Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby khaytsus » Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:50 pm

Looks fixed, at a glance in the editor, and this update in the other thread:

http://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=34676

If your areas aren't fixed, post there? Here? Both. I dunno. I'm just glad nothing ugly had to be done to fix it (mass revert or such).
USA Country Manager
Central Kentucky Area Manager
ATT LG G2 (AOKP 4.3)
Nexus 7 (Rooted, Stock 4.4 Kit Kat)
Samsung Galaxy Note (i717 AT&T; AOKP 4.3.1 Jellybean)
Image
khaytsus
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Lexington, KY
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:29 pm

Aaaaaaarrgghhhh!

Is there any way to enable the predictable 'click & drag' scrolling? The default speed is way too sensitive for any useful work....

[EDIT] Never mind. I disabled all scripts, cleared cache and had another look. It looks like one or other script was fiddling or clashing with mouse-down events.
I see the default is still click & drag.

The behavior that I saw was that when I left-clicked, the window would start scrolling and the speed was dependent on how far the mouse was moved, pretty much like one of the joysticks you find standard on notebooks these days.

Glad to see this is not how I thought it was.

Now to update scripts & find the culprit, if it's still there....
Last edited by Kuhlkatz on Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:34 pm

mike-bronner wrote:Do you have URO or WazeBar installed?
~Mike


Indeed Mike, I already narrowed it down to URO & posted in the UROverview thread.
It seems to trigger easiest when zoomed out max, like selecting an area in the Areas tab. It also seems to trigger when you click before the page is fully loaded.
From there you are pretty much screwed for any Zooming, as the Permalink also does not get updated with the new zoom. Only way then is to disable URO to allow you to zoom to another level.

Carel
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:30 am

Just adding a note to the UR mail as to why it was not identified and to contact someone on the forum for a better solution would not be any different from the current canned response they get anyway.
The receiver already knows who closed the UR.

Knowing who created the UR would help editors to PM the user, and encourage forum participation.
No email address or other contact/personal info is made visible. It's as good as sending a forum PM.

The biggest problem is that a lot of PMs goes nowhere but your outbox.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:18 pm

porubcan wrote:change also displaced Add menu below the button... now it goes off the screen


This would happen if you have adjusted the browser's default font size to a smaller size. Larger sizes does not seem to cause this. The default fonts in use by this version of WME looks larger than previously and is too big in my opinion.

Having left hand panel script displays that exceed the vertical panel size is also what causes the road graphic layout vs segment positions sync issues.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:02 pm

porubcan wrote:i'm not aware of changing default font size
haven't helped. if I change browser zoom level to 75% it help with the menu going off screen, but I still


The page 'zoom' level does not affect the display. Under settings, select 'Advanced Settings' and scroll down to 'Web Content'. Set the font size on the drop-down there to 'Medium', which is the default. Altering this or using any 'custom' font settings will alter WME's display and seems to totally confuse it most of the time.

You can also just mouse over the left-hand pane or any other place where 'Text' appears on a web page and use Ctrl + MouseWheel Scroll up or down to adjust the font size. In your case, scroll forward to increase the font size, and the '+' toolbar should correctly align.

Due to this and the 'seemingly' larger fonts in use by WME, Tims' script also now extends over the vertical length of the screen. Same as on the older WME, anything in the left status panel that extends over the 'default' screen length seem to cause the map graphics & segment objects display to get totally out of sync.

It is likely due to the fact that the 2 'frames' are not really 2 totally independent frames, so if one frame's layer is slightly larger than expected, it causes HTML 'wrapping' issues on the other frame.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Offic

Postby Kuhlkatz » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:07 am

davipt wrote:Hey waze can't this kind of thing be solved automatically by the backend? There are some fixes like this that a simple algorithm could just solve instead of us loosing hours going segment by segment.


If you automatically kill these by adding the end nodes, you will also automatically kill the ones that should be visible for road segments that just overlap and are not properly connected.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:58 pm

xtago wrote:At times you can enter the names and click on apply it might not take on the new name details on a segment, then needing to have the details reentered and clicking on apply again, I've had the details dropped a handful of times and fewer still dropped 2 or 3 times.


If the city and street names are part of a drop-down list, the only surefire way is to mouse over the one you want, and and press the tab key.
If you just click on the one you want, the details are not always updated in the text box.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:21 am

The # might come from some script or tool. Any html link object that you add will have a # at the end if it is set the same as the page (document object) URL.

The WME Permalink is always correct from what I have seen.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:48 am

bz2012 wrote:It appears to me that some change in WME's code "broke" the 'segment selector' for URLs that used to work fine. Those URLs still work for all the other parameters (zoom, lat, lon, layers.)


It's simply because the URL is broken.
The editor URL only accepts parameters for supported WME objects, and in the standard format for URLs :
Code: Select all
 http://site/pages/?param_1=value_1&param_2=value_2{&param_n=value_n}

The "...#?%23%3F=&zoom=6..." translates to "...#?#?=&zoom=6..." when the URL is 'decoded' which does not look good. The browser will attempt to find a local anchor tag on the page named according to what follows the "#" sign , which it cannot as it does not exist.

Has anybody actually bothered asking Rftyree, the OP that provided the permalink what browser and 'addons' he/she is using? Surely all users will have permalinks like this on the NA server if WME is broken.
It is likely not WME that screws up the permalink, but something that either overwrites the original WME permalink or provides a 'Permalink' option of it's own, where the code screws it up.

It could even be a screwed browser shortcut :
If I start a blank page and type in the URL "https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#", WME opens up fine and my Permalink is then :
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#?zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTTFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT"
which is also screwed, and obviously not WME's fault. It simply uses the main URL for the page, which it rightfully expects to end in /editor/.

You should rather ask why this boardwalk is connected to the road ?
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 131 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users