iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, hilaroth

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:42 pm

davipt wrote:
Dave2084 wrote:The thing is when navigating Landscape is 2x4=8 and Portrait mode is 3x3=9, so why is it 3x2=6 for both when not navigating. It just doesn't make sense to me.


I got confused with all the numbers, but what he means, and is right, is that albeit it was mentioned that the "dialogue doesn't grow to keep the same size", but when when navigation is on, the dialogue does indeed grow, which is a conflict.

You're right. It does this in portrait too. I still think it's by design, but I'm not sure of the reason now. At the very least, it should be sized to fit the full icons and not cut them off.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4793 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby davipt » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:21 pm

Dave2084 wrote:The thing is when navigating Landscape is 2x4=8 and Portrait mode is 3x3=9, so why is it 3x2=6 for both when not navigating. It just doesn't make sense to me.


I got confused with all the numbers, but what he means, and is right, is that albeit it was mentioned that the "dialogue doesn't grow to keep the same size", but when when navigation is on, the dialogue does indeed grow, which is a conflict.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2771
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 597 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby Dave2084 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:11 pm

From previous beta thread:

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
kiwize wrote:In landscape mode on an iPhone 4S, the menu is not fully displayed and some icons are incomplete

That is by design to keep the size of the menu the same regardless of device and orientation. Many users do not like it.
I am locking this thread as the next beta has been released.


The thing is when navigating Landscape is 2x4=8 and Portrait mode is 3x3=9, so why is it 3x2=6 for both when not navigating. It just doesn't make sense to me.

Not navigating:
IMG_2095.PNG
(92.39 KiB) Downloaded 1825 times

Navigating:
IMG_2096.PNG
(90.36 KiB) Downloaded 1826 times
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2423
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 392 times
Been thanked: 383 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby davipt » Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:37 pm

while at it, here's a list of missing strings:

Strings I see on screen but can't be translated and/or I can't understand the original string:

Code: Select all
- √√ Navigate->Categories button and dialogue title
Categories=Categorias
- √√ Navigate->Favorites button and dialogue title
Favorites=Favoritos
- √√ Meetup->third icon; beta 3.5.1.9xx Navigate->Pick Up button and dialogue title
Pick Up=Boleia

- ## [MISSING DOESN'T WORK] pickup email subject (with dot)
I want to drive to you. Send me your location.=@@!Vou ter contigo. Diz-me onde estás.
- ## [MISSING DOESN'T WORK] Settings->Account->Profile
Replace these credentials with another username and password to log into other accounts.=@@!Replace these credentials with another username and password to log into other accounts.
- ## [MISSING DOESN'T WORK] Settings->Account->Profile
Changing accounts will also disconnect from Facebook.=@@!Changing accounts will also disconnect from Facebook.
- ## [MISSING DOESN'T WORK] Settings->Account->Profile
Replace these credentials with another username and password to log into other accounts.%nChanging accounts will also disconnect from Facebook.=@@!Replace these credentials with another username and pas
sword to log into other accounts.%nChanging accounts will also disconnect from Facebook.


