City polygon layer has updated (NA)

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:15 am

yippeekyaa wrote:Does the city layer also use the city in the alternate addresses? I have an incorrect city that I've removed all traces of in the addresses EXCEPT for the alternate address. It still shows up on the city layer.


Are you using the Colour Highlights script? If so, can the script detect and highlight that segment where the offending city is in the alternate field?
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7529
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 393 times
Been thanked: 961 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby skbun » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:22 am

jasonh300 wrote:Are you using the Colour Highlights script? If so, can the script detect and highlight that segment where the offending city is in the alternate field?


It should be able to. I wrote the portion of the code that does that for 1.5. It should appear as a dashed yellow line rather than solid, as Tim put it in. But it's also worth checking in the area you see such a city in the city dropdown list, to make sure you're also looking at 'the right city'.

I've seen cases where there are three different cities with the same name in a location - two with different states...heck, one with none at all.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:58 am

I just scanned along I-96 in Michigan looking for an issue someone complained about in the forums. As I went along, I found 3 different single letter cities within close view of the Interstate. I get the feeling these are going to be all over the place and we're going to be cleaning them up for a while.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7529
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 393 times
Been thanked: 961 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby skbun » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:09 am

jasonh300 wrote:
AndyPoms wrote: Still appearing on the map are the neighborhood of "Blue Hills" (all segments removed over 6 months ago), and "Canaan" (the neightborhood in the town of North Canaan") which was removed (relabeled "North Canaan") so we could label the actual Town of Canaan as "Canaan" as it was never labeled in the first place. :x


Yeah, you can't get rid of those by removing all the segments. I have one here that's a CDP that nobody actually refers to, and I changed them all over a year ago. There's no more geometric outline, but the name still appears on the map. There's two city layers...one that we can have an effect on, and one that came from the basemap that's not dependent on segments with city names.


Another like this was brought to my attention as I did as second scan through the Seattle metro area, checking for blotches. Part of the 'basemap layer map' we can't change includes the CDP of Lea Hill, Washington, at https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=1&lat ... FFTFTTTTFT . It was a CDP until the end of 2007, at which time it was annexed by the city of Auburn. This can be seen on the interactive TIGER map for 2010. The reason I bring this up is not to bring up 'another example, etc. etc.', but to point out that the basemap sticky city layer is at least five years out of date, probably taken from the 2000 basemaps.

Certainly the 2010 basemaps would be available; there is also this:

http://www.census.gov/geo/partnerships/bas.html - the BAS, (Boundary and Annexation Survey), done annually, which includes shapefiles. If Waze does want to keep a locked city layer based on shapes, this would be a good place to go.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:18 am

The basemap import was a one-time thing, and being that it was done for the U.S. in 2009, it was probably using the 2000 census data for the city layer. They're not going to be able to import another one without undoing all of the work the editors have done.

I'd say they could come in with just an import of the cities layer, however, in many cases it's wrong, or not practical and a lot of work has been done to fix those things also....work that would also probably be undone.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7529
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 393 times
Been thanked: 961 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby skbun » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:33 am

jasonh300 wrote:I'd say they could come in with just an import of the cities layer, however, in many cases it's wrong, or not practical and a lot of work has been done to fix those things also....work that would also probably be undone.


Yeah, I was thinking 'just an import of the cities layer', if anything. But I agree that ultimately, probably the best we have even with large changes to fix is 'What we have on the roads layer', now what with enough editor's eyes on the maps. Would you suggest in that case just having all of the city polygons generated at tile update time (as I think it works on the World server)?
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:49 am

skbun wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:I'd say they could come in with just an import of the cities layer, however, in many cases it's wrong, or not practical and a lot of work has been done to fix those things also....work that would also probably be undone.


Yeah, I was thinking 'just an import of the cities layer', if anything. But I agree that ultimately, probably the best we have even with large changes to fix is 'What we have on the roads layer', now what with enough editor's eyes on the maps. Would you suggest in that case just having all of the city polygons generated at tile update time (as I think it works on the World server)?


