Pave New Roads - incomplete

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Pave New Roads - incomplete

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:23 am

RodNav wrote:Considering the fact that it appears that paving is not the preferred method, I would love to know how waze wants us to add new roads. I will certainly not add roads between towns by manually drawing many kilometres of roads. (Although I recently did just that because of this behaviour change! But I won't regularly do it)

Drawing them in the editor is generally both faster and more accurate if you have either accurate aerials or GPS tracks. Although the "Create Road" function doesn't work at this time, you should still be able manually draw a road over the red dashed section.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Pave New Roads - incomplete

Postby AlaXul » Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:13 am

I drove around a new survey in my area and found only parts of paved roads showed up in the map editor. Are there things I should watch for in order to get all of the roads uploaded? Things like, run waze for a few minutes before hand, don't shut it down for several minutes after finishing paving, any tips to aid with not missing road sections would be great.

Thanks
AlaXul
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pave New Roads - incomplete

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:31 am

Paving is no longer the preferred method of creating roads... In the editor, you can access "My Drives" and sections that show up in red are areas where the system thinks you weren't on a known road. You can then click on those sections and a "Create Road" button will show up. Or you can just draw in the road from the aerial image.

Don't forget to finish off the roads in the editor (City & Street names) and make sure they are connected properly.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Pave New Roads - incomplete

Postby barryglot » Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:41 pm

i'm curious about this last point/question, too. and also, does it seem that the My Drives in Editor functions differently than just a few week ago. i get dashed red lines that show where i wasn't driving on roads, but am no longer able to click on that red segment to activate a Create Road button. that button is displayed but always greyed out.
barryglot
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 1:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pave New Roads - incomplete

Postby RodNav » Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:28 pm

barryglot wrote:i'm curious about this last point/question, too. and also, does it seem that the My Drives in Editor functions differently than just a few week ago. i get dashed red lines that show where i wasn't driving on roads, but am no longer able to click on that red segment to activate a Create Road button. that button is displayed but always greyed out.

This is indeed the case, and it means that paving is the only option to add a road based on actually driving the road.
Considering the fact that it appears that paving is not the preferred method, I would love to know how waze wants us to add new roads. I will certainly not add roads between towns by manually drawing many kilometres of roads. (Although I recently did just that because of this behaviour change! But I won't regularly do it)
Country Manager for South Africa.
Samsung GT-I9300 (Galaxy S3), Android 4.1.2
Image
RodNav
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Somerset West (40km from Cape Town), South Africa
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Pave New Roads - incomplete

Postby Twister-UK » Tue Dec 25, 2012 3:38 pm

Does using the Create Road button count towards the New Recorded Miles distance on your dashboard, or does that only track paved stretches of road? My recent experiences suggest it's the latter, which given the potential difference in points earned would mean the pave function still has real value despite its shortcomings.
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 858
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 325 times

Re: Pave New Roads - incomplete

Postby yippeekyaa » Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:00 am

My experience with paving has been so problematic that I simply don't pave anymore and just take notes about missing roads and simply add them to the map. Biggest issue I've found is that paved roads will show up on the client in red for months after you edit them.
Image
yippeekyaa
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:59 pm
Location: North Carolina
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GSD-Guy, Majestic-12 [Bot], sweep1230