Strings working but missing:
Code: Select all
- ## [MISSING OK] Wazer -> specials dialogue title, align with list item
My Specials=@Vales
- ## [MISSING OK] Settings->Facebook share Drive Summary. Dup with "summary at the bginning"
Share your destination, ETA and route summary and the beginning of every drive.=@Divulgar o destino, ETA e sumário do percurso no início de cada condução.
- ## [MISSING OK] spinner disconnecting foursquare
Disconnecting foursquare...=@A desligar do Foursquare…
- ## [MISSING OK] Foursquare, connect dialogue title ("Ligar Foursquare" doesn't fit)
Connect to foursquare=@Ligar ao 4SQ
- ## [MISSING OK] spinner disconnecting twitter
Disconnecting twitter...=@A desligar do Twitter…
- ## [MISSING OK] Share->Location->Destination email subject and body (on my way to <name>), use "de: " to cover masculine/feminine/neutral cases)
I'm on my way to=@Estou a caminho de:
- ## [MISSING OK] Share->Location->Destination body
I'll be there at=@Estarei lá por volta das
- ## [MISSING OK] Share->Location->Origin SMS (see "here w/ Waze"); SMS (O local chama-se: xxx. Conduz até lá...) when selecting a random segment on the map.
Drive here with Waze:=@Conduz até lá com o Waze:
- ## [MISSING OK] Share->Location->Destination
Drive there with Waze:=@@Conduz até lá com o Waze:
- ## [MISSING OK SIMILAR Thanks!] Gas prices, thanks after submitting prices
Your price will be posted once confirmed with other Wazers.=@O preço será publicado assim que seja confirmado por mais Wazers.
- ## [MISSING OK SIMILAR COLON] Pickup SMS
Hi, I want to drive to you. Use this link to send me your location, and watch as I arrive:=@Olá, vou ter contigo. Abre este link para me dizeres onde estás e veres quando é que eu chego:
- ## [MISSING OK] pickup email first line (with dot)
Hi, I want to drive to you.=@Olá, vou ter contigo.
- ## [MISSING DUP DOT] Pickup email second line
Click the link below to share your location with me.=@Usa o link abaixo para partilhares a tua localização comigo.
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2771
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 597 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby davipt » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:50 pm

another translation bug:

when the client starts and shows in the bottom, between the two buttons, the black box with "x wazers nearby\ny alerts", it also says "friends now online", but there is no translation for "1 friend now online", so I see the ugly "1 friend*S* now online". There is plenty of cases where there's already a different string for 1 and !=1 items, so please don't forget this one!

- √√ Map middle box randomly when friends are driving (says 1 amigos...)
friends now online=amigos a conduzir

IMG_4932.jpg
(54.78 KiB) Downloaded 1687 times
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2771
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 597 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:26 pm

davipt wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I really don't think there's much point to us testing this. By the version #, I would bet this has been sent to Apple already for release as v3.5.2. It typically happens that few fixes are done after the last beta and before release.


I surely hope not, I've been detecting issues with non translatable strings popping up. Not the case that the string doesn't yet exist on the translation file, but cases where even putting the string there won't translate it. The most obvious one is on navigate main screen, "categories", "favorites" and "pick up" are broken. Those are major regressions :(

Then I hope to be wrong.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4793 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby davipt » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:22 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I really don't think there's much point to us testing this. By the version #, I would bet this has been sent to Apple already for release as v3.5.2. It typically happens that few fixes are done after the last beta and before release.


I surely hope not, I've been detecting issues with non translatable strings popping up. Not the case that the string doesn't yet exist on the translation file, but cases where even putting the string there won't translate it. The most obvious one is on navigate main screen, "categories", "favorites" and "pick up" are broken. Those are major regressions :(
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2771
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 597 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:19 pm

This doesn't appear to be released via TestFlight, only the direct link. That link installed .999 for me.

I really don't think there's much point to us testing this. By the version #, I would bet this has been sent to Apple already for release as v3.5.2. It typically happens that few fixes are done after the last beta and before release.

jasonh300 wrote:I noticed this over the weekend (so that would be the previous beta). Did they ever alert if you weren't in navigation mode? I don't encounter RLCs on a daily basis.

Yes, they have. I can't say for sure about any previous 3.5.1.x beta, though. This was the first time I was around RLCs but not navigating.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4793 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby npv1459 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:43 pm

scarlogarcia wrote:As last beta release, I had to activate debug mode. It's not launched as default for this beta.

I confirm... At least for release from version .996
npv1459
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:13 am
Location: Casoria (NA)
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: iOS beta 3.5.1.999 feedback thread

Postby npv1459 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:40 pm

jasonh300 wrote:.....the annoying "Rate Us" screen came up again and it took about 15 seconds for it to respond to the Skip button.


Same to me.. Seems that the skip button doesn't work..
Maybe rate us screen is set to disappear automatically after few seconds??
npv1459
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:13 am
Location: Casoria (NA)
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 14 times

PreviousNext

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users