Wazer not visible

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Wazer not visible

Postby erfo02 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:01 pm

I am new to this application and trying to figure out how to use it. So far I have managed to have my posts showing my nickname but I am not able to have my wazer visible on the live map. I have looked through the settings and it clearly says that I should be visible. I have perfect GPS connection and my chit-chat test message ended up "on spot".
I also want to know if there is a possibility to set a radius to reports. Living in Abu Dhabi I dont really need to know if there is a traffic jam in Moscow :-)
Third question is about Groups. I can create the group but where do I see the wazers of my group members and what is really the benefit of groups? I cant really change any settings for the group either it seems. In my world you would be able to have a live map with your group but I cant find this.
Thanks for your patience.
Eric
Area Manager Abu Dhabi, UAE
erfo02
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wazer not visible

Postby erfo02 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:57 pm

I am using a Blackberry Curve and I am aware of that some functions are not there. The thing that annoying me the most though is that my wazer is not visible on the map even though I have set this to be in the settings.
Is this another BB issue?
Eric
Area Manager Abu Dhabi, UAE
erfo02
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wazer not visible

Postby erfo02 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:57 pm

Then what wouldbe the best way? We have a group where it would be very useful if we were able to see eachothers position in case we need support or assistance from eachother. I was hoping that the group function would allow us to see only the ones within the group for example but maybe that is not the plan?
Eric
Area Manager Abu Dhabi, UAE
erfo02
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wazer not visible

Postby RallyChris » Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:28 pm

Live map is not a good testing tool for this. It does limit what is viewable... wazers and pictures say last 10. I believe they are literal on this, and mean the last 10 wazers the got position updates, and based on my watching it, I don't think they mean in the zoom level, but server wide.

It would be nice to get a little update to the Live map, but I will take server and client updates first :)
Portland, OR / USA - Mega Mapper
Wiki: Area Manager | Map Editing | Known Issues List
Official Suggestion Websites (hosted by uservoice):
Waze Client | Waze Website / Editor
Image
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Wazer not visible

Postby unwallflower » Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:34 pm

Right now there is no way to make this function how you want it to, and I suspect that there will likely never be a way to do this. Read here: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Priv ... g_location

The location you are showed at is where you were two minutes previous to the update. It is not updated real-time. This may be an annoyance because you want to see where your friends/group members are at any given point in time, but it's really a necessary thing to protect your privacy.
unwallflower
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 6:43 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wazer not visible

Postby zCougar » Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:12 pm

Report radius should be available since client version 2.0. What version and what platform do you use?

--
Cougar
Image
Waze 3.7.7.0: Nexus 4 | HTC Desire Z | Nexus 7
CM@Estonia / WME beta tester / Android beta tester
PALUN LOE: Waze eestikeelne juhend wikis
zCougar
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Estonia
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 33 times


Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]