Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby amiga6 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:55 pm

Gasoline prices are not updated in the client. This step allows more fail to update prices, and ultimately it will be more leaving Waze for another gps.

I can not seem to score points nor
Screenshot_2013-01-11-06-46-18.png
(51.35 KiB) Downloaded 7542 times


Screenshot_2013-01-11-19-15-07.png
(45.69 KiB) Downloaded 7542 times
amiga6
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Haninge, Sweden
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby fotrik » Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:38 pm

vitj: I reported the problem to Orit ~2 days ago. Probably left for holidays now, be patient.
fotrik
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:08 am
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby vitj » Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:30 pm

Thank you, that was enabled Gas prices in Czech Republic. But we have problem to update prices. Always after command send is answer Pardon, not possible update price. Could you help to us?
vitj
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:09 pm
Has thanked: 1114 times
Been thanked: 914 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby fvwazing » Mon Dec 24, 2012 4:38 pm

I can think of schemes where a gasstation-owner would want to manipulate prices in his neighborhood and Waze would want to detect that,to prevent such cheating. Or someone does inaccurate pricing, driving by, and thus create systematic errors. It is perfectly possible to detect such "errors" using comparison of historical data and there should be no need to hold up the publishing for confirmation. After some time it would get noticed that often the price is wrong anyway and the user could be blocked (or better: ignored).
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:00 pm

Well, bang goes that theory... just been queued for confirmation at a station I've been updating almost every day since the fuel prices feature went live in the UK.
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 369 times
Been thanked: 2183 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby foxitrot » Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:32 pm

Maybe you're not yet being considered a "trusted submitter" at some stations and have to be confirmed at these? (Might make sense, but I doubt anything more is being stored except the very last submitter.)
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2384 times
Been thanked: 1086 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:44 pm

Twister_UK wrote:Having now said that, today at every station I've passed so far, the client has been accepting new prices immediately, so it looks as if something has been changed again...


And now it's saying prices will need confirming again... I think what's happening is that any station where I've regularly submitted prices is still accepting updates straight away, but for stations where I don't usually submit prices it's saying they'll need confirmation. Which seems like an odd logic to use-if Waze thinks I'm capable of submitting prices correctly at some locations, why not any others?
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 369 times
Been thanked: 2183 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:22 pm

Outdated prices don't need to be highlighted specifically, as the client tells you when they were last updated when you access the price entry screen-what we need is a way of knowing that we've already submitted an unconfirmed price for that station, so that we don't end up wasting time resubmitting.

Having now said that, today at every station I've passed so far, the client has been accepting new prices immediately, so it looks as if something has been changed again...
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 369 times
Been thanked: 2183 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby foxitrot » Sat Dec 22, 2012 5:39 am

Both outdated and unconfirmed prices could be displayed grayed-out, with an appropriate textual remark. If there is a concern regarding points, then these could be delayed or split.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7082
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2384 times
Been thanked: 1086 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:53 pm

Has the price reporting functionality just been given a behind the scenes tweak? Every set of prices I submitted today was acknowledged in the client, not by the usual message, but instead by "Your price will be posted once confirmed with other Wazers", which I've never seen before.

Whilst the idea of not posting prices until they've been confirmed seems like a good idea (a few times I've seen completely incorrect prices locally, all appearing to come from the same user...), I think there needs to be some tweaking to the implementation. Based on the client behaviour today, other than that text at the bottom of the price submission screen, there's no other feedback given to the user that their submitted prices are awaiting confirmation, so if you're in an area with a whole bunch of stations and you've forgotten which once you've already submitted that day, you can't then select a station and see that you were the most recent update - until your prices are confirmed, the station details show up exactly the same as before you made your earlier submission, so you might end up trying to resubmit in the belief that you hadn't sibmitted to that station already, or that your earlier submission didn't make it. It'd be useful if the client could mark the stations somehow to show if we've already submitted prices today...

One other thing about this feature-if no-one else confirms the new prices, do they just get lost or do they get posted anyway after a while? I'm thinking that if prices *have* to get confirmed before they're used, some stations could end up with very out of date pricing, especially if by the time the next Wazer passes the station, the prices have changed leaving them unable to confirm. If their updated prices then get put in the confirmation queue, and the prices then change again, will the station ever get updated?
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 369 times
Been thanked: 2183 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: F10xFault