New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Moderators: Unholy, orit_y

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby orbitc » Thu May 09, 2013 3:32 pm

Zirland wrote:
orbitc wrote:
Zirland wrote:How can I test Czech translation?


I believe you need to use the Beta version. Do you have access for Beta?

Yes, I do have access to beta, but http://www.waze.com/beta_editor/cs gives me 404 error

Odesláno z mého A511 pomocí Tapatalk 2


Try this then:
http://world.waze.com/beta_editor
and choose language option from the right hand side
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Always the latest version
• WME ßeta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5780
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 2069 times
Been thanked: 4752 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby foxitrot » Thu May 09, 2013 8:13 pm

From a few weeks ago, I remember just a couple (maybe five or so?) of languages were planned to be initially supported for WME.
I could have possibly missed the moment, when it changed...
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new social Android 4.0.xx.yyy (OP-X LOL-a-popp).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6725
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2013 times
Been thanked: 910 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby Zirland » Fri May 10, 2013 7:09 am

orbitc wrote:Try this then:
http://world.waze.com/beta_editor
and choose language option from the right hand side


There is no such option for me. Do you have Czech language there, orbitc?
Czech Republic Country Manager
"The Wazebrity"
Zirland
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:01 pm
Location: Praha, Czech Republic
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby Zirland » Fri May 10, 2013 7:10 am

foxitrot wrote:From a few weeks ago, I remember just a couple (maybe five or so?) of languages were planned to be initially supported for WME.
I could have possibly missed the moment, when it changed...

The translation file was added on Wednesday. But there is no way how to test the translation now.
Czech Republic Country Manager
"The Wazebrity"
Zirland
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:01 pm
Location: Praha, Czech Republic
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby orbitc » Fri May 10, 2013 9:12 pm

Zirland wrote:
orbitc wrote:Try this then:
http://world.waze.com/beta_editor
and choose language option from the right hand side


There is no such option for me. Do you have Czech language there, orbitc?


I don't see it...
Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 5.11.46 PM.png
Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 5.11.46 PM.png (28.83 KiB) Viewed 5593 times
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Always the latest version
• WME ßeta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5780
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 2069 times
Been thanked: 4752 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby edsonajj » Sat May 11, 2013 5:58 pm

davipt wrote:I could almost swear I did ask here for access for the other languages so we can test them, specially for the more special cases like pt_PT / pt_BR :(

What I had understood was that for the WME we could not have "branches". That is, there will only be one english, one portuguese, and one spanish.
Image Edson Jiménez

Image
edsonajj
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 2473
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:32 pm
Location: México
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 909 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby dathgod » Sun May 12, 2013 2:20 pm

edsonajj wrote:
davipt wrote:I could almost swear I did ask here for access for the other languages so we can test them, specially for the more special cases like pt_PT / pt_BR :(

What I had understood was that for the WME we could not have "branches". That is, there will only be one english, one portuguese, and one spanish.

That's what I heard too, anyway, for some particular languages, say Chinese, there are Traditional Chinese and Simplified Chinese. They seem to be "Chinese", but the terminology is quite different. I believe PT got the same situation.
dathgod
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:14 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby davipt » Sun May 12, 2013 2:24 pm

edsonajj wrote:
davipt wrote:I could almost swear I did ask here for access for the other languages so we can test them, specially for the more special cases like pt_PT / pt_BR :(

What I had understood was that for the WME we could not have "branches". That is, there will only be one english, one portuguese, and one spanish.


Ok so I'll stop my time on the ptPT translation until this gets sorted out and I'm able (or not) to test the strings on the beta editor.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby orbitc » Sun May 12, 2013 3:26 pm

Just wondering... Is ptPT all translated. Usually, it needs to be fully translated before it uploaded.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Always the latest version
• WME ßeta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5780
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 2069 times
Been thanked: 4752 times

Re: New- Localizing Waze Map Editor

Postby davipt » Sun May 12, 2013 3:32 pm

orbitc wrote:Just wondering... Is ptPT all translated. Usually, it needs to be fully translated before it uploaded.


No it's not because at a certain point one starts looking at the strings and wondering where they exactly come from and how much space is available, hence why it would be nice to test them on the website before finishing the translation - it's a beta site anyway, and the language is not imposed to anyone.

In other words, there are 10 types of people in the world - the ones that looks at a string and tries to translate them without context and then shit happens days later when the translation arrives at the destination, and the ones that look at the client (website) and try hard to understand the context and space available and consistency and translates accordingly. On the client and TTS I can translate locally, on the other ones I can't, so it's a lot of guessing work.

I hope I don't need to be the first kind before I can even test anything.
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 558 times

PreviousNext

Return to Localization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher