Australia

Image

Moderators: Unholy, ps_au, amitbena

Re: Australia

Postby supersleeper » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:10 am

Uninstall Waze and then reinstall it to update all of your data....or drive through that particular area and the "tiles" update...apparently - I usually just uninstall and reinstall.

Yeah - I though it wasn't updating till someone told me this.........waiting for the "update map" function to come along...
supersleeper
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby quicklier » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:05 am

I spoke too soon!
(or my emails to waze were actioned :D)

Melbourne CBD is looking much more usable!

Now to focus on the M1 and Citylink
quicklier
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby Philthy82 » Sun May 30, 2010 10:35 am

Howdy all,

I found Waze almost a week ago and have been doing a fair bit of mapping in Melbourne since then, mainly Coburg, Pascoe Vale South, Brunswick, and a bit up in Sunbury. It really is addictive, but you also start to realise that developing a system and being consistent with your fellow mappers is important to make the work efficient and worthwhile. I'm now an area manager and I'm definitely appreciating the freedom to map the wider area and fix up bad junctions. I'm finding the steamroller function on my phone client isn't really worth using unless I'm in a completely unmapped area. It's good for points, but otherwise I find myself creating the map with reference to aerial photos instead of gps tracks.

On that note it would be great to see some better aerial photos for Australia implemented in the future. In the populated areas like Melbourne they're negligible, and a little ways out (Sunbury for instance) they're downright shocking and mapping is just a lot of guesswork. Reckon Waze will ever get this sorted, or does Google have a monopoly on high-res satellite photos?

Look forward to working with ya.
iPhone 4 • Area Manager: Melbourne inner east (Collingwood) and regional
Philthy82
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby Echomon » Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:22 am

Just thought I would pop in here and say "Hi!"

If anyone is wondering, I'm in S/E Victoria. 8-)
Echomon
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:15 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby jerren » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:52 am

Hi People,

If you are looking for better aerials look up googze, it is a script that allows you to use google maps in the cartouche on Google Chrome or Firefox.

Makes a massive difference to your mapping ability
Area Manager - Perth - IPad
jerren
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby waynemcdougall » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:08 am

jerren wrote:Hi People,

If you are looking for better aerials look up googze, it is a script that allows you to use google maps in the cartouche on Google Chrome or Firefox.

Makes a massive difference to your mapping ability


Google's terms of use means that Waze cannot use their aerial images.

Those terms of use also apply to you. You cannot use Google's aerial images to edit Waze's maps. In some jurisidictions you may be able to use them as a reference (like looking at a map in a mapbook), but not as an overlay like Googze.

If you were to do such a thing, it would taint all the work you did and Waze would need to reverse out all your edits. There could be other adverse effects. Waze has already had to remove all the maps for Chile, and other South American countries because the source of the map data was not legal (not Waze's fault).

So do not use Google's aerial images as a replacement for Waze's when doing map editing.
Waze User Manuals, Map Editing guide and support at http://www.waze.com/wiki
Wayne McDougall
Make Friends with me on Facebook and we'll compete against each other on the Scoreboard
http://www.facebook.com/wayne.w.mcdougall
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Australia

Postby kevstark » Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:57 pm

G'day All,
Has anyone come across difficulty with creating new maps in areas without data reception? I've done a couple of trips through central Queensland recently and have found that most of my roads never turned up in Cartouche. I think there's also a bug in waze that corrupts the new recorded road data after 60km or so. Most of the roads I travel don't have intersections for 200km or so and 90% of that is out of signal coverage (thanks to droptus...)

This also relates to the problem where roads have been mapped, but the phone doesn't have signal to download them. Anyone have ideas on how to get the waze client to cache 500+km in every direction? I'd settle for ~50km cache radius if possible?

Mapping anything other than the capital cities is going to be tricky at this rate...

Cheers,
Kev.
kevstark
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby waynemcdougall » Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:06 am

kevstark wrote:G'day All,
Has anyone come across difficulty with creating new maps in areas without data reception? I've done a couple of trips through central Queensland recently and have found that most of my roads never turned up in Cartouche. I think there's also a bug in waze that corrupts the new recorded road data after 60km or so. Most of the roads I travel don't have intersections for 200km or so and 90% of that is out of signal coverage (thanks to droptus...)

This also relates to the problem where roads have been mapped, but the phone doesn't have signal to download them. Anyone have ideas on how to get the waze client to cache 500+km in every direction? I'd settle for ~50km cache radius if possible?

Mapping anything other than the capital cities is going to be tricky at this rate...

Cheers,
Kev.


I'm sure you'll get some great advice from the Outback here. Let me offer some comments:

1. Some people have found "Enable Data Compression" helps in these situations. It's on the iPhone under Settings/Data usage. Other phone platforms may not have (or need) this option
2. I find Waze is better at sending the GPS data points back, then it is at road recording. I think it may try really hard to cache the GPS points. So in places where my road recording has petered out, I've been able to go back and finish the roads with the GPS points layer in Cartouche.
Waze User Manuals, Map Editing guide and support at http://www.waze.com/wiki
Wayne McDougall
Make Friends with me on Facebook and we'll compete against each other on the Scoreboard
http://www.facebook.com/wayne.w.mcdougall
waynemcdougall
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Australia

Postby kevstark » Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:23 am

waynemcdougall wrote:1. Some people have found "Enable Data Compression" helps in these situations. It's on the iPhone under Settings/Data usage. Other phone platforms may not have (or need) this option

Thanks Wayne,
I'm running Android 2.2 on the HTC Desire, data compression is turned on. I've noticed some serious improvements in the waze 2.x beta version but the client software still hangs and drops data on occasion.

waynemcdougall wrote:2. I find Waze is better at sending the GPS data points back, then it is at road recording. I think it may try really hard to cache the GPS points. So in places where my road recording has petered out, I've been able to go back and finish the roads with the GPS points layer in Cartouche.

I'll look into this one - I hadn't found a use for the GPS layer yet but it makes sense!
Cheers
Kev.
kevstark
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Australia

Postby paulmin » Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:42 pm

Just downloaded and installed Waze tonight. Live in Central QLD. I can't wait to start using it to see what it can do :-)
paulmin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Australia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users