Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:55 am

I'm finding many segments with no level set. I'm not 100% sure but I believe all were old unedited client paved segments. When I edit a segment to fix its geometry points and give it a name then select it together with another completed segment to create junctions at intersections the cross sign "+" does not appear. When I check the newer segment I always find its level property empty. New editor? or the move to the new infrastructure?
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:56 am

bgodette wrote:Cause a wazeModel update and that clears. It's indeterminate data from modified segments that's cleared by refreshing the wazeModel (F5/Permalink/Panning far enough/zooming far enough).


When I run into one of those it is usually too late for a reload; I usually have tens of edits unsaved. I simply highlight the segment and set its level properly then keep working. The only viable option (which I never tried) is panning.
Anyway, this never happened to me before, but I'm finding it often now.

BTW, did they fix the problems with segment properties fields in Chrome? Or did I just get used to it?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:42 pm

bgodette wrote:
cristianfraser wrote:It'd be nice if we could add house numbers to more than one segment of a street.
How do you propose it distributes the numbers, especially if the segments are different lengths, or cover different lengths of ranges?

You can because you have each segment's length. However, it is too much of a bother.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feed

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:09 pm

bgodette wrote:No, you can't. Say you've got 5 segments selected that cover the ranges 100-400, but they're all different lengths. Do you distribute based on length, segments, or ???


Length?
I must be very slow today because I can't find any other options. I can't even figure out what you mean by the "segments" alternative let alone the ??? :grin:

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:35 am

Kuhlkatz wrote:...
My biggest single gripe is the geometry nodes. The old solid square nodes contrasted much better, and was much more visible when located near or on top of segment joins.
I don't mind them being round, but no fill vs filled should be considered as a preference setting. Currently the nodes hide very well when zoomed out far enough.


I second that. In addition, the landmarks layer is either conflicting with the highlighting tool or becoming more and more of a b* on Chrome. I always turn it off, but when I add a single landmark it automatically goes on and from then onwards nothing is selectable/editable even if I turn it back off. I have to reload.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:54 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
bz2012 wrote:Possible fix for:
"Highlighted segment has been extended beyond the allowed distance"

The workarounds have been documented for quite some time: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Map_ ... _the_limit

Just splitting the segment is enough because then there are new segments with start/end points instead of an original segment with an end point moved too far.


BTW, is the speed data retained when you split a segment? In one or both segments? How about when you join an old segment to a newly created one and remove the junction to make a longer segment? This is important when mapping freeways out of scattered client paved roads.

If not, then the best option is to extend a little, save then extended a little more and so on.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:57 pm

I kinda like the current behavior. With the highlighting tool the lime color reminds me that work on this segment is not over yet. Very helpful with long roads and highways where there is a lot of panning.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:02 pm

top_gun_de wrote:The newly painted segment has no city and no name, so it is highlighted in grey. A newly painted road without an end-node is technically broken.

The highlighting extension is great, but it's new and not that wide-spread.

Best regards,

Detlev


Gesendet von meinem iPad mit Tapatalk HD

Everything I'm not completely done with is technically broken. Named or not. Newly mapped or disconnected from years old system-connected client-paved roads. All I'm saying is that I'm hacking this 'bug' to mark the roads that I should not end my editing session without mapping properly.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Mycrophage » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:07 pm

Is anyone, in any country knowing how does the Alt. Names works ?
In France we did not use this feature.
Is it possible to have something like :
Street Name : Street number (example : A1, N20, D171,...)
Alt Name : Road name (example : Autoroute du Soleil, Rue de la Paix,...)

Is this giving ability to have display like as we can found in the US or some roads in the World server :
Image

Thx =)
..:: Light is Right ::..
Mycrophage
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 1930
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:40 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Nacron » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:39 am

Wow, just saw the new editor. Am I seeing a way to restrict u-turns by selecting multiple streets in an intersection?!

Nevermind, it's just diretionality for multiple segments
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 4 | 4.4.4 | Waze 3.9.3.901 beta
Hawaii State Manager
ImageImageImage
Nacron
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 5 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]