Voice Commands reference (old) + New "OK WAZE"

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby Ankh-Morpork » Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:51 pm

Fair enough, I just wanted to clarify in case it wasn't clear in my initial post. *thumbs up*

I'd file a bug report if I knew for certain it wasn't my car that's the culprit. As is, it could be a number of things, and that's not helpful for the Support folks. I don't really drive my SO's car, so I can't test it out it in that one. So I'll see what I can do to narrow it down. Only two people so far (recently), so it's not like it's a widespread problem either.
They say a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it is not one half so bad as a lot of ignorance. - Terry Pratchett, Equal Rites.
Image
Ankh-Morpork
Map Editor - level 2
Map Editor - level 2
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:06 am
Location: Marmite Central, also known as Burton on Trent, UK.
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby Ankh-Morpork » Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

vince1612 wrote:
Chris_DeSantis wrote:You're not the only one. My experience usually goes like this:

Me: Three finger tap. wait 5 seconds for the microphone to turn green
Waze: How can I help?
Me: Vehicle stopped on shoulder
Waze: One more time?
Me: Vechicle stopped on shoulder!
Waze: Couldn't hear you. Try again.
Me: VEHICLE STOPPED ON SHOULDER, YOU @#$%* COW!!!
Waze: Cancelled

Have you tried saying it like the help page illustrates with the list of voice commands?

  1. App listens, say: "Report Hazard"
    wait, app asks you to specify between several choices
  2. App listens again, say: "Shoulder"
    wait, app asks you to specify between several choices
  3. App listens again, say: "Car stopped"
I've never had any problems with it, nowhere is it written that you can make a full sentence directly and that it will understand.


The swearing sounds very familiar :oops:

@Vince, I, for one, have tried "Report Hazard", and even just "Report". I've tried a whole sentence, I've tried one or two words, I've tried different combinations. When I'm standing still, both "Report Hazard" and "Report" will work fine and she'll ramble on about what options I have. When driving (and I'm talking 30+ mph, usually 50-60), she'll just keep spinning, followed by the "Can't hear you!" and then a very rude "Cancelled!"
They say a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it is not one half so bad as a lot of ignorance. - Terry Pratchett, Equal Rites.
Image
Ankh-Morpork
Map Editor - level 2
Map Editor - level 2
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:06 am
Location: Marmite Central, also known as Burton on Trent, UK.
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby Ankh-Morpork » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:05 am

I'm having a lot of trouble using voice commands. The "Report moderate/heavy traffic" one works fine, because I'm standing (almost) still.
But as soon as I'm driving and wanting to report whatever, Kate the Waze lady (UK) gets really confused. She doesn't recognise "report" or "hazard" at all. I keep trying, a bit louder every time, up to the point where I'm almost shouting at her to get her to hear me, and then she replies with "cancelled". Well, no! And now I'm well past the hazard so I can't do it again. -_-

Do I have to change a sound setting maybe? When reporting she talks over my car audio as a blue tooth phone call, so I assume she uses the car microphone to listen? I'm not that tech savvy. But normal calls work fine with the microphone.

Apart from that, the word "Select" is pronounced in the oddest of ways: *Sel*-ect, not se-*lect*. ** being the stressed part.
They say a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it is not one half so bad as a lot of ignorance. - Terry Pratchett, Equal Rites.
Image
Ankh-Morpork
Map Editor - level 2
Map Editor - level 2
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:06 am
Location: Marmite Central, also known as Burton on Trent, UK.
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:06 pm

cigator wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
cigator wrote:The only voice command that I can get to work is drive. I have tried "switch off" and it never recognizes the command. Am I missing something?

Due to noisy cars, voice commands rarely work without the use of a headset or in-car BT integration.


I have my phone paired to a Motorola Roadster BT transceiver, so my voice should be picked up with that, not the phones microphone. Seems like a software bug.

Not all headsets are compatible - it depends on several factors including HOW (which protocols) your headset connects to your phone - some will only connect the mic for phone calls. My Jawbone headset works great (Calls, Directions, Voice Commands, etc), but my other one doesn't work with voice commands.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1323 times

Re: Voice Commands reference (US?)

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:05 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The secret in the phrasing, is to say "closed lane" and not "lane closed." When Waze reports back what it is reporting, it specifically says "reporting closed lane" and not "reporting lane closed." After listening to the phrase upon successfully getting Waze to report a lane closed, I now get a 75% success rate for reporting a closed lane.


Can you specify which lane is closed (and how many)? i.e. When the construction sign says "Right Two Lanes Closed", can you say "Closed Lane Right Two"?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1323 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:00 am

KuniaKid wrote:Now it only works when I'm sitting in my house. Doesn't do me any good there. I have use a Composite AV cable and never have used BlueTooth. I've submitted a bug report for my issue.

I would not be surprised if this bug causes Waze to be unable to use anything except the built-in microphone for voice command input.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4816 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Jun 01, 2014 1:34 am

q326nn wrote:The phone must be in the portrait position for the wave and tap to work. If the phone is positioned landscape, it will not start the voice commands. I am using an iPhone 5S.

This is correct. It is an iOS limitation: it disables the proximity sensor when the phone is in landscape mode.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4816 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:11 pm

mr5picker wrote:Voice commands have completely stopped responding for me. Haven't seen anyone else mention these symptoms yet.

Are you using iOS and bluetooth?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4816 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:35 pm

sketch wrote:Is there a command for "sleep"?

There is nothing that I see which can be used to sleep/shut down the app.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4816 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:36 pm

I do not see these commands as valid in the current iOS 3.7.7 release:
  • Exit/turn off Waze
    • Shut down
    • Turn off
    • Stop waze
    • Switch off
    • Close app

Thanks for heads-up, @majorben. Again, I'm sorry for jumping on you prematurely.

Submitted: https://bugs.waze.com/show_bug.cgi?id=6186
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4816 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crisgl30