Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:56 pm

wroadd wrote:As I see there was a change in the WME, new fields are available for gas stations(and ny othre landmarks) for country (state) and city


In all seriousness, I've been trying to come up with methodologies to deal with city smudges recently, and it's really dang hard to do. At this point, I really wish there were ways to identify a numerical CityID, and just have it spit out 'all segments and lat/long of one of its connected nodes' at me, so I can get rid of the dang things. At this point, it'd surely be less taxing on the database server than having to scroll around, zooming in and out, querying thousands of segments with the highlighting script -- and even then not finding it. ;)
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:53 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:For some reason, the browser data seems to be getting corrupted and it can't figure out where the view on the map is located? :? Weird.


Okay, I can make this happen completely predictably, now. It's a slightly different error, but I'll bet money the two are related -- and the result (segments don't load) is exactly the same.

Go to this Permalink:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=10&la ... FFTFTTTTFT

Now. Zoom out one click at a time, not moving where you're centered. When you get to the second to last out, you will get:
Code: Select all
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'countryID' of undefined
Waze.Control.Chat.OpenLayers.Class.getTopCity WME.min.js:1
Waze.Control.Chat.OpenLayers.Class.onMergeEnd WME.min.js:1
OpenLayers.Events.OpenLayers.Class.triggerEvent OL.min.js:1
Waze.DataModel.OpenLayers.Class.mergeObjects WME.min.js:1
Waze.Controller.OpenLayers.Class.onFeatureRead WME.min.js:1
Waze.Protocol.OpenLayers.Class.handleRead WME.min.js:1
(anonymous function) OL.min.js:1
(anonymous function) OL.min.js:1
OpenLayers.Request.runCallbacks OL.min.js:1
f.onreadystatechange OL.min.js:1
c.dispatchEvent OL.min.js:1
b OL.min.js:1
_object.onreadystatechange


You won't be able to select MUCH this zoomed out, but click one of the Trans-Canada highway segments. Ta-da! Blown. Now...you can zoom IN, and it'll work again, because it'll poll for features and country, and will figure it out again.

It's like a bounds problem. When it gets far enough out that there are two countries in view, and it can't decide which is the right one, it doesn't 'pick one of the two', say; it just barfs out.

Although I can't prove it yet, I'd lay money on that the same kind of 'undefined' error happens near state borders, and near city borders, at respectively lower zooms. If I find an example, I'll follow up with it.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:16 pm

Yeah, okay, nailed it. Here's the deal.

THIS Permalink (don't move, just zoom in and out), will generate exceptions.
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... FFTFTTTTFT

THIS one (again, just zoom in and out), won't.
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... FFTFTTTTFT

It's the same location, but in the one where the exception is thrown, the landmarks layer is turned on.

When Waze enabled addresses for landmarks a week or so back:
* All landmarks by default appear to have a cityID of (null).
* When the landmarks layer is turned on, landmarks are polled for their cityIDs.
* There is no error checking for the condition in which (null) is the city ID (it really should be ignored), so an error happens, and now you have to re-zoom, or reload the page to edit.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:39 pm

douglasr007 wrote:I'm glad I'm not the only one who has problems with selecting road segments on the WME. The only way to "fix" it is to deselect the road segment, zoom all of the out, and zoom all of the way back in to the section you're editing and hope the segment can be changed when you select it again.

Also, I thought it was a conflict with WME Color Highlights script but it's definitely the server causing these issues.


Try this, because it doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses: just turn your landmark layer off and work like that.

I'm betting it'll be fine, until they fix this on their end. It doesn't seem to help whether landmarks in view have names or even addresses, which means that's a red herring, so there's really nothing we can do.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:05 pm

davipt wrote:In my case zooming out or in or taking layers out doesn't solve it. And it's no extra script either. There is a javascript error (I've posted both on Firefox and Safari) and from that point on the javascript login is broken and only a refresh will solve it. I'm sure with the javascript error lines they can easily solve this. And I'm pretty sure this is a bug introduced days after the launch of the new version.


I myself am on Chrome, so maybe I'm getting a different error based on a different condition.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Too little error checking on cities

Postby skbun » Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:18 pm

This has been being discussed in various ways in other threads, but I wanted to put this here, so there's one place for Waze/the developers to look. (As a suffix to this, I'm not just putting these down as 'Look at how I can break the editor! I've actually had to fix real world cases of these problems.)

