Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:31 pm

wroadd wrote:As I see there was a change in the WME, new fields are available for gas stations (and any other landmarks) for country (state) and city

So it seems. Does this mean that landmarks will become searchable items?
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1888 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:48 pm

GizmoGuy411 wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:...
EDIT: Is URO the Overview script that puts them on the livemap?


It is this: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29054&hilit=UROverview

Actually, it's not. This is the droid your are looking for --> viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29381
(The first one gives you popups for URs in the editor, the second adds UR markers to the Livemap)
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1888 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:32 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:It's happening to me on Chrome/Win7.

Me too :(

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1888 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:36 pm

Skbun, you might want to send these issues directly to Waze Support...

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1888 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:45 pm

numbtrip wrote:I am trying to edit UK maps.

I've not heard of any other editors having problems editing in the UK. Here are some suggestions of things to try:

  • Make sure you're on the right server: https://world.waze.com/editor/ /!\
  • Don't use Internet Explorer - Firefox or Chrome are recommended
  • Disable any addons, plugins, ad blockers, etc
  • Check that the Roads layer is turned on
  • If you're having problems selecting roads, turn off the Landmarks layer
  • Clear out your browser cache
Hope that helps...
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1888 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Timbones » Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:14 am

Technical explanation: Any parameters after a # symbol will not be sent to the server when requesting a URL. The '#name' concept is for the browser only, and is so that you can have links within a document. It's part of the HTML specification, not the HTTP protocol.

The permalink button simply adds the parameters on the end of the URL in the address bar. If there happens to be a # on the end of the address (for whatever reason), you end up with a link that won't work.

Also, the last example that had '?&' at the start of the parameters probably won't work either.

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5806
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 662 times
Been thanked: 1888 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby TonyTorrent » Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:33 am

shirlig wrote:Hi guys,

We have just released a new major WME version. This version has been developed and tested for a long time and we'd like to thank our amazing beta testers for all their help and input.

(edited for space)

I hope you guys will all enjoy these changes!
Please feel free to share your feedback...

Thanks,

Shirli


Hi Shirli. :)

I'm fairly new to Waze, but I've got some corrections for the map in my local area that I'd like to do. One of them is adding a gas station to the map. I've looked over the videos and the manual, but the one thing both of them show is the information input pane that should show up on the left side by the map.

When I try to do this, I click on the + button, then do the outline of where the station is, but that's as far as I can go with it. The information input pane doesn't show up, so I'm not able to actually make the correction.

Just for the sake of it, I checked the other items I should be able to change, such as adding a road, and the information input pane shows up as it should.

Now, once again, I am new to Waze and only have about 250 miles logged with it. Is that the reason this isn't showing up? If you need to know, I'm using Google Chrome for my browser.

I have reported this to the Support people, and hopefully they'll be able to add the station in for me.

Also, is there a way to add a gas station that's not a name brand? For example, there's a small gas station near me that doesn't have any corporate name, such as Sunoco or Mobile. It's a privately owned station, but the prices of their gas is normally 5 to 10 cents lower. For Wazers that aren't from the area, that would help them save a lot of money. I'd like to add that station if it is possible.

Thanks!

TT
TonyTorrent
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 6:21 am
Location: Central New York State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby top_gun_de » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:35 pm

Maybe this is old, but I found no mention of the issue:

When I draw a new road and the road ends in an existing road, the beginning of the road does not have a node, resulting in a road with navigation issues.

I have just found a similar behaviour when I drag the end of a road from an existing junction. The resulting road will have no end-node.

In my opinion, this is bad. Due to the design of Waze's routing engine, every piece of road must end in nodes, there seems to be no case where the end of a road should not have a node. The standard behaviour of Waze should automatically generate a node when the end of a road is not connected to another road, thereby enforcing the wiki guidelines.

Best regards,

Detlev
Image
AM Region Hannover, CM Deutschland (Germany), Coordinator Germany, Global Champ

Wiki Deutschland | Straßen und Orte benennen D | Karte bearbeiten | Editorbedienung
top_gun_de
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6325
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:16 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Has thanked: 2264 times
Been thanked: 3070 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby top_gun_de » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:04 pm

The newly painted segment has no city and no name, so it is highlighted in grey. A newly painted road without an end-node is technically broken.

The highlighting extension is great, but it's new and not that wide-spread.

Best regards,

Detlev


Gesendet von meinem iPad mit Tapatalk HD
Image
AM Region Hannover, CM Deutschland (Germany), Coordinator Germany, Global Champ

Wiki Deutschland | Straßen und Orte benennen D | Karte bearbeiten | Editorbedienung
top_gun_de
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6325
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:16 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Has thanked: 2264 times
Been thanked: 3070 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby Trinity76 » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:31 pm

Hi all
New WME looks great - but found a little problem:
The "+" to add roads etc. overlays the layer selector - see attached jpeg.
How can I change this ? Is it only a problem at my desk ?
CU Sven
Waze.JPG
Waze.JPG (13.4 KiB) Viewed 1068 times
Waze for Android (3.5.3.0) on HTC Sensation XE (4.0.3)

Image
Trinity76
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:01 pm
Location: Böblingen - Germany
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mincho77, SIM871