Landmark - Best Practices US

Image This is the place to discuss issues that are relevant for locations in the US. For any other discussions, please use the main forums.

Moderator: MapSir

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 10:18 pm

txemt wrote:I've started getting URs for the San Antonio airport. When I plug it into the nav, it directs me to the front entrance, but people are going being routed to the back, lately and I don't know what's changed.


I had a similar complaint about MSY. I've tried to duplicate it in the app and on Livemap, but nothing I search will route me anywhere except to the terminal building. I don't know what they could possibly be doing different, and of course, these are all the ones who don't respond to the conversations in the UR, so I haven't been able to gather any further info.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:34 pm

The behavior about landmark routing is extremely uncertain. Your best bet is to reduce the existing landmark to just cover the terminal building. Leave the name as-is. Then draw a second landmark to cover the entire airport and don't name it. This should get the traffic going to the right place.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Thu May 30, 2013 9:33 pm

jemay wrote:I agree on the over details of LAX and quite a few other Southern California airports!!!


Not just the airport, but there's landmarks on everything, all over L.A. I remember, back when there was only a couple of casual local editors in the entire L.A. area, finding areas where *everything* had a parking lot landmark, to the point where the background of the map in the client appeared blue. This was the fault of the IGN editors, and I think a lot of one-time hit & run level (1) editors followed suit and each made their contribution of a couple dozen landmarks.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Thu May 30, 2013 9:07 pm

PhantomSoul wrote:Follow up question: should the anchor point serve this purpose?


YES!!!

Unfortunately, it isn't repositionable, and it seems to try to computer the geometric center of the landmark, but how it arrives at that is often a mystery.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Wed May 29, 2013 12:10 am

jemay wrote:If you only searched for LAX, you would have been routed to the wrong entrance to LAX (closer to the coast), so I have created a small landmark https://www.waze.com/editor/#?%23%3F=&z ... rks=797743 and now when you search you get LAX, Los Angeles, CA in the top two items of the search. So I know the search is using landmark information in the client and map editor... Creating the landmark may have not been in the best practices but I was able to get the search to work and it returns the correct location.


That's what I had to do for MSY. The landmark originally covered the entire property of the airport and as a result, was leading people coming from I-10 into a commercial/industrial area on the north side of the airport, where the streets dead-end at the edge of the airport property. The actual entrance to the airport is on the south side, a couple of miles away. I removed the name of the large landmark, drew a new one over the terminal building, and named that one.

Additionally, I drew some tiny landmarks for long term and short term parking and arrivals and departures, and now they lead you to the exact spots that take you to those places, and they show up at the top of the list.

These tiny landmarks would be better served by a POI point (which we don't have).

However, at this point, the only landmarks I've gotten to work in the search are the ones that have been set as Airport, hence the need for a test of all landmark types. I suspect that some are set to work with the search and some are not.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Tue May 28, 2013 9:51 pm

bgodette wrote:Landmarks in search results worked for a long time (back when we were using 2.4 and well into 3.x), but then broke sometime around gas prices, and has recently returned to working again.


Not entirely. There are landmarks I've placed specifically for the purpose of them coming up first in the search results (above the incorrect results from Bing). Some work, and some do not. I'm trying to work out which ones work and which do not and the reason why.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Tue May 28, 2013 7:31 pm

vectorspace wrote:That's interesting. I thought landmarks would be accessible in a POI search. I read or heard somewhere from Waze that they would like to expand their internal database of search information too. Jason's comment a few posts back in this topic seemed to indicate that landmark access in POI search started occurring about three weeks ago (unless I misunderstood). I thought I verified it worked by searching for some of my landmarks (BIA was one when I went there for a meeting).

mike


It only seems to work with certain landmark types. It's being tested right now and we should have results by the end of the week.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Tue May 28, 2013 12:12 pm

Landmarks are not necessary to be able to search for and navigate to a particular park. In fact, prior to about three weeks ago, a landmark wouldn't even come up in a search.


Via my iPhone 4S.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Mon May 27, 2013 5:26 am

skbun wrote:
On a related note, did Waze fix 'the bug' where newly added stations can't populate price data?


Drawing in a gas station that isn't in the database doesn't do anything but create a useless landmark. I don't know if this is a bug. I think the missing gas stations have to be added from the back end.


Via my iPhone 4S.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Landmark - Best Practices US

Postby jasonh300 » Sun May 26, 2013 5:13 am

One thing I'd like to mention is that I'd like to see the quick link to Parking Lots removed from the Landmarks pulldown in the editor. I really don't think Gas Stations needs to be there anymore after the import, but I guess that could be useful for countries where the gas stations have not yet been imported. They're both inviting people to use them improperly now.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

PreviousNext

Return to United States

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users