Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby ahcheong » Mon Dec 03, 2012 1:52 am

something wrong to my drive in WME..

after click my drive on 2012-12-02 14:44 (MTY/UTC+8), nothing show on WME map. (including map and driving route). may refer the image below:

[ img ]

p/s: other drives are fine.
ahcheong
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:48 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:22 pm

Possible fix for:
"Highlighted segment has been extended beyond the allowed distance"

I was putting in a rail line (people insist on riding with waze turned on and that generates 'missing road' errors).
I had dragged one end of the new segment for a long distance and saved.
Went back and dragged the other end.
Tried to save.
Got the dreaded error message.
Decided, rather than undo until it would accept, to try something else.
I joined a temporary segment to the segment I had been extending.
WME allowed me to save!
Delete the temp segment and node and saved some work!
May be a 'one time thing' and it may never work again, on the other hand, try it, it doesn't cost anything.
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1215 times
Been thanked: 276 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:51 am

The current version of WME works far better in general than the previous version. The tabbed panel is definitely a winner for the user scripts.
The segment join pop up appears like it should without having to save first. In about 90% of the cases where multiple new segments were selected, it did not appear in the old one.
My biggest single gripe is the geometry nodes. The old solid square nodes contrasted much better, and was much more visible when located near or on top of segment joins.
I don't mind them being round, but no fill vs filled should be considered as a preference setting. Currently the nodes hide very well when zoomed out far enough.
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:09 am

skbun wrote:Speaking of ads...it would appear that advertisement landmarks (probably on a hidden layer) are coming up in WME.

Put in 'Seattle, WA' into the search box, and you'll get two results:
'Seattle, WA'
'LIVE HERE! - ...(address)'


Oddly, it only worked for me if I capitalized Seattle, WA exactly the way you did.

Looks like an empty lot to me.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 984 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby SocalToe » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:18 am

Ok, I power reset my router............


Editor is working much better now......



:ugeek:
SocalToe
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:45 am

Speaking of ads...it would appear that advertisement landmarks (probably on a hidden layer) are coming up in WME.

Put in 'Seattle, WA' into the search box, and you'll get two results:
'Seattle, WA'
'LIVE HERE! - ...(address)'

If you go into the Waze client, you'll see that this is a advertising popup for a location. I'm thrilled actually that Waze is getting more sources for these! - but my guess is that these aren't meant to be a searchable layer in WME?
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby skbun » Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:29 am

Kuhlkatz wrote:The intention is not say anyone is incompetent. We all strive to better the maps in our area, AND we all make mistakes - it's part of the game, especially since we all tend to spend late nights editing. I get annoyed with myself too. After completing an area and looking at it weeks later, I still find some obvious mistakes.


No, though...we don't have nearly enough editors in number to cover say, the United States, and some localities just don't have the numbers they need.

I know Waze can turn on ads encouraging people who have the app to join, say, a local TV traffic group (I've seen this in the California Bay Area, and Portland). We'd have a big influx of people, potentially, but would it be worth it to have an ad for a week or so - if you're not in one of those areas - that says something like 'Fixes needed where you drive? Become an editor!', which links to the video...might get people involved. We'd have a lot of basic stuff to teach on, but the overall effect might be a positive. Curious what people think about that idea.
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:39 pm

bz2012 wrote:but it decodes all but "segment=xxxxxxx,xxxxxxx".
Does it fail to decode 'the LAST' &parameter='?


This intrigued me. I moved parameters around, and it's not the 'last' one that does not work. It seems to break the selection 'code' for landmarks & segments (not tried with URs).
Disabling all of my user scripts also had no effect.
I'm stopping short of debugging the WME code to check how the parameters are handled.

I have not noticed many 'broken' links like this, as I do most of my reading from Tapatalk, and tend to follow the interesting ones on the PC. I'm an AM, so I'm on the generating side of unlock requests, not on the actioning side.

bz2012 wrote:Sometimes I miss something or make a mistake, but from the number of mistakes I find, I think I am 'improving things more than messing them up.' I hope so.

The intention is not say anyone is incompetent. We all strive to better the maps in our area, AND we all make mistakes - it's part of the game, especially since we all tend to spend late nights editing. I get annoyed with myself too. After completing an area and looking at it weeks later, I still find some obvious mistakes.

