Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:38 am

maantje76 wrote:What happens if you change the zoomlevel in the not working permalink?

I did see this happen with some permalinks also. Changing the zoomlevel in the link let the segments apear for me...I can't remember the exact levels that gave this problem, but think I can find it back...

changing the zoomlevel (or removing that parameter entirely so that F5/ctrl-R refresh will re-fetch the view) does NOT 'fix' the problem. The 'selected segment' is still not selected.
In fact, I can remove ALL the parameters except the 'segment=' and pan and zoom around, hitting 'refresh' without the segment(s) showing as selected UNLESS I 'fix' the 'problem' in the permalink by changing the 'style' (removing the '#' and other 'non essential' "junk") from the URL.

It appears to me that some change in WME's code "broke" the 'segment selector' for URLs that used to work fine. Those URLs still work for all the other parameters (zoom, lat, lon, layers.)
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1279 times
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:25 am

Timbones wrote:Technical explanation: Any parameters after a # symbol will not be sent to the server when requesting a URL. The '#name' concept is for the browser only, and is so that you can have links within a document. It's part of the HTML specification, not the HTTP protocol.

The permalink button simply adds the parameters on the end of the URL in the address bar. If there happens to be a # on the end of the address (for whatever reason), you end up with a link that won't work.

Also, the last example that had '?&' at the start of the parameters probably won't work either.

via mobile

The thing that puzzles me was that ALL the parameters EXCEPT the segments seemed to be accepted.
I get the right coordinates and zoom etc. Just not the 'selected segments' actually selected.
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1279 times
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:14 am

Technical explanation: Any parameters after a # symbol will not be sent to the server when requesting a URL. The '#name' concept is for the browser only, and is so that you can have links within a document. It's part of the HTML specification, not the HTTP protocol.

The permalink button simply adds the parameters on the end of the URL in the address bar. If there happens to be a # on the end of the address (for whatever reason), you end up with a link that won't work.

Also, the last example that had '?&' at the start of the parameters probably won't work either.

via mobile
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6736
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 987 times
Been thanked: 2670 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:03 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The # should not be in the permalink. Are you always getting the permalink from context-click/copy link the permalink? I've not seen it appear before.


Not sure. I just started noticing the fact that many of the 'unlock request' and 'update request' permalinks were NOT selecting the included segments, so I have been trying to figure out why.

Looking back at 'saved permalinks', I see three different 'styles' I have saved over the months.
"/#?%23%3F=&zoom=4&"
"/?zoom=8&"
"/#?zoom=4&"
ALL had been working until recently when I noticed that supplied permalinks were showing me the area but not the segments.
I am currently unable to tell if the failure to display the selected segments is something with the editor or with database failures to fetch.
From the fact that I have observed the problem with a 'clean copy' of chrome (no extensions) and the fact that the error seems to be intermittent, I am now suspecting database fetch problems.
Next step is going to be to 1) reboot my router (that fixed a problem earlier) and 2) look at error messages in the java console.

EDIT:
For example, the link in this message viewtopic.php?f=265&t=33174&p=304102#p303696
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#?%23%3F=&zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT&segments=68692666"
did not select the segment.
but, after trimming a couple of times,"https://www.waze.com/editor/?&zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT&segments=68692666"
did select the segment.
My first try: "https://www.waze.com/editor/#?&zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTTTTTTTTTTTFT&segments=68692666" did not select the segment.
(this just happened and I am NOT at home right now so my router is NOT guilty, in this case)
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1279 times
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:21 am

The # might come from some script or tool. Any html link object that you add will have a # at the end if it is set the same as the page (document object) URL.

The WME Permalink is always correct from what I have seen.
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:41 am

The # should not be in the permalink. Are you always getting the permalink from context-click/copy link the permalink? I've not seen it appear before.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:54 am

Look the same to me...?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:54 am

Problem: Permalinks fail to select the 'selected' segment(s).

Recently, I have been noticing that often the posted permalink in a posting on the board fails to select the 'selected' segments. I even tried creating a permalink and found that it failed to select the 'selected' segment.

I tried removing ALL extensions. No joy.
I tried running a 'clean version' of google chrome inside a sandboxie sandbox. No joy.

I started 'trimming stuff' out of the permalink. JOY!

THIS PERMALINK WORKS:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat=36.5861&lon=-87.39253&layers=BFTFFTTTTTTTTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=68716037"

THIS ONE fails:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#?zoom=5&lat=36.5861&lon=-87.39253&layers=BFTFFTTTTTTTTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=68716037"

The difference? the "#" seems to be causing a problem, preventing actually selecting the segments but NOT preventing the other parameters from being used.

So, if you are having the same problem I have been having, try deleting the #.

I am NOT sure why this problem just started recently!

EDIT: Unfortunately, I just tried with another permalink and have the same problem but no # sign in the permalink and no solution so far!.
EDIT2: further experimentation: I got it to work:
This permalink I just generated by right clicking on permalink and copying link address:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lat=39.60382&lon=-75.95991&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=69086000,69086005,69086004,69086003,68347766,68214716"
Does NOT work.
This one:
"https://www.waze.com/editor/?&zoom=7&lat=39.60382&lon=-75.95991&layers=BFTFFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT&segments=69086000,69086005,69086004,69086003,68347766,68214716"
Does.
FURTHER TESTING shows it seems to be very intermittent and I don't know what works and what doesn't!!!!
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1493
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1279 times
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby PhantomSoul » Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:42 pm

Even distributing house numbers per segment has limited accuracy, as city lots may not be evenly divided over that area, but this way it at least gets you to the correct block.

What we really need are address and/or landmark mappings to specific lat/lon coordinates, precise enough to make sense in a driving context. This way we can accurately find anything from residences to specific stores in large strip malls to specific parking lots in parks. I realize it would undoubtedly be a massive undertaking, but it could launch Waze way ahead of everyone else in terms of locating places.
PhantomSoul
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:00 am
Location: Union, NJ USA
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 501 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:46 pm

pvaladares wrote:It would be really nice if there were a feature in the WME so editors could easily populate all the nearby segments with the same properties (type of road, direction, name, etc). 8-)

You already can select multiple roads (CTRL-Click them or turn on multi-select [see the keyboard shortcuts] and then just click) one at a time or pick one, then "Select Entire Street"...

You can change type, direction, level on roads with different City/Street names this way...

If you want to change City or Street property, you have to change BOTH fields together - you can't select Main St & Town Rd to change just the City property because you'll end up losing the Street name...
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7191
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1319 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dude495, Exabot [Bot]