[Script] WME Add-Ons V0.45 ==> Features moved in WME Toolbox

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby skbun » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:24 pm

gdu1971 wrote:Yes it is quite easy to do but,
is it not better to have a drop down box to select one of the available existing state in order to not create wrong state names and so ?
I think this might be applicable also for CityNames.
It's quite easy to create a new city or state through the standard editor


Mostly. But states and countries are attached to cities. So first off, I would say 'there should never be a 'state' or 'country' dropdown in segment editing'.

Ideally what I'd like 'City' edit to do is to get cityIDs in view, translate them to names (because a cityID has an associated country and possibly state in the U.S.), and that's it. States and countries shouldn't be 'selectable' from there, because cities carry the backend data.

The tool should not be able to create new cities.

EDIT: If you would like to see a good routine to translate a cityID to a comma separated series of names (based on what's in view), please see the highlighter script - specifically, http://waze.cryosphere.co.uk/scripts/wm ... ights.html. This work has basically already been done.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby skbun » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:59 pm

iainhouse wrote:
davipt wrote:Any idea why this script, as well as the latest version of the original ext-tools, fails since the new editor on the use case I need the most:
- create a new landmark
- script->select all in landmark
- script->properties
- script->change city name
- save

always fails to save :(

I urgently need to do some mass cityname changes now that city areas are being updated again... :|


I'm pretty sure it's because of un-named segments. If I'm careful not to select any of those, the problem generally goes away.

In principal, I think I'm in favour of this. I have seen large towns where all the segments (including the roundabouts) have the city name set but none of the segments have road names. To me, that suggests someone looking for the big-points edit without doing the hard work of naming the streets. But it would be nice if the tool could, when modifying the city name on a large batch of segments, simply ignore all segments with no street name instead of giving an error.


Here's a workaround to deal with this (faster) until it's fixed in add-ons:

1. Enable the 'StreetNames' and 'city' column in Add-ons. Go to the area you want to edit, and refresh the segment list.
2. Look for the row which has nothing in it. This is the roads without a name.
3. Click the 'select' button.
4. Now, use WME itself (NOT the Add-ons edit tool) to assign a city/state/country to the unnamed road segments.
5. Save.
6. Now that all the unnamed segments are 'out of the way', enable ONLY the 'city' column, which will allow you to change the rest of the segments - but this time, using the Add-ons edit tool.

It's a little ugly, but it's a lot faster than having to pick around finding and unselecting unnamed roads manually.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby skbun » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:48 pm

Can someone please sticky this thread, putting it at the top of the editing forum? Thanks!
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby rottielover » Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:04 pm

davipt wrote: or then filter by each speed and see areas where people surely cross the limits. o.O


Why does that matter?
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby rottielover » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:47 pm

davipt wrote:
rottielover wrote:http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Automatic_map_updates_and_the_locking_of_roads

Which advises, in part: "...It will change the directionality of a road, enable turns, and reportedly it will change the geometry or layout of a road.
This can cause map errors, especially in areas where there are few wazers. One wazer who always travels one way down a road may change a correctly recorded two-way road into one-way."


I was once curious about this one so we have setup a certain remote and not used one-way segment as two-way and have, two guys, driven there every day for some weeks to test it. It never changed to one-way. It may apply if the road becomes automatically two-ways because of people driving both ways, and later become one-way if people starts driving only one way, but after setting it manually to two ways it never changed. And obviously it wasn't locked.

Anyway we're not arguing against each other here, if we are all in this thread we all surely know the power of this script and the amazing help it provides, as well as dangerous damages it can potentially do. And I see no issues for a entire small town to be set as two-ways (even all directions), and I have plenty of cases like those, but personally I do prefer people to drive there and have waze automatically learn the directions and the position of the road. Mostly because of lazyness and having other more important fixes to do ;)


Agreed, I don't feel this is an "argument", I enjoy discussion, I try and learn something new everyday!

Example, today I found out what the NbWays column was :) (btw, Is there more documentation somewhere?)

The other thing to keep in mind as well is that the map needs to function. In a few of these towns I was getting "crazy" routing, because the basemap import was just "all jacked up" (no other term for it)...

