Source code repository on github

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:54 am

cymike wrote:
xteejx wrote:What was the point of doing that?

Just wanted to see how different versions relate/differ etc. Git repository makes it convenient. Also it might be convenient for people who want to make their own improvements/modifications.
3.0 source isn't even available yet.

3.0 changes seem to be mostly gui-related anyway.


not only gui changed, you cannot tweak "preferences" file anymore, afaik.
BA-SVK & surroundings AreaManager, Soc. Med. XP
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V Exception+HTC One S, stock Android 4.0.4, waze 3.6.0.0
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:43 pm

xteejx wrote:You certainly can, on Android at least.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk


if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).
BA-SVK & surroundings AreaManager, Soc. Med. XP
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V Exception+HTC One S, stock Android 4.0.4, waze 3.6.0.0
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:00 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
Suik wrote:if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).

Being able to change prefs is different than the client actually using the prefs. They could have internalized those settings for good reasons. Sorry to be picky, but there is a difference in what you're asking could be done vs. the effect of doing it. :geek:


No worries Alan :). I thank you for the explanation :). I've read across the forum several times, that 3.x. code has not been released etc. etc. (not sure on current status), so I thought it has something to do with it....
BA-SVK & surroundings AreaManager, Soc. Med. XP
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V Exception+HTC One S, stock Android 4.0.4, waze 3.6.0.0
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby zCougar » Fri May 04, 2012 2:03 pm

I really hope that Waze will either make an API open and stable and some coders will write a new )and better!) GPL client or Waze will still make its client source available.

I'm actually quite disappointed how Waze tries to make its platform more closed instead of making it more open for everybody. Unfortunately there is nothing better available today than Waze but I do not see any reason why OSM or anyone else can't do something like that in the future and I really hope it will happen in this case.

I'll probably switch back to 2.4.0 if Waze confirms that they do not plan to release 3.x source code any more.

--
Cougar
Image
Waze 3.9.4.0: Nexus 4 | Nexus 5 | Nexus 7
CM@Estonia / WME beta tester / Android beta tester
PALUN LOE: Waze eestikeelne juhend wikis
zCougar
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Estonia
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 59 times

Previous

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher