Australia

Moderators: Unholy, ps_au, amitbena

Re: Australia

Postby jerren » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:52 am

Hi People,

If you are looking for better aerials look up googze, it is a script that allows you to use google maps in the cartouche on Google Chrome or Firefox.

Makes a massive difference to your mapping ability
Area Manager - Perth - IPad
jerren
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby jubbp » Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:01 am

Hello from Western Australia!!
jubbp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby karjan » Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:42 am

Hey, just joined up a week ago. Mapped most of the main streets in my suburb (Parmelia/Kwinana)
Seen you around the place a few times aualby, but you dont have a ping-able client yet :lol:

Been good fun so far getting km's logged and roads created, altho I'm pretty sure my wife thinks Im crazy now. (If she didn't already!)

Seeyas on the road.

Edit: who is the area manager for Perth? Excuse the spam of roads to be deleted ;)
Waze on Android, Motorola Milestone | Golf MKV GTI
karjan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:12 pm
Location: Parmelia, Western Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby KevinYank » Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:13 am

aubrianpeters wrote:only thing I miss is accurate house numbers, but all in good time, just add the regular ones I need in, like home.

I was taking the same approach, but I’ve discovered that even though you can use the old Cartouche editor to add house numbers to the map, they are not used in navigation by the client apps.

The only ways to navigate to a particular spot on a road are to search for and locate a specific Point of Interest, or to tap and hold that spot on the map then choose to go there (or save it as a favourite).
KevinYank
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby kevstark » Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:57 pm

G'day All,
Has anyone come across difficulty with creating new maps in areas without data reception? I've done a couple of trips through central Queensland recently and have found that most of my roads never turned up in Cartouche. I think there's also a bug in waze that corrupts the new recorded road data after 60km or so. Most of the roads I travel don't have intersections for 200km or so and 90% of that is out of signal coverage (thanks to droptus...)

This also relates to the problem where roads have been mapped, but the phone doesn't have signal to download them. Anyone have ideas on how to get the waze client to cache 500+km in every direction? I'd settle for ~50km cache radius if possible?

Mapping anything other than the capital cities is going to be tricky at this rate...

Cheers,
Kev.
kevstark
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby kevstark » Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:23 am

waynemcdougall wrote:1. Some people have found "Enable Data Compression" helps in these situations. It's on the iPhone under Settings/Data usage. Other phone platforms may not have (or need) this option

Thanks Wayne,
I'm running Android 2.2 on the HTC Desire, data compression is turned on. I've noticed some serious improvements in the waze 2.x beta version but the client software still hangs and drops data on occasion.

waynemcdougall wrote:2. I find Waze is better at sending the GPS data points back, then it is at road recording. I think it may try really hard to cache the GPS points. So in places where my road recording has petered out, I've been able to go back and finish the roads with the GPS points layer in Cartouche.

I'll look into this one - I hadn't found a use for the GPS layer yet but it makes sense!
Cheers
Kev.
kevstark
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby macneo » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:27 am

That's probably the best way to do it if you have to start from scratch.
My list of priorities usually is:
- connect the segments and create crossroads
- fix the geometry
- check the direction
- write names and set type

Basically, even if you just stop at the first step you already get a basic drivable map, which is a huge thing for a starting community. All other pieces are just to make it better and actually useful.
Image
macneo
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:32 pm
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Australia

Postby matkins112 » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:29 am

Hi,

Im in Bendigo, Victoria. I think I'm the only Waze user in town. Looking forward to creating a few more maps where ever I drive, its kind of addictive I think. Might go map out the CBD tomorrow.

Cheers
Matt
matkins112
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby NathanLi » Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:00 am

Ah, thats good to know about the plan for auto suburb / state separation in the future. I have recently started to map Canberra and was wondering about that, as I had seen examples of both. I was just doing suburb :oops: . I will go back and correct that. I'm guessing there is no way to do a rename of an existing 'city'?
NathanLi
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby paulmin » Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:42 pm

Just downloaded and installed Waze tonight. Live in Central QLD. I can't wait to start using it to see what it can do :-)
paulmin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Australia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users