Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:57 pm

xtago wrote:I don't see a problem with that myself, you have to go to the intersection anyway, I don't see what the point is of trying top start the navigation half way through the segment of a dead end road when you need top head towards the junction anyway.


This is a huge problem because an unterminated dead-end can be miles long. The highlighted route may not be in sight. Remember, this is a navigation app. It tells you where to go. "Proceed to Highlighted Route" is never acceptable and immediately signals that something is wrong with the map.

The unterminated dead end problem is documented in the Wiki and discussed throughout the forums.

xtago wrote:Also you do know that if you move the end of a segment that has a junction the editor automatically removes the junction, you can only keep the junction if you move the junction itself.2


This only happens if you select the segment before you move the end. If you select the end node without selecting the segment, you can move it around without losing the end node.



---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby japri » Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:59 pm

I lost my editable region that drove three days ago... when i started using this new map editor.

How Come? :roll:
japri
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:49 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jab_au » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:51 am

Road layer is not currently showing, is selectable however. (INTL)
Image Image
Twitter: @jab_au
jab_au
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:00 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby iron_eric » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:24 am

Silly me, another one who forgot the keyboard shortcut!

Thanks :)
iron_eric
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:27 pm
Location: Bolton, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby iron_eric » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:19 am

Is it possible to add a shortcut to edit street name. Its click on the segment, then click on edit, then on the check box, then it allows you to edit the street name!
iron_eric
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:27 pm
Location: Bolton, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby invented » Sat Nov 17, 2012 6:48 am

Often, segment selection just fails and I have to hit Permalink to refresh it.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby invented » Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:15 am

jasonh300 wrote:
numbtrip wrote:So annoying it's soured the editing, and its also much too fiddly to try and select a road that is almost horizontal on the map, I have to keep adjusting my mouse precision just to try and select 1 segment.


This is a Firefox bug. Use Chrome.

If you're having loading issues on the NA server, try resetting your Cable/DSL modem. There hasn't been any type of editor outage this weekend. Not sure about the International server.

It wouldn't be an issue with a cable modem, it's just a dumb bridge. Maybe with something doing NAT like your router. Perhaps the user that reported success was using a combined modem/router thing.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby invented » Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:30 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
mike-bronner wrote:If we're speaking of graphically drawing things out, the browser is already doing this. The server just sends the raw data about the objects (coordinates, basically), then the browser renders everything through SVG data. The selectable road object is actually separate from the road that you see. It is an invisible vector object that gets manipulated as you select it or hover over it.
Because all objects are essentially data, and not graphics, we can create nifty add-ons, like timbones' color hightlights script, that can manipulate segments. :)
The only graphics that the server servers up is the Bing imagery, which comes from Bing servers, so it doesn't present an additional load on the Waze servers.

We are saying the same thing I think. What we see visually for the road layer, is a png, aligned with the actual SVG layer. What I'd like to see is the SVG layer only to be loaded, and have the browser draw the actual visible layer too.

In terms of the browser save causing a tile refresh, that is a capability of the current infrastructure and was one of the major features of the upgrade the US got a few months ago, and the World got this past week.

However, we do not want it to happen this quickly, at least, not so the app can download it right away or by default. Can you imagine a tile being saved 20 times in 5 minutes and the app downloading the tile 20 times? That would crush both the infrastrucutre network bandwidth and kill our data plan limits. :) It may be able to do that, but before we do, we need better, more restrictive default app tile download behavior.
the app doesn't even update a tile until you route over it so it's pretty moot.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby invented » Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:28 am

davipt wrote:
invented wrote: I have to scroll down now to hit the 'Select All Segments'


Ctrl-a or cmd-a is your friend.

For the scrolling and tab issues just use Firefox (or Safari) instead of chrome for a while ;)

Firefox is a dog on my work laptop for some reason. It renders things weirdly.

For some reason also, my left hand isn't on the keyboard when needing to hit "Select All Segments". I will have to revise my editing strategy when I'm "in the zone".

Oh and whose idea was it to make Shift+A into Shift+Z ?!
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby invented » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:01 pm

I'm just finding it much more work to do the same thing as the old WME. I have to scroll down now to hit the 'Select All Segments', I have to click/cancel the dropdown lists constantly (can't tab anymore!)... it just seems slower.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Rolando-Jelves