Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:33 pm

I'm glad I'm not the only one who has problems with selecting road segments on the WME. The only way to "fix" it is to deselect the road segment, zoom all of the out, and zoom all of the way back in to the section you're editing and hope the segment can be changed when you select it again.

Also, I thought it was a conflict with WME Color Highlights script but it's definitely the server causing these issues.
Area manager: Sarasota, Venice, and Bradenton area, FL
douglasr007
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Location: Sarasota, FL, USA
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:39 pm

douglasr007 wrote:I'm glad I'm not the only one who has problems with selecting road segments on the WME. The only way to "fix" it is to deselect the road segment, zoom all of the out, and zoom all of the way back in to the section you're editing and hope the segment can be changed when you select it again.

Also, I thought it was a conflict with WME Color Highlights script but it's definitely the server causing these issues.


Try this, because it doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses: just turn your landmark layer off and work like that.

I'm betting it'll be fine, until they fix this on their end. It doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses, which means that's a red herring, so there's really nothing we can do.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby davipt » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:46 pm

skbun wrote:
douglasr007 wrote:The only way to "fix" it is to deselect the road segment, zoom all of the out, and zoom all of the way back in to the section you're editing and hope the segment can be changed when you select it again.

Also, I thought it was a conflict with WME Color Highlights script but it's definitely the server causing these issues.


Try this, because it doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses: just turn your landmark layer off and work like that.

I'm betting it'll be fine, until they fix this on their end. It doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses, which means that's a red herring, so there's really nothing we can do.


In my case zooming out or in or taking layers out doesn't solve it. And it's no extra script either. There is a javascript error (I've posted both on Firefox and Safari) and from that point on the javascript login is broken and only a refresh will solve it. I'm sure with the javascript error lines they can easily solve this. And I'm pretty sure this is a bug introduced days after the launch of the new version.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2731
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 553 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:05 pm

davipt wrote:In my case zooming out or in or taking layers out doesn't solve it. And it's no extra script either. There is a javascript error (I've posted both on Firefox and Safari) and from that point on the javascript login is broken and only a refresh will solve it. I'm sure with the javascript error lines they can easily solve this. And I'm pretty sure this is a bug introduced days after the launch of the new version.


I myself am on Chrome, so maybe I'm getting a different error based on a different condition.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:13 pm

I use Firefox and Chrome and the editor seems more picky on Firefox than Chrome when choosing road segments.
Area manager: Sarasota, Venice, and Bradenton area, FL
douglasr007
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Location: Sarasota, FL, USA
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby scruffy151 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:43 pm

skbun wrote:
douglasr007 wrote:I'm glad I'm not the only one who has problems with selecting road segments on the WME. The only way to "fix" it is to deselect the road segment, zoom all of the out, and zoom all of the way back in to the section you're editing and hope the segment can be changed when you select it again.

Also, I thought it was a conflict with WME Color Highlights script but it's definitely the server causing these issues.


Try this, because it doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses: just turn your landmark layer off and work like that.

I'm betting it'll be fine, until they fix this on their end. It doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses, which means that's a red herring, so there's really nothing we can do.

Another quick fix is to hit permalink to force a reload.
scruffy151
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:03 am
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:15 am

skbun wrote:Try this, because it doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses: just turn your landmark layer off and work like that.


Now that I've seen your example, I remember that this happened to me the day they enabled the new Landmark functionality. There was some discussion in the forum that day about it and that turning off landmarks layer prevents it from happening.

I haven't had my landmarks layer on since then, so I'd forgotten completely about this since it hasn't happened to me again.

I'm going to forward your error code that you posted to the appropriate department.

Thanks for the details!
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7533
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 395 times
Been thanked: 962 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:21 am

davipt wrote:In my case zooming out or in or taking layers out doesn't solve it. And it's no extra script either. There is a javascript error (I've posted both on Firefox and Safari) and from that point on the javascript login is broken and only a refresh will solve it. I'm sure with the javascript error lines they can easily solve this. And I'm pretty sure this is a bug introduced days after the launch of the new version.


While I was testing it just now, simply turning off the landmark layer didn't fix it for me. But once I turned off the Landmark layer and did a permalink, I couldn't get it to happen again.

Is that not the case for you?
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7533
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 395 times
Been thanked: 962 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby fvwazing » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:15 am

No, doesn't work here. (Chrome/OSX)
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby youncs » Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:15 am

jasonh300 wrote:
While I was testing it just now, simply turning off the landmark layer didn't fix it for me. But once I turned off the Landmark layer and did a permalink, I couldn't get it to happen again.

Is that not the case for you?


Worked for me. Saving was still slow and there was some lag here and there, but no-more having to refresh all the time, thank goodness!
iPhone 4 / iOS6 *I dont' navigate very often, but when I do, I use Apple Maps . . .
youncs
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:01 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stu00c