60 Mph/97 Kph

Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Forum rules
Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby StephenCB » Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:38 am

ircphoenix wrote:I lost my sense of humor in a terrible industrial accident about three years ago. I'm kind of sensitive about it. Jerk. :cry:


This made me actually laugh out loud. :D

I was reading this thread with interest. It shows some of the underpinnings of an application I am quickly getting attached to. I've been using Waze for about a week.

This comment thrown in tells me I'm in the right place for humor too.
Image
StephenCB
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:17 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby stevenhaywood » Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:34 pm

On a related note I couldnt find 60km/h either?
stevenhaywood
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:11 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby stiab3 » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:05 pm

Since reading this thread, I've been watching. And I've never seen it land on 60mph. 59mph, yes. 61mph, yes. Never 60mph.

Dark forces at work. . . :twisted:

s3
. . . still a long waze to go.
Area Manager - South Lakeland
stiab3
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:13 pm
Location: Cumbria
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby stiab3 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:41 pm

Actually, it was the missing 60mph in the UK that brought it to light.

Not sure why no-one noticed the missing kmh ones.

s3
. . . still a long waze to go.
Area Manager - South Lakeland
stiab3
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:13 pm
Location: Cumbria
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby stiab3 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:34 am

I think people tend to notice speeds around speed limits and these tend to be in round figures. . . 10s of mph or kmph.

Despite a lot of the smaller km ones missing, I would expect that 30 would be the only one that people would be interested in. . .

@Seasider, do the other satnav devices you tested against show 61mph?

s3
. . . still a long waze to go.
Area Manager - South Lakeland
stiab3
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:13 pm
Location: Cumbria
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby stiab3 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:00 pm

freddiechopin wrote:What's the reason for using integers for such conversions? I hope Waze developers will fix this bug in the next release, because one float more will definitely not overload our high-end phones with FPUs...

EDIT: BTW if Waze would be as open-source as it claims to be there would be patches flowing at this moment to apply on the SVN/GIT repository...

4\/3!!



Does it really need to be fixed? It's just a quirk of the system. The speed taken from a GPS unit is never going to be precise, anyway.

s3
. . . still a long waze to go.
Area Manager - South Lakeland
stiab3
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:13 pm
Location: Cumbria
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby stiab3 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:46 pm

To me this is not actually a bug as it doesn't affect functionality in any way. It won't hinder success either.

By all means push for open source, and for being able to fix bugs, but don't make a non-issue into something more.
s3
. . . still a long waze to go.
Area Manager - South Lakeland
stiab3
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:13 pm
Location: Cumbria
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby support » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:01 pm

Hi all,

Very interesting indeed... :)

If one on you could send us a .csv file of one of the route for exmple,
will be very happy to look into this metter!

You can send it to alpha@waze.com.

Regards,

Amit
WAZE Support
Image
support
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby unwallflower » Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:19 am

Harling, you rock!

So do computers. I love that everything has logic behind it.
unwallflower
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 6:43 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 60 Mph/97 Kph

Postby unwallflower » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:45 pm

stiab3 wrote:To me this is not actually a bug as it doesn't affect functionality in any way. It won't hinder success either.

By all means push for open source, and for being able to fix bugs, but don't make a non-issue into something more.
s3


You're correct, it's not a bug by definition. It's working exactly as designed. That's not to say that it was designed in the best way possible, though. ;)

I don't think anyone is clamoring for this to be fixed. It isn't the end of the world. It seems, from THIS perspective, to possibly be poor coding... but since I haven't actually looked at the code I can't really say that with any confidence. There could be a good reason for the way they've done it (harling already mentioned one possible reason).

At any rate, I think the point is that there are a lot of really intelligent people that support Waze, and these people wish they could help Waze fix the things that they sometimes have to put off in favor of fixing more important things.
unwallflower
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 6:43 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users