My personal opinion is that if the OP uses the correct URL and the WME Permalink, links should really not end up broken.
I just wanted to throw in the boardwalk as a curve ball, as the GPS tracks does a good thing of hiding the obvious, and likely everyone was more interested in why WME seemed broken ;)
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby bz2012 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:26 pm

Kuhlkatz wrote:
bz2012 wrote:It appears to me that some change in WME's code "broke" the 'segment selector' for URLs that used to work fine. Those URLs still work for all the other parameters (zoom, lat, lon, layers.)


It's simply because the URL is broken.
The editor URL only accepts parameters for supported WME objects, and in the standard format for URLs :
Code: Select all
 http://site/pages/?param_1=value_1&param_2=value_2{&param_n=value_n}

The "...#?%23%3F=&zoom=6..." translates to "...#?#?=&zoom=6..." when the URL is 'decoded' which does not look good. The browser will attempt to find a local anchor tag on the page named according to what follows the "#" sign , which it cannot as it does not exist.

but it decodes all but "segment=xxxxxxx,xxxxxxx".
Does it fail to decode 'the LAST' &parameter='?
Does this mean it has ALWAYS done this? From the fact that I have been saving various permalinks for quite some time and only noticed that they fail to select the segments NOW indicate that I have been oblivious to something that has been happening for a long time or that something has changed with the way the scripting handles the URL?
Has google chrome changed the way it passes parameters?
Don't all scripting languages have a way of fetching the whole URL line? Remember, WME is NOT written in HTML, most of it seems to be javascript.
Do a control-U to view the code.
WME keeps changing, sometimes without notice, so that is what I first suspected.
I have not 'dug into the code' to see what might be the problem with the parameter passing, but that would be where I would start troubleshooting if I wanted to spend time playing with the code rather than fixing the roads.


Has anybody actually bothered asking Rftyree, the OP that provided the permalink what browser and 'addons' he/she is using? Surely all users will have permalinks like this on the NA server if WME is broken.

I notice that when I grab a permalink (and I almost always do it the same way, by right clicking on the words and copying the link and then pasting it into a text editor so I can save it for later double checking) that the format varies from time to time. I have not found a pattern to the variations yet.
It is likely not WME that screws up the permalink, but something that either overwrites the original WME permalink or provides a 'Permalink' option of it's own, where the code screws it up.

It could even be a screwed browser shortcut :
If I start a blank page and type in the URL "https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#", WME opens up fine and my Permalink is then :
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#?zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTTFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT"
which is also screwed, and obviously not WME's fault. It simply uses the main URL for the page, which it rightfully expects to end in /editor/.

Good information but I don't usually type the url that way.
You should rather ask why this boardwalk is connected to the road ?

I find railroad and walking trails connected to roads all the time. Many were created by 'admin' long ago and have never been edited. Just like I find 'single node loops' created by admin, long ago and 'wrong state roads' created by admin. Stuff like that happens. When I find them, I fix them.
Sometimes I miss something or make a mistake, but from the number of mistakes I find, I think I am 'improving things more than messing them up.' I hope so.
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1215 times
Been thanked: 276 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:48 am

bz2012 wrote:It appears to me that some change in WME's code "broke" the 'segment selector' for URLs that used to work fine. Those URLs still work for all the other parameters (zoom, lat, lon, layers.)


It's simply because the URL is broken.
The editor URL only accepts parameters for supported WME objects, and in the standard format for URLs :
Code: Select all
 http://site/pages/?param_1=value_1&param_2=value_2{&param_n=value_n}

The "...#?%23%3F=&zoom=6..." translates to "...#?#?=&zoom=6..." when the URL is 'decoded' which does not look good. The browser will attempt to find a local anchor tag on the page named according to what follows the "#" sign , which it cannot as it does not exist.

Has anybody actually bothered asking Rftyree, the OP that provided the permalink what browser and 'addons' he/she is using? Surely all users will have permalinks like this on the NA server if WME is broken.
It is likely not WME that screws up the permalink, but something that either overwrites the original WME permalink or provides a 'Permalink' option of it's own, where the code screws it up.

It could even be a screwed browser shortcut :
If I start a blank page and type in the URL "https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#", WME opens up fine and my Permalink is then :
"https://www.waze.com/editor/#noclue#?zoom=6&lat=36.58566&lon=-87.39019&layers=BFTTFTTTFTTFTTTTFTTTTFT"
which is also screwed, and obviously not WME's fault. It simply uses the main URL for the page, which it rightfully expects to end in /editor/.

You should rather ask why this boardwalk is connected to the road ?
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 160 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: paulkok_my

cron