Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:11 pm

fotrik wrote:Jason, if something is wrong in one browser and working in another one, it doesn't automatically mean, that it's fault of the browser. If you don't have an evidence for your declaration, please never write such a dumb things.


The horizontal selection bug is well documented throughout the forums. It happens in Firefox. I've never seen any mention of the horizonal selection bug in Chrome. It's a Firefox issue.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7571
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 970 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby fotrik » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:14 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
fotrik wrote:Jason, if something is wrong in one browser and working in another one, it doesn't automatically mean, that it's fault of the browser. If you don't have an evidence for your declaration, please never write such a dumb things.


The horizontal selection bug is well documented throughout the forums. It happens in Firefox. I've never seen any mention of the horizonal selection bug in Chrome. It's a Firefox issue.

OK, maybe I missed something but still don't see why it's a bug of the browser and not the editor.
ImageImage
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1755
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 119 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Mike-1323 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:32 pm

fotrik wrote:OK, maybe I missed something but still don't see why it's a bug of the browser and not the editor.

I'm not an expert on cross-platform coding, but it may be that FF is not implementing something in a standard way. Meaning that code could be written to a cross-platform standard and work correctly on two or three browsers and fail on FF because of the way FF implements the code. I'm not saying that is whats happening, but that's a scenario that makes the behavior a browser bug (or feature depending on your point of view). That scenario is why IE is somewhat off on its own for website compatibility, it's been very poor (non-standard) at implementing standards.

The horizontal segment issue has been around long enough that there should be a workaround in place, especially with the release of the new version of the editor. So I guess either they can't figure out why the behavior is the way it is or can't figure out how to correct it.
Mike-1323
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: Lorton, Va
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:39 pm

fotrik wrote:OK, maybe I missed something but still don't see why it's a bug of the browser and not the editor.


It may be a bug in the editor, but since the editor is specifically written for Chrome, they probably aren't even looking at it. I encountered it when I first started editing and reluctantly switched to Chrome, and have never had a problem since. I use Chrome only for editing, so I don't have it loaded up with bookmarks or plugins that aren't related to editing or the forums.

The screen zoom level (Ctrl-0) is hugely important, regardless of what browser you're using because it screws up the zoom between what you see and where you click. That solves another 10% of the complaints. Now there's a potential issue with older routers choking on too many connections...caused by the editor, but it won't have any effect on people with newer or better equipment.

I can also see a huge difference in performance between my home computer, which is 8+ years old and only has 1 GB of RAM, and my work computer which is brand new and has 4 GB and a faster processor.

I run XP on both home and work machines...there's now 2 newer Microsoft OS's out there that may or may not be bug-ridden, plus a number of 3rd party Linux OSs and of course Macs.

There are so many variables, and certain combinations work perfectly and some may not work at all.

The one thing we know for certain is that the horizontal selection bug appears in Firefox.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7571
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 970 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby GizmoGuy411 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:24 pm

AndyPoms wrote:...
EDIT: Is URO the Overview script that puts them on the livemap?


It is this:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29054&hilit=UROverview
Image

U.S. based Global Champ
U.S. CM
U.S. Great Lakes RC: IL, IN, MI, OH, WI
AM: NW OH, NE IN, SE MI
Wiki Profile
Verizon: Galaxy S6 Edge w/ Android 5.1.1 & iPad "3" w/ iOS 8.2.0
GizmoGuy411
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:14 am
Location: NW Ohio, SE Michigan, NW Indiana tri-state area
Has thanked: 581 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:48 pm

GizmoGuy411 wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:...
EDIT: Is URO the Overview script that puts them on the livemap?


It is this: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29054&hilit=UROverview

Actually, it's not. This is the droid your are looking for --> viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29381
(The first one gives you popups for URs in the editor, the second adds UR markers to the Livemap)
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 915 times
Been thanked: 2501 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Machete808 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:45 pm

A belated thank you for the "play" mode. It enabled me to screw around with a problem that was "above my pay grade" and find what the problem was, and then find someone who could fix it for real. Got me past the fear of making things worse. (Which I'm sure I've accomplished, on more than one occasion.)
Aloha,
Vicki
Hawaii State Manager
Area manager, Los Angeles
Country manager, Thailand
Image Image
Need support?
support.google.com/waze > Popular topics > FAQs > Other > Open a ticket
Welcome, new editors:
Here's a good place to start!
Machete808
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1273
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 188 times
Been thanked: 202 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:52 am

Mike-1323 wrote:
fotrik wrote:OK, maybe I missed something but still don't see why it's a bug of the browser and not the editor.

I'm not an expert on cross-platform coding, but it may be that FF is not implementing something in a standard way. Meaning that code could be written to a cross-platform standard and work correctly on two or three browsers and fail on FF because of the way FF implements the code. I'm not saying that is whats happening, but that's a scenario that makes the behavior a browser bug (or feature depending on your point of view). That scenario is why IE is somewhat off on its own for website compatibility, it's been very poor (non-standard) at implementing standards.

The horizontal segment issue has been around long enough that there should be a workaround in place, especially with the release of the new version of the editor. So I guess either they can't figure out why the behavior is the way it is or can't figure out how to correct it.



The waze editor doesn't work on firefox at all, for it to be able to used on firefox you need to install a chrome overlay that allows chrome addons to work in firefox.

You'll find it's the overlay that doesn't work with all the waze functions and nothing to do with firefox itself, also you have the problem of Firefox being upgraded all the time and addons/extras/overlays will be broken until updated, The beta is worse though it's generally on a 2-3 week turn around for versions.

The above could be the reason why Waze doesn't code the editor for Firefox, beside Chrome and Safari maybe using the same programming language for browser addons.
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:18 pm

Feedback on the editor.

Seems to work pretty good overall.

Would like to see a settings page so you could change default settings in the editor on roads, like set new streets as one way or 2way by default or making new roads all 2 way to start off.

Maybe allow the snap setting to be changed as sometimes it doesn't snap if your zoomed too far out or have a road pin too close to a node/junction.

Maybe go back to the last editor drop lists so you don't have to click on apply to properly apply a name change and remove the enter key being a left mouse button click for automatically using the first item in the drop down.

At times you can enter the names and click on apply it might not take on the new name details on a segment, then needing to have the details reentered and clicking on apply again, I've had the details dropped a handful of times and fewer still dropped 2 or 3 times.

You should see about allowing the states to be edited or allowing them to be added some where so a country can have proper states that can be selected.

Notes should be added.

Besides Alt names you should allow for Roads to number detail that show up as part of the name or a picture of the A2 etc that countries have on roads and highways and allow the app to show the picture as you go along a route.

Allow for the A/B of a segment to be swapped around instead of spinning it manually or having to do the lot numbering backwards on a segment.

Not a major thing for Australia but if not added already have a segment that denotes a border of a country or state.
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:23 pm

xtago wrote:Allow for the A/B of a segment to be swapped around instead of spinning it manually or having to do the lot numbering backwards on a segment.


I found a way to do this by mistake (literally) as I turned a lot of roundabout segments from A-B to B-A.

- Create a new segment to split the segment you want to turn around. delete the segment. save.
- pick first the second segment (the one with the B) then the first segment (the one with the A) and click on bridge. If A and B are not correct, pick the segments the other way around and retry.
- adjust the level back to the right level, as the bridge increments the level.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2740
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 561 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]