for editing (that's very close to my last drives), the system says I'm not enable to edit it...

I checked the tutorial, I should be able to do it...

any suggestion? is that my problem or some kind of bug?

I'm using Chrome 22.0.1229.94 m

Ciao


Is the segment you're trying to edit locked by a higher level user? If you're trying to edit a major highway or complicated junction, it's common practice to lock these at a high level to prevent inexperienced editors from making changes.

Either way, you may want to post a permalink in the update requests forum along with the general location and a brief description and someone can try to help you out.


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.


No, that's a primary road (not a major highway)
I'm trying to deny the possibility to turn south, into a secondary road (recently blocked to non-residential traffic).

Here it is the permalink:
https://it.waze.com/editor/?lon=9.57452 ... s=83328752

Attached a screenshot. The green road with arrow is the one I'm driving on.
Even if it is into my driving area (confirmed by the tool), you can see on the left that I'm not enabled to edit :\

thanks for hints


Just realized those segments are unlocked (lock box is unchecked). OK, I'm definitively lost... I identified many other (even bigger) errors I cannot fix due to same reason... :cry:
Fabione72
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby fotrik » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:53 pm

I appreciate the great work you have done, it's a notable improvement.

Only two remarks for now:

* The font on the side panel is much bigger now and too big to my feeling. It causes, that not all items can fit on a netbook anymore. (Yes, I can fix it for me by local page changes in my browser.)

* Worse is that the new house number system is not usefull when the house numbering is not sequential. E.g. in almost all czech villages but also older parts of many czech cities the numbering is not sequential not only within a segment but also not within a single street. In these villages and city parts the house number is unique in the whole village according to when the house was built. You can have number 125 on one side and 126 on the other side kilometers away on another street. I am pretty sure that this exists also in other countries and your new numbering system cannot support it.

BTW, I spent many weekends a year ago to number more than 6.000 houses around me, most of them are in the "random" numbered system. Do I understand that this work is gone? :(
ImageImage
fotrik
 
Posts: 1724
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 92 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kamsal