I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work that way. However, there has also been talk about wanting to get rid of the Country, State and City fields and just let the hidden layer handle all that, but allow the polygons to be editable by CMs. If we had such a thing, I'd be willing to be that the Champs could get the state and country polygons for the U.S. and Canada fixed within a week. (Same with the country polygons for ROTW.) In that case, the cities would have to be tackled on a case-by-case basis. This may just be a pipe-dream though. I don't know if it's feasible or not, but it's been suggested more than once.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7529
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 393 times
Been thanked: 961 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby OhioStMusicMan » Mon Nov 19, 2012 3:56 am

jasonh300 wrote:I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work that way. However, there has also been talk about wanting to get rid of the Country, State and City fields and just let the hidden layer handle all that, but allow the polygons to be editable by CMs. If we had such a thing, I'd be willing to be that the Champs could get the state and country polygons for the U.S. and Canada fixed within a week. (Same with the country polygons for ROTW.) In that case, the cities would have to be tackled on a case-by-case basis. This may just be a pipe-dream though. I don't know if it's feasible or not, but it's been suggested more than once.

+1
Travis
Waze 4.3.9902.902
iPhone 6 (VZW) - iOS 9.3
iMac 21.5" & MacBook Pro 15" - OS X El Capitan (10.11.4)
Area Manager: Northern OH & Bakersfield, CA

ImageImageImage
OhioStMusicMan
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Location: Bowling Green/Toledo, OH
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby iainhouse » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:11 am

skbun wrote:Would you suggest in that case just having all of the city polygons generated at tile update time (as I think it works on the World server)?


I'm afraid it doesn't work like that. The city layer is not updated when the tiles are. I don't think I've seen a City layer update since I joined Waze. Certainly there are city name errors that I corrected in my early days that are still showing on the client. I also completely named the village where I was on vacation in August and the city name & polygon still haven't appeared in either the client or editor.

Personally, I think it would all be far more maintainable if city names didn't come from the segments, but were in a separate landmark layer that is only accessible to AMs & CMs.

[EDIT] The forum ate this post the first time I made it. :) I see someone else has already suggested a city polygon layer [/EDIT]
UK Country Administrator
AM: London (DELETED), S Wales
Waze 3.7.3 • iPhone 4S (iOS 6.1.3) • Chrome/W7x64
ImageImage
UK WikiWaze FAQ
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 6347
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 984 times
Been thanked: 3183 times

Re: City polygon layer has updated (NA)

Postby skbun » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:02 am

iainhouse wrote:
skbun wrote:Would you suggest in that case just having all of the city polygons generated at tile update time (as I think it works on the World server)?


Personally, I think it would all be far more maintainable if city names didn't come from the segments, but were in a separate landmark layer that is only accessible to AMs & CMs.

[EDIT] The forum ate this post the first time I made it. :) I see someone else has already suggested a city polygon layer [/EDIT]


Yeah, and I was in on that thread too. If Waze were willing, I would be totally behind a CM-only editable 'state' and 'country' polygon layer. If it WORKED that way, renaming a city, or merging an annex into an existing one would be much much easier, city smudging would be a thing of the past, and much more effort would go toward segments and street (with alt street) naming, the heart of routing.

They could import the current 2010 Census base map polygons for cities in, and there DO exist 'Shapefiles representing states', that could go in its own layer.

Going that route would also put a leg up on say, Google maps, whose cities still show boundaries that ALSO look like they're from the 2000 Census import. Example. Google Maps's Auburn, WA? Still shows in Google in its pre-2008 annexation shape, where Lea Hill is a separate CDP.

City annexes, changes, whatever? The polygon layer gets changed by a CM, and it's up to date. In a week. And in the same way that roads get that feeling of 'keeping up fast'...then so do cities, right? Waze win.

(Oh, also? Here's a vote for making 'waterways' current to 2010, incorporating all creeks, streams, seas, lakes, whatever...merging the current waterways on the landmarks level INTO said layer...and then this 'waterways' layer editable as well. I've named lots of waterways in my area and made most I've done accurate to about 20-100m, but ask me how long it takes to make those polygons from scratch...)
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users