[Script] WME Add-Ons V0.45 ==> Features moved in WME Toolbox

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby davipt » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:07 pm

rottielover wrote:
TonyG-UK wrote:
rottielover wrote:Is there anyway to select all "unknown" direction segments using this tool?

I'm working in a lot of area's that are still basemapped. A quick way to select all the unknown directions and set them to two way would be a god send!


Do none of them have road names?


It's a mix. Typically what I see with this small towns are named streets with unknown direction. (...)

Another issue with these basemapped towns is having a lot of one-way's that should be two way (like dead end roads or cul-da-sac's etc). (...)


Please. Do. Not. Do. That!

Setting all roads to two-ways is a no-no according to the waze wiki. If the road is direction unknown or one-way, waze will learn the right way when people drive there. If you manually set the road to two-way, one-way roads will become two-way and people will be directed there against traffic.

Now about the dead end roads it would indeed be nice to have waze automatically set them to two-ways and add the node at the end, instead of the effort editors need to do to fix them up and specially when it requires extra scripts to detect and fix them.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby davipt » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:36 pm

gdu1971 wrote:
gdu1971 wrote:you're right , there is a problem sometimes with the zoom factor of the navigator.
I know where is the problem, I'll try to fix it.

I've got a test release for firefox which should fix zoom problems.
If someone who have the problem accept to test it, I'll give you a link (send PM)


He also fixed the no-name bug weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! great job! I've been waiting for this fix since the new editor!
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby davipt » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:45 pm

gdu1971 wrote:
gdu1971 wrote:I've just tested a simpler version. Picked two segments, one with name one without. Properties->set name->save failed.

And does this test works with the native editor in the same session when the error occurs with the script?


Sure, but if I use the editor, I kill the name of the segment with the name, or set the name to both. Give me a second.

Edit: you have PM with the failed post. It fails even with a single segment, as long as it has no name. Now while you look at it I'll investigate an editor request...

Edit2: updated with a working request. Maybe the fix is as simple as 'name:""' vs. 'name:null' ? :D
Last edited by davipt on Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby davipt » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:54 pm

gdu1971 wrote:Hello,
Normally the script works even for unnamed segments.
Just for test:
1) create some new segments and let them "red"
2) select them and script->properties
3) change city name only
4) save
=> works (for me)
IMO, It is more probably the payload (number of changes to send to the server) which lead in error.
Some users, during the test phase, reported me same problems and after another try having the correct behavior without any change.
I also have same problems sometimes with JNF and after 2 or 3 retries, it works...
Nevertheless, I will perform again some tests.


Nope, that is a different thing. If there are too many changes, there may be timeouts, "segment already changed", ghost segments, etc, but that's not the case here.

I've just tested a simpler version. Picked two segments, one with name one without. Properties->set name->save failed.

I'll say again, this is a bug introduced with the new editor and is happening with the original ext tools and this new tools, so to solve it one needs to understand what changed on the new editor.

Here's an example which you most probably can't edit but will show you the real case with two segments, one with and one without name link

Edit: definitively a case of empty name, I'll ping you directly.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby davipt » Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:10 pm

iainhouse wrote:In principal, I think I'm in favour of this. I have seen large towns where all the segments (including the roundabouts) have the city name set but none of the segments have road names. To me, that suggests someone looking for the big-points edit without doing the hard work of naming the streets.



IMHO it's quite the opposite. I personally am too busy with too many more general things related to waze (CM, translations, beta, gas stations, etc.) to be able to manually add all street names of a city - there are plenty of editors and AM's willing to win those points - but as a CM it pisses me off the way the city areas are generated, specially when they can get so easily corrupted by having a single segment out of place.

So as a CM I tend to collect, while driving, the entry and exit points of a locality (the signs stating the locality name on the road) and then at home I create a landmark covering the locality at the exact point it starts and ends. And then I want to ensure all streets under that landmark are set to the same consistent name, or else I'd start multiple overlapping city areas, or getting city areas coming from other places and terminating there.

There are also cases of editors setting the city name into all roads from the bigger "region" (municipality?), which is wrong, and hence I'd need the script to set all those wrong segments to "no-city" to clear up the huge city-area.

here's an example of the big city area of Sintra, the region/municipality, covering a lot of cities around, when Sintra the city is just a small part of it.

here's another case of an editor that set manually all street names (which is great) but the city name to a wrong value. "Colares" is some km NE, and that area have two localities: "Azóia" which I created the landmark already, and the upper part is a different locality I can't recall now. I gave up updating it when I tried to do the mass set of the "Azóia" landmark and the script's save failed.

here's another case where some segments have the locality "Alhos Vedros", some have the locality plus municipality "Alhos Vedros, Moita", and on the side there is the real city "Moita".

And it gets even worse on Lisbon the capital, which like London and other major cities, can't be a single city area, but needs to be divided into several areas. Unfortunately there are a million different city string combinations over there, and hence a million different areas, not even counting when a city area coming from miles away in both directions covers the city and then the label pop up in the middle of the city. There was a city area triangle from a city south of the river to a point north of lisbon, so people were always complaining when seeing that city name label over lisbon. That's clean now, but you can see similar stuff at the east side of lisbon, those two huge lines from north to south.

Anyway, this all to say that failing because the no-street is a bad idea in my opinion, but I do see a point on having the script ensuring that roundabouts and freeways, at least, would be kept no-city (or not selected on the "select on landmark").

Maybe I should do my own script just to do this operation myself in a safe manner ;)



PS: as far as I know, albeit editors will probably win 1.5 points per segment, they will win only once per city or street name, so a mass set of the city name may give a lot of points because that's a lot of segments, but it's points well deserved if the city name is set correctly. Giving street names is more worth because one gets the 1.5 for the segment and the 6 points for the new street name.
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby davipt » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:09 pm

Any idea why this script, as well as the latest version of the original ext-tools, fails since the new editor on the use case I need the most:
- create a new landmark
- script->select all in landmark
- script->properties
- script->change city name
- save

always fails to save :(

I urgently need to do some mass cityname changes now that city areas are being updated again... :|
Bruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ & Coordinator for Portugal | iPhone Beta
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby cybernissart » Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:38 pm

Hi Gilles,

Can you detail the changes done by the Clean Roundabout feature ?
It looks like every RP need a clean action, as it seems to modify them.
Is it removing street name and similar ? Changing some soft turn ?

As per my Suggestion posted on SVN page, I asked if possible to enable a 'Suppress Extra Jonctions' on roundabout as well, as some are having extra nodes, or we introduce lots when changing RP from Y mode to straight street node.
As manipulation of Roundabout is very sensitive, it would greatly help to clean junctions as well to improve them.
L5 CM France ° Nissa e basta !
cybernissart
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:32 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons V0.43

Postby ciamagno » Wed May 29, 2013 3:18 pm

ciamagno wrote:Many scripts stopped working in the last few days. I am afraid this is one is in this list as well. :/


Forget my last message, i just clean the cache and came back to life... :P
ciamagno
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Leeds
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 523 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons V0.43

Postby ciamagno » Wed May 29, 2013 3:15 pm

Many scripts stopped working in the last few days. I am afraid this is one is in this list as well. :/
ciamagno
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Leeds
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 523 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby CBenson » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:12 pm

I'm obviously not well versed in the intricacies of soft turn restrictions, particularly in non-base mapped areas. So do any turns ever automatically update from restricted to allowed in a non-base mapped area?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2352 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sh-oded, tonestertm, Virgil-nz