No more beta thread ?

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, hilaroth

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby orbitc » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:03 pm

Now, it make sense. Thanks.
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5970
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 2284 times
Been thanked: 4998 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:52 pm

orbitc wrote:Is that why Waze changed from shut down to -...removed...- option ?

Yes
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby orbitc » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:51 pm

sketch wrote:
orbitc wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:[quote="AlanOfTheBerg"]- New power off screen (appears after you turn off waze)

I really dislike this so far. I goes to this screen after Switch Off and you then must tap Home to get back to the Springboard. The "switch off" has changed now to turning off GPS and data connections, but doesn't actually exit the app.
I agree....At least you can do a count down of few seconds and then exit automatically.
I said it already on Centercode, but I'll post it here, too.

This change comes from Apple's app guidelines. Apple discourages apps from having their own "shut down" feature. Their guidelines state that the only way to get to the home screen should be the home button.[/quote]

Is that why Waze changed from shut down to -...removed...- option ?
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 5970
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 2284 times
Been thanked: 4998 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby sketch » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:19 pm

orbitc wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:- New power off screen (appears after you turn off waze)

I really dislike this so far. I goes to this screen after Switch Off and you then must tap Home to get back to the Springboard. The "switch off" has changed now to turning off GPS and data connections, but doesn't actually exit the app.
I agree....At least you can do a count down of few seconds and then exit automatically.
I said it already on Centercode, but I'll post it here, too.

This change comes from Apple's app guidelines. Apple discourages apps from having their own "shut down" feature. Their guidelines state that the only way to get to the home screen should be the home button.
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1534 times
Been thanked: 2074 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby nogetandet » Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:51 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Once you get into the Waze beta program, there's a "Submit a Bug" link or a "Track Bugs" link. The "track" link you can use to search for existing bugs.


I should already have been approved ad beta tester (it's ~3 weeks ago, I got the logon). At bugs.waze.com I can see all the incidents. And at waze.centercode.com I can download the beta App.

Anything else I have to do?

/Dan
nogetandet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Skørping, DK
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:16 pm

nogetandet wrote:Okay, but at that site, I can not see how to submit or even read posts etc. I only have my own preferences etc.

Once you get into the Waze beta program, there's a "Submit a Bug" link or a "Track Bugs" link. The "track" link you can use to search for existing bugs.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby nogetandet » Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:01 pm

Thanks AlanOfTheBerg,

Okay, but at that site, I can not see how to submit or even read posts etc. I only have my own preferences etc.
nogetandet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Skørping, DK
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:34 pm

nogetandet wrote:Not sure if this is the right place to report bugs in the beta test of Android 3.7.2.901?

It is not. Only the centercode site is valid for reporting bugs.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby nogetandet » Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:21 pm

Hi

Not sure if this is the right place to report bugs in the beta test of Android 3.7.2.901?

Go Home via the recent routes.
Selected "Routes".
Selected #2, as it is the route I prefer (due to almost no traffic )

On my way home, the GPS jumped to a parallel road, and after couple of seconds, the app, recalculated the route.
The new route was the #1 route (the default one).

After some kilometers, then it changed to the #2 route again.


I cannot tell if that issue also is in the production version. I have only discovered this once (yet).

/Dan
nogetandet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Skørping, DK
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: No more beta thread ?

Postby JohnDoe75 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:18 am

Really you have to tap twice to shut down Waze ?
What a step back !
It took a long time to explain how to properly exit Waze now this.
JohnDoe75
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 3203
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:06 am
Location: Paris, France
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 531 times

Next

Return to App Beta Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users