iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:48 am

jasonh300 wrote:iPhone 4S. All is well except when sending a private message in landscape mode, the text that you're typing is completely hidden behind the keyboard.

Also, display of other Wazers is hit and miss. They flash on for half a second then disappear. There should be a lot more also...either that or Waze has had a significant loss of userbase. As Alan said above, this may be a system issue, rather than an app issue.


Via my iPhone 4S.


+1
Everything is working fine on my iphone as well. I also noticed the less user on the screen, Could that be intentional or limited on purpose?
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:38 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I agree and in believe Perlin said the on-map button may get the functionality in the future and the setting un-buried.


If I may chime in, if you tap on a screen you will see "+", "-" and location icon on the right side of the screen. If you click on that, it becomes North-up and stays that way. Even though, actual North-Up function is buried within menu, this is a nice alternative in the mean time. Please see image below.

IMG_2432.PNG
IMG_2432.PNG (183.4 KiB) Viewed 744 times
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:45 am

I see, I only tried that function few times. I don't like to use North-up feature that much. ;)
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:17 pm

perlin wrote:
orbitc wrote:If I may chime in, if you tap on a screen you will see "+", "-" and location icon on the right side of the screen. If you click on that, it becomes North-up and stays that way.
IMG_2432.PNG

This button is for the current session only (it won't stick upon reopening the client). The settings button, however, locks it for good (until you choose otherwise).

Wouldn't it be better if this option locks North-up until the driver wants change it? ;)
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:07 pm

RTPeat wrote:
perlin wrote:
RTPeat wrote:Couple of bugs so far:

1. If on start up I do a route, then ask it for alternatives and select one of the alternatives the entire route disappears and the TTS says I have arrived at my destination. Works fine if it recalcualtes enroute, only seems to occur if I'm actually sat at the start point.

Could not reproduce. Maybe you can provide specific steps to reproduce?


Yes, unfortunately it seems intermittent. Happens most consistently if I'm sat outside my home address going to work as Waze always tries to take me a particular route to work whereas the second or third variation it generates is closer to the way I'd usually go, as a result I usually press for alternative routes and pick the alternative. The other factor might be that it sometimes takes a little while for the GPS to settle down when I turn on at home, so Waze is flipping my location between my road and another behind the house, might be a combination of the location flipping around and Waze calculating alternative routes.


RTPeat, based on my personal experience....that happens because your last route wasn't completed fully. Especially, if the last route or destination was your home and that you have a wireless connection. your client tries to pick the stronger connection or known wireless connection that perhaps confuse Waze. I would suggest (if you haven't already) to wait for Waze to end the destination and also make sure to close Waze by choosing the "close" button.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:32 pm

RTPeat wrote:
orbitc wrote:RTPeat, based on my personal experience....that happens because your last route wasn't completed fully. Especially, if the last route or destination was your home and that you have a wireless connection. your client tries to pick the stronger connection or known wireless connection that perhaps confuse Waze. I would suggest (if you haven't already) to wait for Waze to end the destination and also make sure to close Waze by choosing the "close" button.


I'm pretty scrupulous about using the close button to ensure my drives are uploaded, but certainly picking up the wi-fi at home could be the issue as my phone can pick our wi-fi up from the end of the street at times, and the 3G signal is not all that strong.


Try turning off the Wifi see what happens...
Also, similar issue happened to me few times. I realized that I wasn't closing or waiting for Waze to end the navigation. Since I wasn't quite home yet based on the map or the house number that the navigation wasn't completed. On my next run, the first thing Waze would say is that I arrived at my destination. Once I adjusted address in the editor and close Waze properly, it never happened. Of course, YMMV.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:48 pm

paulkok_my wrote:
perlin wrote:Hi guys,

The problem with the scoreboard in Malaysia should be fixed now. If you're still experiencing problems, please share.

Perlin, thanks for looking into the problem for the client. :D

Only next thing to fix is Website Scoreboard. I'm still getting the Oops! message


Same here for the web site. (US)
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:08 pm

cjland wrote:On the way to work, I noticed that it was showing a "slow" down on one of the streets in Mission Viejo. It was showing the traffic slowed to "4 MPH"

The issue is that the app is being used by "walkers". There needs to be code in the app that asks (if the speed is < 5 MPH), "are you walking?" (or riding a bike? etc. etc.).

Sort of a bug....but not really. Great app though. Looking forward to getting it integrated in my next car.


Maybe Waze can ignore if GPS shows that the driver/person is not on the road, rather on the side and off the road. Although, It might be difficult since we get bad GPS quite often.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby orbitc » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:14 am

PhantomSoul wrote:I'm sorry if this has been posted already, but is anyone else having trouble downloading any of the voices for the minimal turn instructions? Mine keeps getting stuck at about 50% and I always eventually get the timeout message of it being unable to download the requested voices.

Worse than that, it now prompts me to try to re-download those voices each time I start Waze up again even though I've selected other voice options. Everytime I retry, it just gets stuck and ends up telling me to try again later.

This seems to happen regardless of whether I'm on LTE or WiFi or if I switch between the two during the download (by, say, driving out of range of my WiFi).


I would recommend deleting Waze and reinstalling it.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast (DE, NJ, NY, PA) & New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
CM: U.S.A. & T.C.
• ßeta Tester
• iOS: Always the latest Beta

Image
WME | Mentoring | AM | USA
orbitc
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: NJ / NY, USA
Has thanked: 1165 times
Been thanked: 2262 times

Re: iOS v3.7 Official Feedback Thread

Postby paulkok_my » Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:13 pm

perlin wrote:Hi guys,

The problem with the scoreboard in Malaysia should be fixed now. If you're still experiencing problems, please share.

Perlin, thanks for looking into the problem for the client. :D

Only next thing to fix is Website Scoreboard. I'm still getting the Oops! message
ImageImageImage
Area Manager: Shah Alam / Klang / Seremban, Malaysia
Galaxy S3 on Android 4.1.2

Join our FB group: Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah/Sarawak
or Google+ group: Waze in Malaysia on Google+
paulkok_my
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 820
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:34 am
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 148 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], priculici