Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:35 am

Kuhlkatz wrote:...
My biggest single gripe is the geometry nodes. The old solid square nodes contrasted much better, and was much more visible when located near or on top of segment joins.
I don't mind them being round, but no fill vs filled should be considered as a preference setting. Currently the nodes hide very well when zoomed out far enough.


I second that. In addition, the landmarks layer is either conflicting with the highlighting tool or becoming more and more of a b* on Chrome. I always turn it off, but when I add a single landmark it automatically goes on and from then onwards nothing is selectable/editable even if I turn it back off. I have to reload.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feed

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:09 pm

bgodette wrote:No, you can't. Say you've got 5 segments selected that cover the ranges 100-400, but they're all different lengths. Do you distribute based on length, segments, or ???


Length?
I must be very slow today because I can't find any other options. I can't even figure out what you mean by the "segments" alternative let alone the ??? :grin:

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:42 pm

bgodette wrote:
cristianfraser wrote:It'd be nice if we could add house numbers to more than one segment of a street.
How do you propose it distributes the numbers, especially if the segments are different lengths, or cover different lengths of ranges?

You can because you have each segment's length. However, it is too much of a bother.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:56 am

bgodette wrote:Cause a wazeModel update and that clears. It's indeterminate data from modified segments that's cleared by refreshing the wazeModel (F5/Permalink/Panning far enough/zooming far enough).


When I run into one of those it is usually too late for a reload; I usually have tens of edits unsaved. I simply highlight the segment and set its level properly then keep working. The only viable option (which I never tried) is panning.
Anyway, this never happened to me before, but I'm finding it often now.

BTW, did they fix the problems with segment properties fields in Chrome? Or did I just get used to it?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:55 am

I'm finding many segments with no level set. I'm not 100% sure but I believe all were old unedited client paved segments. When I edit a segment to fix its geometry points and give it a name then select it together with another completed segment to create junctions at intersections the cross sign "+" does not appear. When I check the newer segment I always find its level property empty. New editor? or the move to the new infrastructure?
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:52 pm

bz2012 wrote:I submitted a report to support along with a link to our conversation.

Had something like this for a while in the intl server in my last session (3 hours until a few minutes ago). No more unknown type available and the direction arrows in the drop down list were displayed as html escape codes for special characters.
The arrows are fixed now, but I haven't paid attention to the Unknown type.

Time to sleep :(

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:17 am

I get the pointer stuck when my machine is overloaded. Especially when there are many segments in the view or there is a very long segment (10s or 100s of km long). This was also the case with the old version

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:22 am

Loading road images and not the road objects, or vice versa is not a new behavior at all. It has been there for a long time before the last upgrade.
I believe it is a server load problem as I've seen UK editors always complaining about unresponsiveness or missing layers while the editor is working perfectly for me. I've never paid much attention to see if I'm served by the same servers as the UK editors (both before and after the UK got their own servers).

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:14 pm

Sorry I didn't want to create a discussion of why a segment needs to be terminated. I and the other poster above are complaining that with A and B at the ends of a segment we can no longer see if it is terminated /connected properly to another segment or not. But thanks to Tim's tool, this is no longer a big issue.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:12 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I will make sure I disable scripts and try again.

Okay, so I've verified partially. It may be a hardware/software issue. I'm on a unibody MBP and when I click by fully depressing the trackpad so it actually "clicks" then nothing happens. However, if I just tap it, then it works fine. This sounds like an issue with Chrome and the OS/hardware, but not a Waze issue.


I've reported this earlier with Chrome on Windows 7 64bit. I can't even analyze it as it works fine on very rare occasions. All scripts disabled.

Same goes for losing the ability to see if a dead end segment is terminated by a node or not. Thanks to Tim this is not a big issue as his highlighting tool helps here.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AlObaili