Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Machete808 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:45 pm

A belated thank you for the "play" mode. It enabled me to screw around with a problem that was "above my pay grade" and find what the problem was, and then find someone who could fix it for real. Got me past the fear of making things worse. (Which I'm sure I've accomplished, on more than one occasion.)
Machete808
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 229 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:48 pm

GizmoGuy411 wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:...
EDIT: Is URO the Overview script that puts them on the livemap?


It is this: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29054&hilit=UROverview

Actually, it's not. This is the droid your are looking for --> viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29381
(The first one gives you popups for URs in the editor, the second adds UR markers to the Livemap)
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6750
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 988 times
Been thanked: 2678 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby GizmoGuy411 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:24 pm

AndyPoms wrote:...
EDIT: Is URO the Overview script that puts them on the livemap?


It is this:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29054&hilit=UROverview
GizmoGuy411
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 am
Location: NW Ohio, SE Michigan, NW Indiana tri-state area
Has thanked: 684 times
Been thanked: 451 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:39 pm

fotrik wrote:OK, maybe I missed something but still don't see why it's a bug of the browser and not the editor.


It may be a bug in the editor, but since the editor is specifically written for Chrome, they probably aren't even looking at it. I encountered it when I first started editing and reluctantly switched to Chrome, and have never had a problem since. I use Chrome only for editing, so I don't have it loaded up with bookmarks or plugins that aren't related to editing or the forums.

The screen zoom level (Ctrl-0) is hugely important, regardless of what browser you're using because it screws up the zoom between what you see and where you click. That solves another 10% of the complaints. Now there's a potential issue with older routers choking on too many connections...caused by the editor, but it won't have any effect on people with newer or better equipment.

I can also see a huge difference in performance between my home computer, which is 8+ years old and only has 1 GB of RAM, and my work computer which is brand new and has 4 GB and a faster processor.

I run XP on both home and work machines...there's now 2 newer Microsoft OS's out there that may or may not be bug-ridden, plus a number of 3rd party Linux OSs and of course Macs.

There are so many variables, and certain combinations work perfectly and some may not work at all.

The one thing we know for certain is that the horizontal selection bug appears in Firefox.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Mike-1323 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:32 pm

fotrik wrote:OK, maybe I missed something but still don't see why it's a bug of the browser and not the editor.

I'm not an expert on cross-platform coding, but it may be that FF is not implementing something in a standard way. Meaning that code could be written to a cross-platform standard and work correctly on two or three browsers and fail on FF because of the way FF implements the code. I'm not saying that is whats happening, but that's a scenario that makes the behavior a browser bug (or feature depending on your point of view). That scenario is why IE is somewhat off on its own for website compatibility, it's been very poor (non-standard) at implementing standards.

The horizontal segment issue has been around long enough that there should be a workaround in place, especially with the release of the new version of the editor. So I guess either they can't figure out why the behavior is the way it is or can't figure out how to correct it.
Mike-1323
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: Lorton, Va
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby fotrik » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:14 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
fotrik wrote:Jason, if something is wrong in one browser and working in another one, it doesn't automatically mean, that it's fault of the browser. If you don't have an evidence for your declaration, please never write such a dumb things.


The horizontal selection bug is well documented throughout the forums. It happens in Firefox. I've never seen any mention of the horizonal selection bug in Chrome. It's a Firefox issue.

OK, maybe I missed something but still don't see why it's a bug of the browser and not the editor.
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:11 pm

fotrik wrote:Jason, if something is wrong in one browser and working in another one, it doesn't automatically mean, that it's fault of the browser. If you don't have an evidence for your declaration, please never write such a dumb things.


The horizontal selection bug is well documented throughout the forums. It happens in Firefox. I've never seen any mention of the horizonal selection bug in Chrome. It's a Firefox issue.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:09 pm

fotrik wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:
numbtrip wrote:So annoying it's soured the editing, and its also much too fiddly to try and select a road that is almost horizontal on the map, I have to keep adjusting my mouse precision just to try and select 1 segment.

This is a Firefox bug. Use Chrome.


Jason, if something is wrong in one browser and working in another one, it doesn't automatically mean, that it's fault of the browser. If you don't have an evidence for your declaration, please never write such a dumb things.


+1 for the opinion, +1 for the horizontal selection issue. I have a lot more issues with Chrome. Just read this thread. From the map streets randomly becoming misaligned with the tiles, to the new city/street fields not working properly with the keyboard, to much more memory consumption on my personal usage. I understand where you are coming from, I'd personally use Safari, but it's harded to get the scripts working there, and I personally need to split my usage between Safari for work and Firefox for the editor ;)
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2790
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 287 times
Been thanked: 604 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby fotrik » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:01 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
numbtrip wrote:So annoying it's soured the editing, and its also much too fiddly to try and select a road that is almost horizontal on the map, I have to keep adjusting my mouse precision just to try and select 1 segment.

This is a Firefox bug. Use Chrome.


Jason, if something is wrong in one browser and working in another one, it doesn't automatically mean, that it's fault of the browser. If you don't have an evidence for your declaration, please never write such a dumb things.
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby CrackedLCD » Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:53 am

Has anyone else encountered an issue with mass selections using the M shortcut key?

I got on a tear today fixing some parking lot roads that had been mis-labelled as streets. And before I knew it, I'd selected something like 23 segments. I was able to change them to parking lot roads in the drop down box, but when I clicked saved they all turned into major highways! :o

At first I chalked it up to me being careless, but it's happened twice more now. I select segments, do a mass change, then click on the map to unselect (always forgetting that 'M' has to be deactivated so it does nothing, then hitting 'M' again to deactivate that feature) then saving. And each time I've had more than 5 or 10 segments selected.

I realize there are some known mass editing caveats but I haven't seen this covered yet, and never came across the issue before this release.
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 63 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], urmix, Yahoo [Bot]