[Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.2.1 2017-08-16

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby jondrush » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:25 pm

Not everyone understands "overload" I had to read it a few times to understand what that meant.
jondrush
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2648
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 194 times
Been thanked: 516 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby kodi75 » Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:26 pm

Can someone point me to the page that explains how to use this tool? From what I have read in this forum, it uses some of the existing shortcut keys as detailed in the Map Editing Quick-start Guide. It would be nice if the tool "Makes Dead Ends two-ways" & the "Terminates Dead Ends" on all of the segments in the screen (or selected segments, in conjunction with the WME Add-Ons.

I have it installed in Chrome as an extension, like the Highlights and WME Add-ons 0.41 but don't see any tab for JNF.

Thanks.

bgodette wrote:Checks WME's API to make sure used objects and functions exist and are the correct type. This works as long as function argument order doesn't change. Next step is to regex match on function contents to confirm arg order.[/color]

Saves the state of WME's ShowAllTurns, ShowTurns and Full-screen mode across F5/Permalink.
Forces data model reload after successful save.

This overloads the 'q' (disallowAllTurns) hotkey action to preserve existing turn restrictions.
  • Fixes any self and reverse connectivity issues
  • Fixes closed loop roads
  • Terminates dead-ends
  • Makes dead-ends two-way (only if both ends of the segment are visible)
  • Sets the Type of a roundabouts using lowest of two highest rule and sets country/state if needed
  • For UK sets Type of roundabouts using highest type excluding Freeway rule.
  • Does a traditional 'qw' (clears reverse connectivity, and locks turns)
  • Causes the turn arrows to refresh (the side effect of 's' but without the shifting).
Since you end up with the same turns restricted, that means you need to press 'w' if you really want all turns allowed. This is why it overloads 'q' instead of 'w'. Ultimately this will be a separate hotkey that's editable through WME's '?' interface.
kodi75
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:43 am
Location: Central Maryland
Has thanked: 744 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby the1who » Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:48 pm

Ok you got me there... I'll go refresh myself :) But I was highly recommended to use this script, so I just loaded it and started playing around. :D
the1who
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 931
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Las Vegas
Has thanked: 319 times
Been thanked: 257 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby the1who » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:32 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:It should only change dead end segments to 2-way.


Well I didn't know that part of it too, but realizing it the more I use it, which is a great resource for that in neighborhoods.

But I did have one instance where it changed a ramp off a freeway to a road from the one-way to two-way.

I'll keep paying close attention to the one-way streets/ramps I come across here through the weekend for more.
the1who
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 931
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Las Vegas
Has thanked: 319 times
Been thanked: 257 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby the1who » Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:00 am

I have run into probably one instance of this issue. I had a red u-turn restriction highlighted node. I hit q on it, it made the ramp that connected to it, which was one-way, turn two way. Even if I went to the ramp and made it one-way again, the node still wanted to be corrected. So I had to correct the node...then correct the ramp (saving each single item) and then I had a reverse connection because it was 2-way to 1-way and then when I corrected the reverse connection, all was well from there. Just didn't know if anyone mentioned a problem like that or not. I have also seen it make unkowns into 2-ways...which in general, is fine I think for say neighborhood streets. I haven't skimmed enough through this thread but those were the quirks I ran into.
the1who
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 931
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Las Vegas
Has thanked: 319 times
Been thanked: 257 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:26 pm

bedo2991 wrote:Wouldn't it be safer to use another key instead of Q??? :D

Today I accidentally found out I was restricting all turns in a roundabout instead of fixing its nodes. (Running JNF on Tampermonkey on Chrome, LMDE). Now I'm running it natively and doesn't seem to always work (the turns are not denied but the nodes aren't fixed).

Why safer? JNF doesn't make any changes to turn restrictions and only fixes problems.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby bedo2991 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:07 pm

Wouldn't it be safer to use another key instead of Q??? :D

Today I accidentally found out I was restricting all turns in a roundabout instead of fixing its nodes. (Running JNF on Tampermonkey on Chrome, LMDE). Now I'm running it natively and doesn't seem to always work (the turns are not denied but the nodes aren't fixed).
bedo2991
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Italy, Marche
Has thanked: 293 times
Been thanked: 793 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby khaytsus » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:01 pm

vectorspace wrote:
bgodette wrote:
vectorspace wrote:The only determent I have found is that one could go wild just squashing red arrows, or perhaps forget and use it in the wrong place, and many times around divided roads, highway ramps, and the like, those red arrows are really necessary to impose valid turn restrictions.
Well since it doesn't change existing turn restrictions, I don't see how that's a problem.


You're absolutely right, I misspoke. This is not something to do with the node fixer script. I was thinking of the broader issue of someone pressing "qw" all over the place... a general issue for the full editor comment I was trying to express. I could see how an uninformed editor could wipe out valid turn restrictions without knowing it.

I was confused too when I first started using this script, I was using "qw" and fixing TR's as needed. However, I've found that if you click Q too quick you can sometimes "miss" the JNF script and wind up restricting all turns. So keep the Turn Restriction "layer" turned on!
khaytsus
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Lexington, KY
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby bgodette » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:27 pm

vectorspace wrote:
bgodette wrote:
vectorspace wrote:The only determent I have found is that one could go wild just squashing red arrows, or perhaps forget and use it in the wrong place, and many times around divided roads, highway ramps, and the like, those red arrows are really necessary to impose valid turn restrictions.
Well since it doesn't change existing turn restrictions, I don't see how that's a problem.


You're absolutely right, I misspoke. This is not something to do with the node fixer script. I was thinking of the broader issue of someone pressing "qw" all over the place... a general issue for the full editor comment I was trying to express. I could see how an uninformed editor could wipe out valid turn restrictions without knowing it.
The initial reason for JNF was the to streamline the process of what 'qw' does, namely to lock turn restrictions, without the need to manually keep track of what turns were already restricted. It ballooned from there to fix other issues with nodes that were discovered along the way.
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 537 times

Re: [Script] WME Junction Node Fixer v0.0.7.5 Dec 23 2012

Postby vectorspace » Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:51 pm

bgodette wrote:
vectorspace wrote:The only determent I have found is that one could go wild just squashing red arrows, or perhaps forget and use it in the wrong place, and many times around divided roads, highway ramps, and the like, those red arrows are really necessary to impose valid turn restrictions.
Well since it doesn't change existing turn restrictions, I don't see how that's a problem.


You're absolutely right, I misspoke. This is not something to do with the node fixer script. I was thinking of the broader issue of someone pressing "qw" all over the place... a general issue for the full editor comment I was trying to express. I could see how an uninformed editor could wipe out valid turn restrictions without knowing it.
vectorspace
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 420 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bz2012, Google [Bot], harnaw