Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby TheGridExe » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:13 pm

I use Firefox and Chrome and the editor seems more picky on Firefox than Chrome when choosing road segments.
ImageImageImage
TheGridExe
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Location: Sarasota, FL, USA
Has thanked: 176 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby TheGridExe » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:33 pm

I'm glad I'm not the only one who has problems with selecting road segments on the WME. The only way to "fix" it is to deselect the road segment, zoom all of the out, and zoom all of the way back in to the section you're editing and hope the segment can be changed when you select it again.

Also, I thought it was a conflict with WME Color Highlights script but it's definitely the server causing these issues.
ImageImageImage
TheGridExe
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Location: Sarasota, FL, USA
Has thanked: 176 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Stisj » Sat Nov 10, 2012 4:20 pm

Hello

Since the new update I'm experiencing some problems when I want to edit. When zoomed in, I select a street that I want to edit. Unfortunately the left editor area doesn't say "one segment selected" (including all editable information) like it should be. It keeps saying "hello stijnley, you are level 1 editor......."

When I zoom out and select the same street, I can edit a few minutes after zooming back in. But the problem keeps coming back when selecting a nearby street.

Can someone help me out?

Thank you!
Image
|| Area Manager Gent | Belgium ||
Stisj
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:19 pm
Location: Belgium - Gent
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby stevecody » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:59 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
stevecody wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:[quote="davipt"]So waze please tell me the nickname of the reporter!!!

This is being looked into by management. Right now, the TOS/Privacy Policy doesn't allow it. It may be as easy as modifying that, but we're not sure.


I don't care to know who the person is but I would LOVE to be able to simply send them a message, as in Cartouche.

Right there with ya! The email contains your username and a link to the forum, so if they are motivated, they can contact you.[/quote]

Yeah, that is nice. I actually had a friend at work thank me because he received one of those emails after I fixed a problem he reported. :)




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Steve Cody
Image
stevecody
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:18 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby stevecody » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:52 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:So waze please tell me the nickname of the reporter!!!

This is being looked into by management. Right now, the TOS/Privacy Policy doesn't allow it. It may be as easy as modifying that, but we're not sure.


I don't care to know who the person is but I would LOVE to be able to simply send them a message, as in Cartouche.

As an example, I have a person who repeatedly reports a General Error in the same location frequently. I haven't found anything wrong there and there are no other details. I can drive in the area and hope something jumps out at me, but I really have no idea what the intent of their report is.
Steve Cody
Image
stevecody
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:18 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Spil » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:50 am

daknife wrote:Funny, I'd deliberately looked for that before and it wasn't there but now when I click on the same section of freeway I first looked for it at, the link to add/edit an alternate is indeed there. I retract.
Just a quick note on what might have caused that -- if there is no Primary Name set (i.e., if the Primary Name is checked "no name"), then you cannot add an Alternate Name; you'll need to set a Primary Name and click "Apply", then click on "Edit" again and you will see the "Alternate Name" addition option. :)
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby SocalToe » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:18 am

Ok, I power reset my router............


Editor is working much better now......



:ugeek:
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby SocalToe » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:13 am

jasonh300 wrote:
invented wrote:It wouldn't be an issue with a cable modem, it's just a dumb bridge. Maybe with something doing NAT like your router. Perhaps the user that reported success was using a combined modem/router thing.


It could be, as was pointed out by davipt and bz2012 earlier: viewtopic.php?p=288168#p288168

Does anyone make a Cable or DSL modem anymore that's not a combo modem/router? I've been trying to get a DSL modem for my office without a router because the wireless routers keep failing, but AT&T claims they don't use those anymore.



Just plug your own wireless network router into 1 of the ethernet ports on the modem and turn the wireless off on the modem............
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby SocalToe » Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:51 pm

All it's doing right now is

'Loading road data' for minutes and minutes and minutes........

Can't edit a thing.................
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby SocalToe » Sat Nov 10, 2012 7:32 am

When in the editer,

Please keep my 'drive' that I clicked on highlighted so I can remember which 'drive' I'm looking at.

Previous editor kept it highlighted/marked............
Ed
SocalToe
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:03 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AliTraq, Yahoo [Bot]