[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby Pete-Keller » Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:15 am

gerben wrote:But the tab should show up with the basic functions if you click anywhere on a blank part of the map (no roads or landmarks).


OK, now the tab has finally shown up. I rebooted the computer to try to clear cache.

Pete
Pete-Keller
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby rottielover » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:18 pm

I didn't see any video's on youtube about how to fix U-Turn and RevCon nodes (using the highlight script to find them).

I tried my hand at creating one : http://youtu.be/IFNXGQjA4kc

I had some trouble with the volume. Let me know what you think.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby BlazeTool » Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:35 pm

rottielover wrote:I didn't see any video's on youtube about how to fix U-Turn and RevCon nodes (using the highlight script to find them).

I tried my hand at creating one : http://youtu.be/IFNXGQjA4kc

I had some trouble with the volume. Let me know what you think.


Only criticism is that you should tell users to check existing turn restrictions before doing a QW or disconnect/reconnect. You mention double checking when you are finished, but they might not know what restrictions they need to put back in without checking existing restrictions before modifying.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16

Postby fvwazing » Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:59 pm

What BlazeTool says, check first and double-check later.

As for reconnecting segments: I made it a habit to move the node a bit, then deselect, then select it again and drag it back. Didn't know it can be done in one move ;-)

And please - configure your PC to show a extra-BIG mousecursor next time. And move it slower.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby rottielover » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:57 pm

BlazeTool wrote:Only criticism is that you should tell users to check existing turn restrictions before doing a QW or disconnect/reconnect. You mention double checking when you are finished, but they might not know what restrictions they need to put back in without checking existing restrictions before modifying.


I felt it was a bit redundant to keep saying "check, check, check". Plus I've found plenty of nodes that had incorrect turn restrictions already set (by fixing the revcon or uturn you end up fixing improper turn restrictions sometimes). Remember this video is targeted to more "advanced" map editor's (AM's and above).

However, I'll add some overlay text via YouTube to put a reminder in .
Last edited by rottielover on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby rottielover » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:00 pm

fvwazing wrote:As for reconnecting segments: I made it a habit to move the node a bit, then deselect, then select it again and drag it back. Didn't know it can be done in one move ;-)

And please - configure your PC to show a extra-BIG mousecursor next time. And move it slower.


I've found you can usually do it all in one move, but I have run into some segments and nodes on a "case by case" basis that required "fiddling" with the editor to get them right. I had a loop road just a min ago that I ended up having to completely disconnect all segments, save, then reconnect to get this thing to save properly. Most of the time you can do it all in a few steps then save.

Good point on the mouse cursor, the speed is slightly increased due to the video encoding. I'll make it giant size next time ;)
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:27 pm

How about a highlight option for whether a segment has alternate names (linked streets)?

And, since we can't seem them easily in the editor and likely won't have a mass way to see them later, a highlight if a shield type/name pair are assigned to a segment's primary street? Maybe a modification of that highlight if there is a shield assigned to the street id of an alternate name/linked street?
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23614
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4823 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby jondrush » Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:06 am

How about a toggle switch for the RR display? It makes it hard to pick the RR sometimes.
jondrush
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2654
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 194 times
Been thanked: 526 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby Timbones » Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:19 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:How about a highlight option for whether a segment has alternate names (linked streets)?

If you're enabled the option to highlight a certain city, then you'll see a dashed yellow line when it is in the alternate street. I'm guessing you'll like a separate highlight for any segments which have alternate names?

Mike has an script that could display shields...

jondrush wrote:How about a toggle switch for the RR display? It makes it hard to pick the RR sometimes.

Yes, the dotted lines can be hard to select. Turning off the Highlight Landmarks option will turn off the dotted lines for Railroads too.
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6757
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 989 times
Been thanked: 2689 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby zannax » Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:13 am

Hi Timbones,
With new editor the script does not save option
Marco
zannax
 
Posts: 1060
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:53 am
Location: Calusco d'Adda (BG)
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 93 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, usa_134w9298

cron