* City names with less than three characters are not rejected (Real world cases of such short names are exceedingly rare, but we get city smears all the time when people believe they've autocompleted a longer city name and haven't. See viewtopic.php?p=293748#p293748 (the problem) and viewtopic.php?p=295180#p295180 (possible solutions) for more on this.
* When the number of a city's streets is zero, a cityID is not deleted from the database (Related to above. If these don't get cleaned out, fat-finger errors can be reintroduced 'because that city DOES exist'.
* Spaces are not chopped from the middle of a city string (In other words, 'Federal Way' is not equal to 'Federal Way', but I can create a city with that name, and saving the latter will create a new CityID if it does not exist)
* Special characters are allowed in city names (e.g. $%,; ...) I suspect a couple select ones would want to be allowed like apostrophe, dashes...but as it is it looks like anything goes right now.
* 'The highlighted road is too far from the city it was added to' does not check altStreets for their cityIDs. I can add an alt street from anywhere in a state or country, in an alt street.
* In the United States, the state that the editor believes you are in is offered as a possible city. If I am in Washington, and start a city name with 'S', 'Washington' is given as an autocomplete. If I accept that, the cityID assigned is 100000040. I have to assume this is not what's wanted. (I've seen this sometimes, probably where a user was quickly tabbing around and didn't realize what they'd filled.) If there's a similar problem with countries on World, I can't see it because the infrastructure is being moved at the moment.
* I don't know how they got there, but there exist 'cities' in the database city names whose name is NULL or empty. I discovered this with the highlighter tool, when I saw two identical 'No City, State' entries in an area. One example is the altStreet on https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lat ... s=61284239 whose cityID is 47991, not 999953. My guess is there are others on NA or world. I don't know if that might cause weird pollution behind the scenes.
* Please add more than six colors to the 'Cities' layer pallette. See viewtopic.php?p=293719#p293719 for more information.
* The Javascript console tells me when a new city has to be created. Can the user be alerted to it too, so they can be sure that they wanted to do that?

As always, thank you so much for reading!
Last edited by skbun on Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:27 pm

Timbones wrote:Skbun, you might want to send these issues directly to Waze Support...


I took your suggestion and did so. Thank you!
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Road direction picking changed

Postby skbun » Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:46 pm

Something oddball in the way of a change has happened at least on the NA editor, and I can't put my finger on what it is.

Consider permalink https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lat ... s=54685761

My attention was brought to this area because there's an automated report saying 'restricted turn might be allowed'. The thing is (as this is an express lane interchange) both ramps had direction 'Unknown' on them. However...if you look at streets in this area, you'll see that you're now only given three choices for directionals: One way A-B, One way B-A, and Two Way. Even the sister ramp attached to the one I saved as two way (I had no other choice!), shows the Xs I would associate with an 'Unknown direction' road, but I can't select it in the dropdowns.

Tried basic things to reset the segment like pulling its endnodes away from either side, saving, putting back...no go. I don't want to lose speed data for the segment, so I haven't done more than that and figured I'd put it out there to be investigated.

If I type 'R' to change the directions with the keyboard, 'Two Way' stays on screen for two keypresses. So it's like it is aware Unknown is kind-of-sort-of there, but isn't offering it as a choice; that the directional picker has gotten somehow broken - at the very least changed - and I don't understand the rationale of why. We do USE 'unknown' type designations for streets in situations like short to mid-term road construction, and to explicitly prevent routing on street types that otherwise allow it (like ramps) so...
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Road direction picking changed

Postby skbun » Thu Nov 22, 2012 8:59 pm

bz2012 wrote:something strange is going on around there. To the south and east, I see the symptoms you are reporting. To the west, segments act normally.
I don't know how far the 'three directions only' region extends.


I do see this 'three directions only' as far south as rural central California, and the Bay Area (San Jose, CA, etc.) Seems to be a pretty big area in that sense, but yeah, further west than my permalink, it DOES act how it used to.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:38 am

The 'Landmarks causes segment selection' crashes continue, FWIW. I'd still recommend keeping the landmarks layer disabled. I've found a different predictable use case and will forward it to nanorep support tonight.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 45 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], LeighGr, miole67