Thanks all!
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby rottielover » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:36 pm

davipt wrote:
TonyG-UK wrote:
davipt wrote:Setting all roads to two-ways is a no-no according to the waze wiki. If the road is direction unknown or one-way, waze will learn the right way when people drive there. If you manually set the road to two-way, one-way roads will become two-way and people will be directed there against traffic.


Ah.... that old fallacy.

BTW, where in the wiki does it say that?


What do you mean fallacy? No of course I can't find the exact sentence on the wiki, or the forum, but isn't it well known that streets do change from unknown to one-way and to two-way, but will never ever be able to learn and switch back from two-way to one-way? Also routes will prefer segments manually set to two-way over segments marked as unknown?


Please see my post above, according to the page I linked in the wiki, Two-Way roads can be changed to one way, if wazers always drive down the same way. (possible in these small towns)

As far as routing, the engine's choosing is dependent on more factors, but I can tell you from experience of using the Livemap to test routing I've seen the engine prefer an unknown direction "street" before (this was in a downtown area and the routing was taking people down an Alley that was basemapped incorrectly as a street. It's since been corrected. But there are many factors like origin point, destination point, and all segments between.
Last edited by rottielover on Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby rottielover » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:30 pm

TonyG-UK wrote:
davipt wrote:Setting all roads to two-ways is a no-no according to the waze wiki. If the road is direction unknown or one-way, waze will learn the right way when people drive there. If you manually set the road to two-way, one-way roads will become two-way and people will be directed there against traffic.


Ah.... that old fallacy.

BTW, where in the wiki does it say that?


I too would like to know, I have not found that in the Wiki.

I did however find this: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Automatic_map_updates_and_the_locking_of_roads

Which advises, in part: "...It will change the directionality of a road, enable turns, and reportedly it will change the geometry or layout of a road.
This can cause map errors, especially in areas where there are few wazers. One wazer who always travels one way down a road may change a correctly recorded two-way road into one-way."

and I'm currently talking about small towns, where there are few wazers.

Edit : side note, I'm not one of those on a "points quest". I want waze to work correctly when I go driving out to these small towns and rual area's just as well as it works in the big cities. In a way I feel fortunate, because I have been granted my AM area that covers a big city and many rual and small towns. The whole reason I became a map editor was to improve the user experience around my area.
Last edited by rottielover on Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby rottielover » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:16 pm

davipt wrote:Please. Do. Not. Do. That!

Setting all roads to two-ways is a no-no according to the waze wiki. If the road is direction unknown or one-way, waze will learn the right way when people drive there. If you manually set the road to two-way, one-way roads will become two-way and people will be directed there against traffic.

Now about the dead end roads it would indeed be nice to have waze automatically set them to two-ways and add the node at the end, instead of the effort editors need to do to fix them up and specially when it requires extra scripts to detect and fix them.


Whoa, slow down there. 1st, I'm talking about an area I have first hand knowledge of, there are NO one way streets in these towns. 2nd, we're talking about basemapped areas, a good number of the streets are in the wrong locations, etc, because this data was imported. These small towns take me forever to clean up.

If the street is set to a one way, even though it's two way, won't that generate an auto pin? If unknown waze would eventually learn, but if I have the knowledge why not put it on the map now and make wazing easier for the clients?
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby rottielover » Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:51 pm

TonyG-UK wrote:
rottielover wrote:Is there anyway to select all "unknown" direction segments using this tool?

I'm working in a lot of area's that are still basemapped. A quick way to select all the unknown directions and set them to two way would be a god send!


Do none of them have road names?


It's a mix. Typically what I see with this small towns are named streets with unknown direction. A lot of them have extra nodes that need to be removed and it makes it hard to manually select them without having to zoom way in.

Another issue with these basemapped towns is having a lot of one-way's that should be two way (like dead end roads or cul-da-sac's etc). Of course the other issue is having the wrong State on some segments, I'm working a town in the middle of MO right now that has IL segments in it :( uhg
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: [Script] WME Add-Ons

Postby rottielover » Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:11 pm

Is there anyway to select all "unknown" direction segments using this tool?

I'm working in a lot of area's that are still basemapped. A quick way to select all the unknown directions and set them to two way would be a god send!
rottielover
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:14 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 19 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users