Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Important messages to community users. This forum is locked (waze staff only).

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby waynemcdougall » Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:32 am

robin1979 wrote:It's because of the crappy GPS receiver in mobile phones probably. Since I have the TomTom carkit (with an external GPS receiver), I haven't had that problem. Actually, the improved GPS signal is the only reason I bought the TomTom carkit. I don't use the other functions - call me a Waze addict for getting it just for that reason...


Far be it from me to disagree with the great @robin1979, but I think you have misunderstood the issue.

It is not just Waze recalculating when you go off route. It does that, it fails, it tries again, it succeeds, it fails, it recalculates...it is not doing anything but recalculating routes, giving you a good route, you're on it, and 300m (at best) or instantly (most likely) it recalculates again. The route calculation is correct - usually you only get to see the distance and eta, and then it recalculates again before the map display is updated. It isn't the roads or the GPS signal. I happens on good roads, and the GPS signal is solid. I'm sure it's the Waze servers, or my talking to them.

But I've only seen it a handful of times, and it has always coincided with a Live Map update.
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby robin1979 » Tue Oct 12, 2010 11:34 pm

It's because of the crappy GPS receiver in mobile phones probably. Since I have the TomTom carkit (with an external GPS receiver), I haven't had that problem. Actually, the improved GPS signal is the only reason I bought the TomTom carkit. I don't use the other functions - call me a Waze addict for getting it just for that reason...
robin1979
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:49 am
Location: EUROPE
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby waynemcdougall » Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:30 pm

dalesd wrote:Navigation still has serious issues for me. A slight improvement from the beta, but stop useless for actually getting anywhere.
I left home this morning, and selected Work from my favorites. Waze calculated a route and a 45 minute drive. So far so good. But a quarter mile into the drive, waze recalculated and kept recalculating over and over until I was within 5 miles of work.
Nexus be with Android 2.2.1


Does it comfort you that I get the same thing, rarely, on my iPhone. I've put it down to either server problems at Waze end, or bad networking connection (my mobile carrier) in between us. So I start off fine but if Waze recalculates the route it goes all do-lally as you describe - after abour 30 minutes it can come right without me doing anything.

So my questions for you are: how often does this happen for you? And how good is your internet networking in other ways? Can you tests it at the same time this problem happens?
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby dalesd » Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:07 pm

Navigation still has serious issues for me. A slight improvement from the beta, but stop useless for actually getting anywhere.
I left home this morning, and selected Work from my favorites. Waze calculated a route and a 45 minute drive. So far so good. But a quarter mile into the drive, waze recalculated and kept recalculating over and over until I was within 5 miles of work.
Nexus be with Android 2.2.1
dalesd
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby gerben » Mon Oct 11, 2010 8:14 am

It is under General Settings, between Auto Zoom and 24h Clock.
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby waynemcdougall » Mon Oct 11, 2010 8:11 am

sexyft wrote:Does anybody know how to "show points ticker" visible in this version? (Of course it is 'on' in the general settings)


If it's like the iPhone version (which is the goal), you only see the points ticker as a pop up when you earn some points. You could force point earning by sending a chit chat message.

Otherwise you can see your points on the Scoreboard.
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby sexyft » Mon Oct 11, 2010 7:56 am

Does anybody know how to "show points ticker" visible in this version? (Of course it is 'on' in the general settings)
sexyft
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:55 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby jesseoliver » Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:05 am

The updated version 2.0.1.2 still does not run on my HTC Wildfire - seems to be some graphics issues. In Australia, the Wildfire is released with Android 2.1 software and the update to 2.2 is not yet available. Waze 1.9 is good on the Wildfire (android 2.1) but Waze 2.0 is not. :cry: At least I can still use version1.9!

I also have a HTC Magic with android 1.6 and all versions of Waze are good on it. 8-)
jesseoliver
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby gerben » Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:04 pm

What cokor are the tracks in your archive? If they are yellow or red, your gps position dit not match with the road, which causes the road go back to unmunched (and the points to be retracted)
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Android Version 2.0.0.1 is up in the Android Market

Postby FreeMan12 » Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:38 am

Running 2.0.0.1 on my Dinc, and I'm seeing a behavior I've seen on the 1.9 & 1.10.xx clients.

Sometimes, when I munch a new neighborhood, I'll drive the road parallel to the one I was just on (head East on "A", turn South on "1st" one block, head back West on "B"), and the 1st road ("A") shows unmunched. If I go around the block and drive "A" again, it shows me munching again. I seem to collect point for it both times, but there's no real way of knowing (that I can tell), so it works nicely that way, but it is frustrating to have to drive some sections of road 2-3 times.

I've also noticed that sometimes, it'll show munched today, but when I drive by tomorrow, it'll show unmunched again.

This is the client that's showing this, and I'd think it'd have the most current data. I can usually go see my tracks in Update mode the next day, but the client may still be showing it as unmunched.
FreeMan12
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 4:53 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Official announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users