Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jondrush » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:16 pm

dgtlrift wrote:Not sure if this is the right spot, but I believe I have found a bug with the map editor. I cannot add a legal turn to a street:
Screen Shot 2012-11-08 at 8.29.37 AM.png

In the Image above, you can see on the South end of the Street that there is no way to add a right turn to the circle. This leaves directions always leading to the left regardless of which way is closer. I'm not sure it this is a systemic issue whenever there is a street configuration like this or if it's just a misconfiguration in this specific street. Any adice?

See this thread viewtopic.php?f=10&t=27728
Keeping the Waze maps tidy since 2009
jondrush User Page
Image
jondrush
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2655
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 527 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby joger972 » Sat Nov 17, 2012 12:49 pm

zs2cli wrote:Maybe already mentioned in the numerous posts above, too many to read

+1 :mrgreen:
Just have this bug with firefox on mac os mountain lion: I can't access the Layers as it is right under the '+' to add new roads, roundabout... :?


zs2cli wrote: but incase it's not, the new editor does not work in Firefox. :(

Have you tried to disable any script or addon like greasemonkey.
I had the same error till I disabled greasemonkey
joger972
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:09 am

skbun wrote:Speaking of ads...it would appear that advertisement landmarks (probably on a hidden layer) are coming up in WME.

Put in 'Seattle, WA' into the search box, and you'll get two results:
'Seattle, WA'
'LIVE HERE! - ...(address)'


Oddly, it only worked for me if I capitalized Seattle, WA exactly the way you did.

Looks like an empty lot to me.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:56 pm

mssusa wrote:
bz2012 wrote:I submitted a report to support along with a link to our conversation.

Had something like this for a while in the intl server in my last session (3 hours until a few minutes ago). No more unknown type available and the direction arrows in the drop down list were displayed as html escape codes for special characters.
The arrows are fixed now, but I haven't paid attention to the Unknown type.

Time to sleep :(


Yeah, I saw a screenshot of the weird coding in the support forum. That was a glitch, unrelated to the unavailability of unknown.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:48 pm

Unknown cannot be selected on heavily traveled segments. This is global and it's been like this for a few months now.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:38 am

The thing with the geometry node sticking to the mouse pointer has been around for a while, but now, you can click multiple times and it still won't let go. It also seems to do it a lot more frequently under certain circumstances, and it does seem to have something to do with rapidly trying to select multiple segments. I found that hitting Escape will get rid of it sometimes, and sometimes it will do it on its own. This is an extremely frustrating bug.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:21 am

davipt wrote:In my case zooming out or in or taking layers out doesn't solve it. And it's no extra script either. There is a javascript error (I've posted both on Firefox and Safari) and from that point on the javascript login is broken and only a refresh will solve it. I'm sure with the javascript error lines they can easily solve this. And I'm pretty sure this is a bug introduced days after the launch of the new version.


While I was testing it just now, simply turning off the landmark layer didn't fix it for me. But once I turned off the Landmark layer and did a permalink, I couldn't get it to happen again.

Is that not the case for you?
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:15 am

skbun wrote:Try this, because it doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses: just turn your landmark layer off and work like that.


Now that I've seen your example, I remember that this happened to me the day they enabled the new Landmark functionality. There was some discussion in the forum that day about it and that turning off landmarks layer prevents it from happening.

I haven't had my landmarks layer on since then, so I'd forgotten completely about this since it hasn't happened to me again.

I'm going to forward your error code that you posted to the appropriate department.

Thanks for the details!
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:51 pm

It's also possible that this new behavior is unique Int'l editor then. We've had the new infrastructure in place for several months. iainhouse, are you also using Firefox, or something else?
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:43 pm

Davipt, I've been seeing something similar to that for a while.

When you hover over segments they turn blue, but if you don't click on them, they normally turn white again as you move the mouse away. Sometimes, the blue will stick though, and other than the lack of the A/B, they appear to be selected. If you sweep the mouse pointer over a false-selected segment, it will usually turn back white.

When multiselecting, I always seem to end up with one or two segments that look like they're selected, but they're really not. In my case, it doesn't necessarily happen when zooming. This bug has been around for a long time and it happened in both Firefox and Chrome. It's a lot more obvious now that we have the A/B, and I'm so used to working around it, I never thought to report it.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 407 times
Been thanked: 976 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users