Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:50 pm

The proper format for GPS coordinate entry in the app is found in the FAQ.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.4 | Waze v4a
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23340
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1057 times
Been thanked: 4385 times

Re: Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby BlazeTool » Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:51 am

Most definitely can be GPS coordinates. And, on iOS at least, you can even put the GPS coordinates as the first line of the address for a contact and then have the search pull the coordinates from the contact. Very helpful for those places Bing doesn't get right.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby BlazeTool » Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:18 pm

Either just hover over the location in

WME (it shows in the lower right corner), or

LiveMap (be warned though, the numbers display backwards from the order you need them),

or use Google Maps along with a bookmarklet.

I modified an existing bookmarklet to put the coordinates in the right order without any superfluous labels. Just create a shortcut with the following as the URL and when you are centered on the location in Google Maps, click on the bookmarklet.

Code: Select all
javascript:void(prompt('', gApplication.getMap().getCenter().lng() + "," + gApplication.getMap().getCenter().lat()));


Unfortunately there is no way I know of to grab the coordinates from the waze client.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby DangerDaneDK » Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:39 am

Long has it bothered me to see that you have to enter adress to actually "select" your home location in waze. Why not simply make it possible to add a GPS position instead?
Flemming J., Denmark
Area Manager: Triangle Area, SEJ, Denmark
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 SMF-900, Android 4.4.2, Waze: Newest

ImageImage
DangerDaneDK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby DangerDaneDK » Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:17 am

I thought it had to be adress only. If you use the home "button"
Flemming J., Denmark
Area Manager: Triangle Area, SEJ, Denmark
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 SMF-900, Android 4.4.2, Waze: Newest

ImageImage
DangerDaneDK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby DangerDaneDK » Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:49 pm

Then I just have to figure out how to "grab" the actual coordinates
Flemming J., Denmark
Area Manager: Triangle Area, SEJ, Denmark
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 SMF-900, Android 4.4.2, Waze: Newest

ImageImage
DangerDaneDK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:04 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby gerben » Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:33 pm

You can search on coordinates, but you might have to switch lat and lon before it works.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4776
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 193 times

Re: Putting in "Home" via GPS location rather then adresss?

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:42 am

MeX_DK wrote:Long has it bothered me to see that you have to enter adress to actually "select" your home location in waze. Why not simply make it possible to add a GPS position instead?


All you have to do is tap/hold the home location on the screen and set it like that.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 355 times
Been thanked: 900 times


Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ih8dis, MartiniB72