Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:13 pm

Kuhlkatz wrote:Aaaaaaarrgghhhh!

Is there any way to enable the predictable 'click & drag' scrolling? The default speed is way too sensitive for any useful work....

[EDIT] Never mind. I disabled all scripts, cleared cache and had another look. It looks like one or other script was fiddling or clashing with mouse-down events.
I see the default is still click & drag.

The behavior that I saw was that when I left-clicked, the window would start scrolling and the speed was dependent on how far the mouse was moved, pretty much like one of the joysticks you find standard on notebooks these days.

Glad to see this is not how I thought it was.

Now to update scripts & find the culprit, if it's still there....

Hi Kuhlkatz,
Do you have URO or WazeBar installed? URO was throwing errors with the new WME and causing the scrolling to go nuts. I have patched it in WazeBar, and alerted the author as well.

~Mike
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:21 am

ronnyromero wrote:how about a map editor native app for ipad...then we could add more stuff on the road

Hi Ronny,

Have you tried editing with the new WME on iPad. Seems to work pretty well. I have a few ideas to increase screen real estate, but for the most part it looks pretty straight-forward. I have been able to edit, create, delete without any issues.
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:41 pm

Quick question on keyboard shortcuts: is there a way to insert a junction on an existing segment? The shortcut help screen doesn't seem to think so.
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 3:56 pm

That's what I've been doing as well ... didn't Cartouche used to have a shortcut though? Just curious if they brought it back. :)
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:24 pm

Thanks Alan, I was doing a search for "insert junction", that's why I didn't find that paragraph. :)
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:49 am

One thing that would be handy is to have square ends if there is a junction, and round ends if there is none. -- or something similar.
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feed

Postby mike-bronner » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:45 am

xtago wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
xtago wrote:Click on the street if you get no turn arrows then it probably isn't connected and needs to be checked

Please please please stop answering questions with an answer which isn't remotely related to the actual question. You keep pulling answers out of thin air, giving bad and incorrect answers to users, or just completely miss the actual point of the question. You have been warned many times.


If you select a segment and it is connected to a junction point then you'll see red or green arrows, if you don't get the arrows then the segment isn't connected to a junction point.

This is explained in the wme video on waze youtube channel.


Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2


Hi xtago,

I don't think you're understanding the point wine4sure was getting at: unterminated segments. These are most often dead-end streets that don't have a termination junction at the end, caused most often by inexperienced editors (I've done it in the past, until I found out, as well). The junction needs to be at the end so the client can handle navigation properly, if I understand it correctly.

~Mike
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:02 pm

Timbones wrote:
wroadd wrote:As I see there was a change in the WME, new fields are available for gas stations (and any other landmarks) for country (state) and city

So it seems. Does this mean that landmarks will become searchable items?

I believe so. This seems to jive with their recent announcement to show advertisers' companies and stores along the way, which most likely would have to rely on landmarks, given that other services have often not been at the correct location.
My guess is that locations would help with these advertisements, possibly by being able to attach descriptions and logos to a special type of landmark, which could also apply to gas stations.
http://www.waze.com/blog/introducing-waze-ads-bringing-you-the-most-relevant-local-merchants-and-big-brand-stores-along-your-route/
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:03 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Is anyone else seeing the console log "filling up," that is, scrolling and scrolling due to errors like:

The page at https://www.waze.com/editor/ displayed insecure content from http://marx.waze.com/socket.io/1/xhr-po ... 2390335765.

It has "calmed down" a bit now, but a few minutes ago, it was logging a new error every second.

I've had a whole slew of errors this morning caused by developers fiddling around with live. One would think that they would test updates in beta first *hint-hint*. :shock:
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:46 pm

davipt wrote:new WME keyboard shortcuts, "[None] Select entire street" WTH is a none?

It's the invisible button between ESC and F1 :)
Image
mike-bronner
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher